We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Esacpe from life's distractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of organic yoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added organic yoga to your Saves list
organic yoga
Rancho San Martint km 256, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Akumal B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
“Esacpe from life's distractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We had a wonderful 4-night stay at Organic Yoga. The palapa style huts are quaintly decorated and the jungle-like setting is both relaxing and invigorating. The best part is that this B&B is just a mile away from Akumal center and a close drive to Tulum, Akumal center, Playa del Carmen and even Cancun (due to the 6 lane highway connecting the various towns). Leon the owner is personable, friendly and affords you much privacy. He knows a great deal about the area and is very helpful (for example, even though we arrived on Christmas Eve, he was constantly on the phone,giving us directions and guiding us to his hotel). We had a wonderful stay at Organic Yoga- the price is very reasonable, the rooms are clean, with large kitchens and beautiful bathrooms. and the area is gorgeous!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
12
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

What a wonderful place: literally and figuratively - - this place in Akumal (between Tulum and Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya) is full of wonder. Leon, owner and your host is a multilingual, well-traveled expert on the local flora and fauna. He teaches yoga in classes at this tropical treat. He knows all the best "local spots." You want to avoid the crowds yet be close to nature and fun of Mexico's Caribbean coast? Go and see Organic Yoga - an ecological resort with reasonable rates in clean, comfortable, cozy cabinas.
I can't wait to return . . . and bring my wife. She'll love the opportunity to practice yoga in this setting.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

organic yoga is a hotel for people who don´t want to stay in one of these all-inclusive-hotels.
the stand alone houses are in the middle of a little jungle and you don´t feel that you are just one kilometer away from akumal-center.
the yoga classes (included) were an new experience for us.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cph
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We found this an amazing place, very close to nature, the jungle is everywhere around you, yet within 10 minutes driving to some great beaches and within 20-40 minutes to major Maya sites like Tulum and Coba and the buzzling shopping of Playa del Carmen. Some of us never tried Yoga before, but we found that the complimentary yoga classes added another spiritual dimension to our stay. And the initial drive down the dirt road adds to the wild discovery feel. It was definitely worth the long trip from Sweden.

Hojer family

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

We can not say enough good things about Organic Yoga. We found their website while looking for somewhere to stay between Playa Del Carmen and Tulum and no more than 15 minutes from either, Organic Yoga is in the most perfect location! Coming of the highway down the dirt road at night, we began to sense adventure but weren't sure just what was is store. We had contacted the owner directly before arrival, and he didn't require any deposit (which is very rare for the area!) and when we got there, rather late, the owner himself, Leon, came out to greet us in a most friendly way,and then flipped a switch that illuminated a jungle path of little lights leading past a few other cabanas nestled in the jungle to our very own cabana surrounded by big wild plants and the beauty of a dark jungle night, undisturbed by surrounding lights as there are none! Our palapa roofed and adobe like cabana was encircled by a mosquito proof patio, with beautiful hand carved wooden furniture and a fridge and coffee maker. The room was big and SPOTLESS, with beautiful bedding and wonderfully romantic mosquito nets. The AC unit is top of the line, quiet and amazing, and the bathroom is a work of art. We saved quite a bit of money preparing our own food in the wonderful communal kitchen where Leon has taken care to provide great breakfasts, purified and alkaline water, and awesome cookware for those who wish to make a snack. He allowed us to use the laptop for internet, and the flat screen TV in with 1000 channels was a nice treat!

Thanks to Leon's visions, this place is perfectly quiet, clean, and well designed. He has been in the area for years, knows great spots and truly loves the land. Leon is a most exceptional owner- so generous and personable without hovering. He is clearly not in this for the money (the price is sooo good!), but rather so that his guests feel at home and really enjoy their time in the Yucatan. He practices and teaches yoga and offers class on the property. His personal energy infuses Organic Yoga with a sense of goodness, calm and positivity that makes for a most perfect vacation. We can't wait to get back!!!!

  • Liked — The energy, the owner, the room, the kitchen!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to organic yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about organic yoga

Address: Rancho San Martint km 256, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
an incredible space in the mayan jungle we have a big palapa specially design for yoga and meditation that it has been build with local materials ...totally conected to nature and mother earth...breathing and listening to the noises in the jungle while you do asanas...there is also WiFi A/C in the rooms....... I am Cheff and there is posibility for meals if you so desire I specialized in vegetarian and seafood dishes....for cooking I use veggies from my organic garden!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your organic yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Organic Yoga Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage organic yoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.