We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sian Ka'an put the Gran in Bahia Principe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Kerrville, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Sian Ka'an put the Gran in Bahia Principe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband & I just got back from a week at this resort. This place is pretty laid back & was terrific for relaxing. A pretty new resort & even tho it is still getting things in order, this was great. Our large room was on the bottom floor at the back of the resort with a large patio with 2 lounge chairs & a table/chairs & an outside jacuzzi. We were not bothered by bugs outside but I think that is because they fogged every afternoon. Late night walking to & from dining, you might want to spray, seemed I got a few bites on the ankles but that is nothing, that happens worse in Texas - ha. The room was spacious & so clean & uncluttered. Large bar area with table & chairs, divan, coffee table, large bed & flat screen t.v. The bathroom was a good size as well as the shower. Our shower worked great. The weather was so nice that we were in the pool everyday & the jacuzzi just about every afternoon if we could pry ourselves away from the pool area. The place has several pools but none of them are really big so the water is warmer than in most - not that it was warm but very nice. Always found a lounger at one pool or another. No pool towel cards required so it was nice not to have to keep up with your towels. No swimup bar but that was ok, need to get out & about anyway. Drinks were good, the premium alcohol was only at the lobby bar, again that is ok, you could for sure find something good to satisfy your thirst at all of them. The food was fantastic esp. at the buffet, yes the buffet. The breakfast, lunch, & dinner meals there were great, grilled shrimp, steaks, grouper.... The 2 ala carte on the property were good & gave you an upscale feeling. The employees were great, friendly, & all you had to do was ask & it was given. The maid service was really nice, our room was cleaned every day by 10 a.m. Evening entertainment was low keyed which was great for us, however you have the opportunity to go to the other sister resorts & find anything that you are looking for. We road over to the private beach that is across the highway one day & walked the other resorts. Plenty of shopping over at the other resorts where as the Sian Ka'an had 2 smaller shops. The grounds are good for not being open a long time & it is well lit when you are wanting to walk back to your room in the evening. We would go back for sure. The only thing that I would suggest to the resort is since the pools are smaller, it only takes one or two kids to disturb the relaxing days, so maybe they might make one pool all adult & that way everybody is happy. If you get the chance to go here, all I can say is GO - RUN - you will enjoy.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms do not have much of a balcony, so if you like to sit out, then you may want a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,354
    680
    186
    39
    25
See reviews for
332
2,199
53
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland Furnace, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I just returned home from a week at the upscale Gran Bahia Principe resort...the Sian Ka'an, The resort is onits way to being a 5 star Golf resort, BUT, the villas are not ready. They are modern and beautiful, but not quality built. We had no hot water for three days, only one air conditioner unit worked in our room and when reported to maintenance, they responded,but the language barrier was a huge problem. It was "froze up" and they did not understand. So we just cut the unit off and used only the one for the remainder of the trip and it was plenty cool in our room. We had no mini bar service until the last 2 days of our vacation, so no drinks in our room or snacks. We called room service a few times, but they were always out of what we ordered and when we ordered drinks, only brought it to the room by the glass with no ice. I did eenjoy the tranquility of it being away from the other big resorts and because the timeshare people were only at the Bahia Coba. We loved the small private beach at Sian Ka'an and the Hacienda and collectivo for our transportation were the best kept secrets.
Food was good. Service was hit or miss, but all in all a nice trip.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite is worth the uprade of $100 per week. It adds the entire top level and outdoor hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We booked this trip based on TA reviews, exclusive access to GBP Complex, Apple Pricing and Apple Rating, as well as, location (close proximity to Tulum). First time staying NON Beachside. Thought we would try it considering the upscale vibe this place advertised.

Day 1 --
Departure – (Sat 1/14) We were happy with Apples Charter flight departure times until we arrived 3 hours before and still had to stand in line for over an hour for boarding passes for Frontier Airline. Frontier was much disorganized and took forever. That is another review all together and is not reflected in this review. Once we boarded, we continued to be delayed due to the Cancun airport being too busy, per the pilot.

Arrival at CUN was much delayed but pretty uneventful and luggage was quick to retrieve. Transfer was completely full and one of our parties had no seat due to the bus leaking. It was pouring the rain. Our transfer took nearly 3 hours due to the weather and we arrived at the resort around 7:30pm Cancun time. This day was a wash of the whole day.

Check in was very easy but the bellboy couldn’t find our room. Once we did get in the room, we were pleased with the accommodations of penthouse suite with rooftop Jacuzzi. Everything was clean and our bed was decorated in celebration of our anniversary. That was a very nice touch. A basket of fruit was on the table.

We should have arrived around 3pm and did have prearranged reservations via Claudia for Arlequin at 7pm. Since we missed this, we opted for room service. The food was quick to arrive but not very good. We ordered a cheese quesadilla and 2 hamburgers and fries. We had not eaten since breakfast of a biscuit at CVG airport early morning and we’re starved. I did eat the fries and hubby ate the quesadilla. Not a very good first impression of the food.

Upon further inspection of the room, we found no drawers and very few hangers. We more or less had to live out of the suitcases for the week with only our formal stuff hanging in the closet. The rooftop terrace was very nice and as per our request we faced the ocean. It was dark so we didn’t know if we could actually see the ocean. Then we noticed that the door leading out to the terrace would not lock and the door handle was barely hanging on. We did have some concern that without a lock we may end up with items taken. We dealt with it and nothing was ever taken from our room. Then we noticed that the toilet wasn’t working so hubby had to work on it daily for the whole week. The mini bar was stocked with 2 beers, and 4 diet sodas, and a bag of chips. 2 large bottles of water were on the counter.

Exhausted, we went to bed and other than the toilet running all night we slept well for a while on the hard mattresses, which we prefer. A couple hours later, hubby was aroused to water dripping on him in the bed. There was a roof leak. Again, not a very good impression of this BRAND NEW resort.

Day 2 – (Sun) We started our day with a trip up to the roof to check out our view. WOW! A panoramic view of the ocean although in the distance! Thank you Claudia! Then off to breakfast at the buffet. It was very good and service was excellent. Mimosas! We had another couple on this trip that was staying on the Coba side of the complex and had not been able to reach them to plan our day together. So, we asked front desk to connect us with their room and they said they couldn’t. So we packed for the beach and headed for the tram in hopes that we could find them somewhere near the water.

The tram was quick and efficient and the Sian Ka’an beach area was very nice. Great chairs, bar, and beach service. The beach is rocky almost everywhere except in front of this area with a sandy entry. I did walk the beach south to the end of the Akumal area but could not locate our friends.

Around lunch time we ate at the Akumal buffet and it was very good with lots of selections. I must say that I was quite impressed with the GBP Complex grounds. All were very meticulously manicured and all the lobbies were large and spectacular. We were a little jealous that the Sian Ka’an was not near as nice considering we had paid a lot more than our friends paid for Coba. After lunch we ventured to the Coba lobby in hopes of somehow catching up with our friends for we had dinner reservations together that night. The front desk did let us leave a written message. We decided to head back to “our side” in hopes that our friends would call our room. After a second shower with the water going from warm to scalding hot to ice cold, we prepared for our 7:00pm dinner reservations at the Tequila Mexican Restaurant located in the Tulum area of the GBP complex. Finally receiving a call we met up with our friends for dinner.

Tram ride was easy to the Tulum resort. Dinner was just okay at this ala carte. The appetizer bar was great and we could have just had that and been satisfied. We both ordered the fajitas and were quite disappointed. The meat was very dry and bland, they only gave us 4 small tortillas to share and the condiments were only enough for one single fajita. However, the margaritas were good, as was the tequila shots. By the time we finished dinner it was pouring outside so we lingered inside at the table since there were no umbrellas to use.

Back in our room were decided to try out the Jacuzzi and called room service requesting champagne. We were informed that would be an additional charge as would any request for any alcohol that was not in our mini bar. Which would be understandable but our mini bar had not been replenished to include no water. We asked for a restock that never came for more than 24 hours and 10 requests (finally got Day 3). We were not happy and were no longer in the mood for the hot tub.

Day 3 – (Mon 1/16) The following morning we left a note with our huge tip (100 pesos) requesting mini bar to be restocked as well as toilet paper and towels, washcloths, etc. We had breakfast at the buffet and then headed to meet our friends on the Coba beach. We managed to find chairs but none under a palapa. No biggie. I’m a water dog anyway. However, entry in the water here was a big challenge. A lot of rocks and unless you walk quite a ways in either direction you needed water shoes.

Around lunch time we went in search of one of the snack bars in hopes of bringing lunch back to the beach. Unfortunately after walking around for quite some time we decided to again eat at the Akumal buffet. The food again was excellente! The Calamari was CRAZY good! Then we spent the remainder of the daylight hours back on the beach before heading back to Sian Ka’an. One note we made that we had not realized before was that there was no bar service on any of the beaches (or pools) other than the Sian Ka’an. Not a big deal really but if we wanted to spend time with our friends we had to give up that one luxury we felt we paid for. We returned to our room to a plate of desserts that were very good! Nice.

After a crazy shower of jumping out in between scalding and ice cold water (it was this way the whole week), we headed down to the lobby lounge for cocktails and entertainment before dinner. There was a 2 person band playing easy listening songs and we noticed this was the entertainment each night during our stay. They also had a group of dancers that performed. It was nice even though a little cheesy. Drink service was prompt but you never knew what you were going to get. One time an OJ and tequila would be pineapple, the next OJ and one time the mojito would be clear, next dark. After a couple drinks we wondered into the buffet and had an excellent dinner with a huge selection.

Day 4 – (Tue 1/17) TULUM DAY! YAY! I LOVE TULUM! After a quick breakfast at the buffet we caught the tram to the Hacienda. A quick skip out to the highway, cross back over and like magic, a collective pulls over without a minutes wait! Love it! So for 30 peso pp we land in Tulum and hop immediately into an awaiting cab. $5 charge to the beach. We arrived at El Paraiso Beach Club before they actually opened. Chose a beach bed and hit the water. Amazingly, beautiful. Did a bit of sight seeing walking North and South then back to relax. Beautiful day although a little windy. We spent the whole day here to include drinks and lunch then opted for a taxi back to resort. $25.

Dinner tonight was the Apple BBQ. We were quite disappointed that even though we booked with Apple, guest of the Sian Ka’an were not invited to this event. However, our friends at Coba got us an invitation from Felix. Wow is all I can say. The Lobster! The Fun! And, Felix is a godsend! Thank you Felix, we had a great time.

Day 5 – (Wed 1/18) Today we awoke with NO WATER AT ALL. After a scrumptious breakfast (love the eggs with spinach) we headed over to Coba to meet our friends at the Coba Pool. We continue to find ourselves jealous of the differences in properties. The Sian Ka’an pools are small and all in the shade and very quiet. We regret booking our resort but not so much that we are upset, just a little envious of the accommodations and facilities beach side. For lunch they grilled out hamburgers, hotdogs, and chicken breast right at the pool so we never had to leave for lunch which was nice to not have to lug the beach bags around and cover up to enter the restaurant.

Upon our return to Sian Ka’an, we find the restock cart right outside our villa. With a simple request, we gained a bottle of Champagne. That was nice. And water was back on – hot then cold - but back on.

For dinner tonight we head to Mikado. The show and the food were fabulous. In comparison to our trip to Melia Resort in Punta Cana, we wouldn’t say this was quite as good but still impressive.

Day 6 – (Thu 1/19) Today we find no eggs with spinach on the buffet. A little disappointed but settled for lots of bacon! Breakfast was again very satisfying. Then we head off to Sian Ka’an Beach to enjoy being pampered one last time during our trip. The drinks flowed and service was great! Water entry is easy and we spent a lot of time playing in the waves and looking at the fish. I did hit my knee on a jutting rock under water and was a little concerned it was going to be really bad the next day.

For lunch we went searching for the Tulum Snack Bar but found the Gran Tortuga Restaurant instead. The food was good but not near as impressive as the Akumal buffet.

Back to the beach for a little more relaxation then we head back for a crazy jumping shower before dinner. Unfortunately, the knee is really starting to hurt so we opt out of dinner plans and order room service again. We ordered two pizzas along with salad. The food again was not very good. The knee has swollen and in quite a bit of pain.

Day 7 – (Fri 1/20) Our last full day in paradise. I awake expecting to not be able to able to walk but surprisingly it’s better. YAY! Our day is not ruined. After a lovely breakfast we head to Coba beach to meet up with our friends. The water smells quite fishy today and the ocean is really rough.

We head back to Sian Ka’an a little earlier today knowing we must start the packing process so we skipped lunch beachside and hit the tail end of the Sian Ka’an lunch buffet. It was very good even at the late hour. Salmon was wonderful.

Back in our room we find a nice bottle of red wine awaiting us. Sometimes it’s the little things! Tonight we head for Don Pablo for dinner.

The Don Pablo Restaurant is quite impressive and very formal. The served us immediately with a concoction of vodka, orange juice, and sprite. I can’t remember what they called it, but I liked it so well I ordered another during dinner. This dinner was a full 5 courses. 1st course was a bruschetta like appetizer (very good), 2nd was an appetizer of duck (very dry), soup (ok), then the main course of Surf and Turf (very good but very small portions), then dessert – however we never received dessert. We waited and waited and they never took a dessert order. Dinner had already taken over 2 hours so we left. All in all, it was a good dinner but not excellent. We did watch the flaming coffee being served but opted not to order it.

After dinner we head to Tulum Lobby for after dinner drinks and entertainment. Upon arrival the band quit playing so we just enjoyed a cocktail and called it a night.


Day 8
Departure Day – I’m always a little sad on departure day. I love this area so much and start searching out our next vacation as soon as we get home. We finished packing, left more tips and gifts, and headed to the lobby with luggage in tow. Check out was a breeze, they do ask for the donation, which we gave and left our luggage with the bellhops, then had our last breakfast at the Sian Ka’an. After eating we sat on the terrace waiting for our transfer back to the airport. The bus was at least 30 minutes late arriving then it picked up at Coba and 2 other resorts along the route.

Cancun airport was a madhouse! Frontier airlines were lined up in a figure S to check in. It took 2 ½ hours to get boarding passes. Then the flight was delayed for a couple hours.

Arrival at CVG was uneventful except that our car was completely iced over and we couldn’t even get the doors open. We were really missing that 80 + degree weather we just left behind!

All in all, the trip was fun, love the area and its close proximity to Tulum, loved the GBP Complex, loved the food. But, would probably not opt to stay at the Sian Ka’an again. For being a brand new resort, it had a lot of mechanical issues in the room, a lack of training shown by the housekeeping staff and disorganization, and the ambience is just not us. It was never an issue getting to the beach, but I sure missed those early morning walks exploring and taking sunrise pictures as well as the late evening strolls. I’m a beach baby after all so no surprise there.

Accommodations 3
Grounds 3
Staff 3
Food 5
Location 4

Overall 3.5

Room Tip: request rooftop facing the ocean -- 40221 in villa 2a has a panoramic view although in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012. It's a beautiful place and the rooms are nice. It's not right on the beach but you can go to the three other GP resorts. Part of the fun is taking the shuttle to the other resorts and beach. There is an exclusive beach for Sian Ka'an guests that is very nice. But the food was luke warm and bland. Even the a la carte restaurants food was bland. Desserts were OK. The only other All-inclusive I've stayed at was a Riu and that buffet was out of this world. GP food is barely average.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just got back from 6 days/5 nights at the Sian Ka'an. Overall great experience. Here are some specifics:

The Good

The Sian Ka'an is lovely! None of the photos we've seen have done it justice. Whoever designed it really got it right. Nice, modern, lots of white & marble. Sian Ka'an is just one of four areas that make up the GBP-Riveria Maya complex. It is by far the best looking.

The hotel is quieter than the other three hotel areas. It's easy to get around though. Trams regularly run between Sian Ka'an and the other hotels. We spent half the time camped out at the private Sian Ka'an beach (with it's waitress service and beautiful beach) and half the time next to the swim-up bar at the Tulum section. There was lots to do - games, bars, food 24 hours/day, water sports. I wouldn't plan on investing much time in the evening shows (the dancers are fantastic, but all-in-all, not that entertaining). We spent plenty of time at the disco though - dancing inside, and chatting playing cards at tables outside.

The food was good and drinks were plentiful. There was always a pina coloda - or tequila shot - waiting nearby. There are top-shelf liquors at the lobby bar.

Nearly all the staff was excellent. Everyone speaks enough English to get you what you need and they're nearly all very friendly. Special shouts out to Juan Carlos for many, MANY plates of fries and pizza at 2am the Sian Ka'an snack bar, Esther - the disco's best cocktail waitress, Mario - who schlepped our giant suitcases to the penthouse suite in the far corner of the complex, and Ansalmo - the best buffet waiter on the Gulf (note: do NOT let him talk you into flaming La Cucaracha shots!)

Could Use Improvement

The biggest problem we faced was at check-in. Our group occupied 3 rooms - 1 penthouse suite and two standard rooms. We booked together, at the same time, via CheapCaribbean.com with a special request the the rooms be near each other. When we arrived, we were placed in rooms on completely opposite sides of the resort. The gentleman we initially spoke to could not move us any closer, so we spoke to the reception manager. Not only was he completely unhelpful, he was also rude. Was not a good was to get started.

To remedy the situation, we suggested they downgrade the penthouse to a standard room so we could have 3 rooms in the same area, but we were rebuffed. So with the penthouse set in stone, we arrived to our very lovely room only to find out that the jacuzzi wasn't working. The next day, the jacuzzi was fixed. Again, was not a great way to begin.

We stuck to the buffet after our a la carte at the Japanese restaurant took three hours. Way too long! The staff at the restaurant was lovely, service was just slow.

All in all, the vacation was great, and I would certainly recommend it. Just be ready to roll with a few punches.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

will write more later but just got back last night and wanted to say what a great place! Our room was huge and enjoyed the jacuzzi a night or two! food was wonderful and BEST Margarita's I've ever had(or as we called them, "Oscar rita's!) Oscar was a wonderful bartender! if you go look him up!

Room Tip: Garden room was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We just returned from there yesterday and we loved it ! I did a lot of research for hotels all over the Mayan Riviera , Cancun , Isla Mujeres etc... I chose this one even though it wasn't even on the water and we don't golf ... Its part of a 4 hotel complex . We could use all of them but they could not come to ours ... We had a private beach area with bar service that you could take one of the trams to but we found it easily walkable but we like to walk . It was atleast a km away . The entire complex is conected by trollies that run frequently .
The food at the buffet was excellent and different every single day . We also ate at the Japanese a la carte one night but still preffered the buffet . I have been to Japan and this was not Japanese food . Where as the buffet just had so much to choose from I would challenge anyone not to enjoy it .
Our room was beautiful . They are one bedroom suites , kitchenette with wet bar and mini fridge . Beautiful washroom with glass shower . But the reason I chose this hotel was for our room . It had a rooftop terrace with our very own jacuzzi . You just have to keep in mind that it is not completely private although that did not seem to bother some ... there was some nudity visible . Ours had a view of the water about a km away , we could still see sunsets and sunrises ... we did have a housekeeping issue when they forgot to clean it but I went to guest services and they were happy to send someone and apologised . Speaking of service , we thought it was excellent ! Right from the moment we arrived and received our welcoming drink ... although there were only two couples checking in at the time , I did notice that when larger crowds arrived the had to wait in line and may not have received a drink . They could have kept the mini bar a little better stocked and left us more than just two towels on certain days but I thought these were small issues . The comlex had many , many bars and restuarants to chose from . But I thought that if we hated the resort we could just stay in our beautiful room and rooftop terrace ...
The beach was very nice ... some rocky parts but lots of nice parts too ... red flags and large waves but lots of protected areas as well ...
We took Spanish lessons that were offered everyday at the pool bar ( non swim up ) with Brisa . We loved her and she really helped make our stay even more enjoyablle ! As well as Anselmo , our waiter , he was excellent ! All of the restaurant staff were fantastic ( although we tipped everday , every meal ... not a lot but why not . If it helps pay there way home after working so hard , I'm fine with that )

Room Tip: Building number 4 facing the water was perfect ! No elevators though so keep that in mind if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Akumal
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#1 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.