We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Best Tepic metropolitan area, good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fray Junipero Serra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fray Junipero Serra to your Saves list
Hotel Fray Junipero Serra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lerdo 23 Pte., Tepic 63000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Tepic
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Tepic metropolitan area, good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This Hotel is just placed in the pest place in town, is like everything is around without too much walking. Tepic Town is quiet but seems to be the higher the better so street noise will not disturb, anyway this is not a hassle. People at front desk are speedy with a sincere smile on their face everytime. Only complaint with the restaurant, there seem to be visited by many people but in my opportunity the plate were not nice nor tasty as i tried in other places. this is not a luxury hotel but for the price you get confort, cleanness and a very nice spot in town.

Room Tip: fourth floor cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
3
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Hotel Fray Junipero Serra is located in the heart of Tepic across from the Plaza and the Cathedral. It is a short walk to shopping. The staff is very accommodating and made every effort to meet our needs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

I was given a great room on the top floor overlooking the plaza. I had fabulous view of the surrounding countryside and a huge cross on top of a hill. Tepic was a pleasant surprise. The hotel restaurant was more like a cafeteria service but some of the very friendly local ladies were celebrating and insisted I join them.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2006

This hotel is centrally located. It is in front of the plaza in Tepic. Accross the street from the Catedral. We were there on a Sunday. There were many vendors in the plaza also there were Huicholes selling all their handmade crafts. The hotel has nice clean rooms, cable tv, nice restaurant on premises and free local calls. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2004

Just returned from my first visit to the charmingly quaint city of Tepic, the capital of the state of Nayarit --on the Pacific Coast. We really lucked out!! We chose the "Fray" (as fondly called by the locals), located in the downtown area, just across the street from the main square (plaza) and the cathedral. While Tepic has a small-town ambieance, the Hotel Fray Junipero lives up to its 4 STAR rating and then, some! The Lobby is spacious, welcoming, and tastefully decorated. The entire Staff is warm, courteous, and quick to please, whether it be the front desk or maintenance staff. The Dining Room serves delicious meals from a varied menu, in lovely but casual surroundings. The rooms at the "Fray" are beautifully decorated, super clean, very spacious, fully equipped with hair dryer, complimentary bottled (purified) water and very comfortable beds. The rates are relatively reasonable, considering the caliber of accommodations and high quality of service. If you don't want to drive, you can take a 3-4 hour bus ride to either Guadalajara in one direction, or Puerto Vallarta in opposite direction --just MAKE SURE that it is a DIRECT, NON-STOP bus, "Primera Plus" service, i.e. "first class PLUS". You can also go to "Guayabitos", less than a 2-hr drive, for the most beautiful --yet to be discovered by tourists-- beach, still in its pristine natural glory. The "Fray" is a discovery in itself!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fray Junipero Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fray Junipero Serra

Address: Lerdo 23 Pte., Tepic 63000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Tepic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Tepic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fray Junipero Serra 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fray Junipero Serra Hotel is located in downtown Tepic, next to the city's Main Square, in front of the Cathedral. The Hotel has 99 comfortable rooms, restaurant, lobby bar, coffee shop, three completly equipped metting rooms, gym, business modules, underground parking space and all required services to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Offering high quality lodging services is our goal. Free wireless and cabled Internet access available in guest rooms and common areas. In our rooms we also offer noise-proof windows, 32" LED Flat screen, cable service with over 60 TV channels, ironing kit, air conditioning, hair dryer, electronic safe and proximity based electronic locks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fray Junipero Serra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fray Junipero Serra Tepic, Mexico - Nayarit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fray Junipero Serra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.