We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of organic yoga

Save Saved
You added organic yoga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
organic yoga
Rancho San Martint km 256, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Akumal B&B and Inns
basilea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

lovely place with magic hambient, natural setting and wonderful hospitality. notthing to complain at all. if u like yoga meditation and natural staff you have absolutly to go! the garden is very nice nd you don't realy relize is so close to the hway

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
12
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Organic Yoga was a CLEAN, peaceful, secluded place to gather in a calm jungle setting.... The owner was easy to work with and a pleasure to get to know, I had a very positive experience making our arrangements with him. The communal spaces (the round house, the bathroom, kitchen and outdoor dining space) met our group's needs and the individual housing was charming and comfortably. I would definitely use Organic Yoga again for a group or personal retreat and recommend that you give it a try... Enjoy~

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon s, Owner at organic yoga, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Rachel it was also a very nice experience for me to have all your group here hope to see you soon ...be well.....Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hospitality, loved every minute of it. Amazing natural setting for meditation, yoga, chanting and music circles. Secluded and quiet place not far away from the beach. The round palapa with a fire pit in the center has left a big impression on me. All in all very very satisfied.
Very grateful for the opportunity to stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon s, Owner at organic yoga, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Roman I am very happy that you are satisfied with the space...Namaste....Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Beautiful winding pathways under the trees. A nice garden of food being tended. I was at a meditation retreat in this lovely space and thoroughly enjoyed it. While it is fairly close to the highway, I didn't at any point in the three days there notice road noise. I love the decoration as you walk the paths, reused and repurposed materials adding beauty to the natural world. Yes you will see nature here, but it is nothing to be afraid of, I felt it enhanced the experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon s, Owner at organic yoga, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Kirsten thank you for your review and letting ravelers know about the eal value of Organic Yoga...hope to see you again in another retreat or just to do yoga...take care .....Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Leon is a kind and warm host who was most welcoming and helpful. The center is small and intimate with an eye to aesthetic beauty. It is in the jungle, so even though it is close to the highway and an easy walk to the many collectivos buzzing up and down the highway, be aware that you need to be comfortable with the natural world that inhabits the jungle. Geckos, salamanders, spiders and scorpions could make an appearance during your stay. The place is quiet and beautiful. Leon has dogs who are very well behaved and the little one regularly and quietly attends yoga as she is Leon's shadow. I greatly appreciated Leon's yoga teaching style as it was slow and gentle with an emphasis on your breath and internal experience. Leon went over and above his duty to help us during our stay. A beautiful, peaceful and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon s, Owner at organic yoga, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi Jill & Michael sooooo nice to meet you and certanly hope to see you around here again....thank you for spreading out the word!!!!!! leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Leon is a friendly host who led yoga classes in a beautiful meditation hall and gave us hints about the area. I was glad to have a rental car because it made it easier to explore the more remote beaches. The houses on the grounds are simple and comfortable, with a nice balance of privacy, gardens, and community space.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went to this place in the middle of the jungle to discover yoga (it was my first time) and take a brake from the usual tourist destinations on Riviera Maya. We took the collectivo and 500 meters after the Serenis Hotel, here we are. Five minutes walk on the dirt road later, we arrived to a fence with a name on it: Organic Yoga. The first thing you notice is the big garden on your left but your attention is distracted by the barking dogs.

We meet Leon, a fantastic yoga teacher with a lot to say about nature and human soul. The place is rustic and handmade by himself. It's a sanctuary well-protected by four adorable dogs. After a quick tour of the proprety, we went to our bungalow. It was cozy with all you need to feel comfortable, including AC. The only thing you have to be prepared for is insects. If you are afraid of them, avoid going there. We were aware of this so it's part of the experience to live in the jungle. This place is for relaxing your mind, focusing on your breathe, get inside yourself... But you have free wifi everywhere if you are afraid of the silence :D

The first night was a little bit scary because we were a little scared of what we saw inside our room but Leon took care of explaining how to manage all this. the second night was perfect and we were a little sad to leave this peaceful place in the jungle. The kitchen was large and well-equiped none the less, the cleanliness of the kitchen could be improved. Leon is a chef and would be happy to cook whatever vegeterian and fish you wish.
If you want to refresh yourself, there's a strong outdoor shower (like the water from cenote) on site so you can use it at will.

Overall a really positive experience. Would come back for a stay anytime. A must for people loving yoga and/or wanting to discover this fabulous experience! Thank you so much Leon for everything!

The yoga class is every morning at 8:30 for a good startup, and is included in the price. Don't forget to bring repellent, flashlight and food if you want to cook ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon s, Owner at organic yoga, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you Dave for a great review and I hope the yoga stays with you!!!!!! chao Luciene take care........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to organic yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about organic yoga

Address: Rancho San Martint km 256, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
an incredible space in the mayan jungle we have a big palapa specially design for yoga and meditation that it has been build with local materials ...totally conected to nature and mother earth...breathing and listening to the noises in the jungle while you do asanas...there is also WiFi A/C in the rooms....... I am Cheff and there is posibility for meals if you so desire I specialized in vegetarian and seafood dishes....for cooking I use veggies from my organic garden!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your organic yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Organic Yoga Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage organic yoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.