We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great dive for beginners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cenote

Casa Cenote
Akumal, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 35 Restaurants in Akumal
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Really great dive for beginners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Calypso dive took us here for the first dive of the day and it was great!! The caves made me a little bit nervous, but it was so cool to dive with flashlights!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    59
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Be carefull”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Although these are lovely to see, they did not ask us if any one suffered with ear problem??? as the waters in these are ice cold the day we visited the cenote's my daughter ended up in the local hospital a small vein in her ear had burst (she suffers a lot with her ears anyway) and the doctor told us that with the cenote's being that cold this happens a lot so if your with little ones just be careful.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overall, good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The service was especially great here. I can't remember our waiter's name, but I'll never forget his genuine smile. He really made us feel welcome and at home. They have some good authentic eats... the service was even more amazing than the food though.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Totally worth a visit, it cost a fraction of the other theme parks and cenotes and was just a wonderful experience.

We rented a kayak at the cenote (you can also rent snorkels) and snorkelled the 250m long cenote.
It was like experiencing a parallel universe; beautiful lush green mangroves above and below a mysterious and spooky underworld beaming with life.

We also saw some racoons and coatimundis, they came out of the jungle but were used to humans so they came right up to us to sniff around!

Don't miss it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pluvigner, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cenote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I didn't try the restaurant, but the related cenote is the best I've tried in Yucatan. It is rather big with very few tourists! Mangrove trees provide resting shade. Snorkeling equipment is rented at 25P.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Cenote also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Cenote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cenote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.