We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New resort that is very clean and modern.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Playa Mita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Playa Mita to your Saves list
Iberostar Playa Mita
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Comercial Camino Ingreso a Litibu, Lote 15, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New resort that is very clean and modern.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Resort is located one hour bus ride from Puerta Vallarta airport. First time to the area so enjoyed seeing all the towns along the way. Resort is very new (December) so not at full capacity while we were there. Very clean quiet and modern. The beach deck overlooking the ocean is great for those who don't like the beach. Large beach area where we enjoyed the surf each day. Purchased a small boogie board at surf shop. Infinity pool very nice and lots of areas to sit. Poolside restaurant open every day with full buffet from 1130 to 430. Beachside cafe was clean and very good with small menu. We upgraded to beachfront room which was a nice sized suite. You can book any number of restaurants during your stay but we found the buffet had a great variety of foods each night. Had a massage on the spa deck overlooking the ocean. Spa is good value and excellent service.
Overall this is the nicest place we have stayed in. Room cleanliness was great. Linens in bathroom and on bed premium. Took day trips by cab to Sayulita and Punta Mita.


More Info





  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Client,

On behalf of our staff and Management team we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy a wonderful holiday.

It is gratifying for us hear that you found all are installations to be adequate and pleasing, we appreciate the special mention of our infinity pool, the spa treatments and the restaurants.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards from all of us at IBEROSTAR Playa Mita,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    174
    57
    12
    6
See reviews for
201
262
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is fancy, well laid out, clean, safe and entertaining. Its out of the city, about an hour, and off the beaten path but it's easy to take the bus ($1 to Punta Mita and $3 to Sayulita) or a taxi to some fun towns close by.

The spa is a bit expensive, take a bus into Punta Mita for a dollar and get a massage there for for $40 if you are on a budget.
The rooms and pool are wonderful. The waves in the ocean are good for beginner boogy boarding but not great if you want to just swim in the ocean as the tide is a bit to intense for ocean swimming. The staff is wonderful. Most speak perfect English which was nice.

Activities we did -aqua fit in the pool, air gun shooting range, tennis, driving range at the golf course, dance lessons, gym, etc. The evening shows at 9:30pm were the best I've ever seen. Some incredible dancers and entertainment. Fun stuff.

Food was great. The resturants were really good. We tried 3 out of 4 of the resturants.
In general, this vacation was quiet. They don't blast bad pool side music which is great, and the hotel was only at about 30% capacity so there was no fighting for pool space or beach chairs. Lots to go around. The pool side furniture is amazing and better quality then most.

Got a last minute deal to stay here and was super glad I picked this place over the other 7 places I have stayed in puerto Vallarta and the bay. Some people paid double what we paid so look for the deals as this is a new hotel and under utilized!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course are quiet and fun to watch golfers while you drink your morning coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful holiday at IBEROSTAR Playa Mita, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed all the fabulous activities in and out the hotel in this paradisiacal area.

We like to thank you for taking the time for write and share with all the online community your experience at IBEROSTAR.

We look forward to seeing you in Playa Mita anytime soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Playa Mita near Puerto Varllata March 1, 2014. This resort was very relaxing and quiet prior to March break and because it had opened in December 2013. Every one from the bellman,front desk, waiter (Daniel), housekeeping staff etc.greeted us with a friendly smile and Hola or Buenos Dias every time. The variety of food in the buffet style restaurant was fantastic.The hotel-room, lobby and grounds was all beautiful and they offered a full slate of activities daily. It is located along the ocean,with soft sand and a steady breeze felt in the pool area. It was nice to have the golf course (Litibu) adjacent to the property.
I would not hesitate recommend this 5 star resort to anyone.

Room Tip: "Higher floors are quieter" "Ocean view the best"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We wish to extend warm greetings from IBEROSTAR Playa Mita and thank you very much for expressing your opinion about your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded our guest’s expectations.

You are always cordially invited to visit us and benefit from our personalized service.

Receive warm greetings and a friendly HOLA! from all our staff,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We think this hotel is spectacular and if you are thinking of choosing this hotel I am sure you have read a lot of reviews so I will spare repeating what the hotel offers and concentrate on the pros and cons.
Pros: Comfy beds, great location, great service, we liked the waves, we liked the isolation and I enjoyed the golf course. We rented a car at the airport for under $200.00 and if you do not mind driving it came in very handy; we made trips to Sayulita, Punta Mita, Puerto Vallarta and scuba dived at Las Marietas. Gas for the week was $35.00. Therefore if you want to move around a little it is more convenient and cheaper than taxis. No problem arranging dinner reservations in fact we even changed ours half way through our stay with no problem. Food is more than plentiful and should meet almost everyone's pallet. Excellent location away from the crowds in PV.
Cons: As mentioned by many; pool is a little chilly, ocean is warmer. Hot buffet food on occasions was not hot.
Callouts: Balfre - waiter in the Mexican and Japanese restaurants. April our concierge and all the Bell boys who valeted the car for us and drove me to the golf course.
We highly recommend this resort and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1121 with partial ocean view. It looked to us that all the rooms were similar in l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our hotel staff and particularly the management team we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing IBEROSTAR Playa Mita.

Thank you so much for all your positive comments on our premises and services.

We will congratulate April and the Bell boys as they have contributed to making your holidays special.

We feel honored to hear that you have had a great experience, and hope we have the opportunity to repeat it soon.

Receive warm greetings!

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I don’t wish to make this a dissertation of my most recent vacation, but I do believe in recognizing excellence when I experience it first-hand.

We were booked on a Windstar Cruise, scheduled to leave on Valentine's day. The snowfall that hit the entire eastern seaboard resulted in cancellation (some 15,000 flights cancelled on 2/15 alone). There we saw, with 10 days of vacation at our disposal and no plans! Our travel agent made a few valued suggestions of where to spend out anniversary. Ultimately we chose the Iberostar Playa Mita. I had some reservations going into this trip, knowing it was a new resort (opened December 2013). I expected electrical problems, staffing shortages, and a more limited food selection. You know how it goes when there’s a “soft opening” or a trial run of anything that’s new.

While it wasn’t perfection, there were so many wonderful things to mention about this resort.
I will address several facets of this resort in my proceeding review: LOCATION, FACILITY, DINING, and STAFF. For those of you who wish to read about a more expanded category list, my apologies.

LOCATION
This resort seems to be located in a recently redeveloped area. It was somewhat remote for miles around. No areas of dense population for miles; exactly what I was looking for. The beach extends for miles in both directions, with minimal development to the north and south. There’s a beautiful bay and cove to the south, giving way to the most magnificent evening sunsets. The views were breathtaking. The sunset was as beautiful as I’ve ever seen since the sunset in Hanalei Bay, Hawaii in 2005. True, the water isn’t as crystal blue-green as the east side of Mexico, but it’s every bit as fresh and clean. Even at its busiest hour, the beach area never lured more than 30 or 40 patron. The weather was also ideal - temperatures of between 81 and 83 degrees daily, and a comfortable 60 to 63 at night. A very safe area, no worries as far as pesky street vendors or pick-pocketers.

You’re also only a short cab ride to Sayulita. Definitely worth seeing some local color there. Great food, washed up surfers, hippies, and expats from the US and Canada. A great little town to visit.

FACILITY
The facility was immaculate. The room smelt of freshly coated paint. You could certainly tell it was brand new. The pool was easily accessible, with many lounge chairs all around the pool. A comfortable pool bar, with submersed bar stools, made for easy access to a mid-day (or all day, for that matter) beverage.

Pros: Ample space to stretch out, many seating areas with shade. Plenty of areas to go if you wanted entertainment / activities or if you wanted rest and relaxation. The spa was quite nice, with very reasonable massage rates. Bathrooms were also easily accessible, and there was a very nice buffet restaurant right behind the pool. You would literally spend all day by the pool and not walk more than 100 feet to eat, drink, or relieve yourself.

Cons: Even with 25% occupancy some days, it was difficult to get prompt service during peak hours (at the various alcohol serving stations). Getting to the front desk area requires walking one of two ways. The most obvious way, by appearance, results in walking to a dead-end area below the main front-desk balcony. Bring plenty of cash (pesos). The ATM machine was not functioning all week, and the front desk wanted a 10% commission to do a cash advance from a credit card.

DINING
We were somewhat concerned, one of us being vegan and other vegetarian, about getting a well-balanced diet while we were there. The staff was incredibly accommodating with our meal requirements. They even were quite capable of preparing gluten-free meals. The breakfast buffet was amazing, with every possible type of pastry, omelet, meat dish, or a dozen freshly prepared juices.

Pros: Various, great quality food selections, all day and night. The sit down restaurants (all but one) had excellent menu selections ranging from French cuisine to Japanese fare.
Cons: It was apparent that the staff members were attempting to learn their place in each restaurant they were moved around to from night to night. Some evenings the service was excellent, other nights it left much to be desired. The Japanese restaurant was certainly the best. The Mexican restaurant was among the buzz (of our many friends that we met during the week stay) of worst reservation caliber dining.

STAFF
The staff was, without but one exception, incredibly friendly. A $50 peso tip or more goes a long way to assure excellent service all week long. Remember, these people work for peanuts compared to what we’re used to earning. They depend on tips. Don’t be a cheapskate, don’t treat them with disrespect, and you will be very, very pleased.
Kudos to the wonderful entertainment staff directors, especially Martin and Moises, and the lead managers of the “Star Friends” entertainment crew. The concierge, Reyna, was also incredibly helpful and friendly. I know I’ve left a few names out, and I apologize for that. It’s a not a bad thing, when you can’t remember the names of all of the incredibly friendly staff members. I can’t say that about most cruise ships or U.S. resorts. Let’s put it this way, we were very sad to leave on day 8. The staff of this resort, all around, was the highlight of our week.

P.S. – if you have to see the infirmary, be prepared to pay in cash (pesos). No room charges, or credit cards. This was somewhat irritating.

I would definitely return, and hope that this jewel becomes discovered by more and more travelers in the next year. Safe travels.

David in Wisconsin, USA.

Room Tip: The oceanview suites, even the junior oceanview suites, have incredible views and avoid the sound re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We wish to extend warm greetings and thank you greatly for sharing your great experience with us at IBEROSTAR Playa Mita.

Thank you very much for your kind comments on our facilities and the services provided by our wonderful staff.

We will share your nice words with our entertainment staff and with your concierge, they will all be very happy to know you have recognized their work.

We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy what this slice of paradise has to offer; we look forward to your next stay with us!

Our best regards from Nayarit,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surgeon_1983
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We came in March, realizing that it was US spring break, and we were prepared for a lot of families with teenagers, we weren't prepared for the number of families with young babies at this resort.

The resort is nice, it's new, it's clean, the location is beautiful. The resort layout leaves a lot to be desired though. There are no jacuzzis unless you pay $40pp/day, or have an oceanfront room. What 5* doesn't have jacuzzis?

The pools are all located together, so, there's no escaping the pool activities, not very relaxing when you don't want to have to listen to the loud speaker all day! And the staff walk around constantly asking you to join, it's very annoying.

There is a kids pool but no one uses it, so there are a lot of screaming babies in the pools all day. We wouldn't have come if we'd known this. It very much resembles a Holiday Inn, with nicer drapes, and a better location.

The food is good. We haven't had any issues with service and everyone seems very nice. We did have two sets of friends that 1. We're told, rudely, to leave the snack bar (pool side) because his shorts were damp, and 2. Had their dishes forgotten two days in a row at the a la carte restaurants. So overall going through a lot of growing pains. Also there is NO working ATM here so if you don't have enough $$ you can't leave the resort. It's $300 pesos to Sayulita, and $150 to Punta De Mita, and there is no haggling on this. So it's really an ordeal to get off the resort... And don't even bother trying to get to PV unless you want to spend $200usd return. Also, get pesos because people here give a terrible exchange rate.

We requested a top floor room, with a king bed near the pools and away from the disco, and I had to follow up to see if they even got my email. So we did get a king bed, bottom floor, near the disco, away from the pools. The hotel is at about 30% occupancy, so I don't really think it would be an issue, but... Guess it was too much to ask? Also, the resort is very empty, so it's hard to meet people to share taxi fare with if you do want to go into the towns.

Anyway, nothing tragic, just not what we expected from this class of resort. Probably wont be back because of the number of families with young babies and the fact that there's nowhere to go to get a break from them... Very much a family resort for young children, not a romantic couples get away.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us and for choosing IBEROSTAR Playa Mita for your vacations. We appreciate the time invested in sharing your comments and suggestions online with other readers.

On behalf of all our staff we want to extend our apologies for not being able to exceed your expectation about your stay with us. We are pleased that overall you have enjoyed our services and staff attention, but we will work with our Departments Heads to improve those aspects you have mentioned. We are following up on the setup of the ATM located in our Lobby area; hopefully it will be available for our guests in a few days.

We are sorry to hear that you were not able to locate or use our Jacuzzi at the Main Spa. That service is part of the All Inclusive package for our guests. We also have as you described a close area on our terrace “Spa Lounge” available for guests who book the Spa Room. This is an Adult only area.

In regards to the family oriented description, we are indeed a Family hotel and that is how we are promoted. However, there are areas that have been designed for those who need a bit of quiet, still close to the main pool or the beach, such as the beautiful Ocean front terrace with sun chairs and umbrellas with chill-out music and a Lounge bar. For an adults only resort, we highly recommend our IBEROSTAR Grand Collection hotels, where we are sure you would have a very relaxing and exclusive experience.

We regret that your room accommodation was not satisfactory, all our Tropical rooms are located on the ground floor and the following room category, which is Ocean View, are located on our top floors. We do our best each time to accommodate all our guests' requests, however, we are not able to guarantee them in advance.

Hopefully you will give IBEROSTAR a second chance by visiting one of our hotels in your next vacation; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Our best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our second visit to an Iberostar. The service was wonderful and the food was good. With it being new I was told by someone that they were only at 30% capacity which was kind of a downer since we like to visit with other people but on the plus side exceptional service. There were more guest towards the end of our stay. Sometimes the food on the buffets was cold but I think once attendance picks up that should not be a problem. The rooms were very nice and our bed was turned down every night with chocolates left for us - nice touch. The beach was nice but because the tide comes in they cannot have the palapas on the beach. There were lounge chairs they would put out and you could get an umbrella. The grill down near the beach had excellent fresh cooked burgers. The roof top bar was very nice - you could sit and watch the sun go down. The Express restaurant was excellent but because it is a gourmet experience your meal is long. We stayed on the second floor and had an ocean view. Room 1117. The Star staff was wonderful. Always trying to get you involved. Martin, Alex and Daniel were all very friendly and Martina our pool side waitress was wonderful. Some of the evening shows do need work though.

One down fall though is that it is about 45 minutes from Puerta Vallarta and taxis were expensive to do excursions. They did not have excursions set up were you could just pay one price and have your transportation included. Went whale watching in Sayulita and had to take a taxi that was $15.00 US each way. We shared with a couple so that help. Not sure if true or not but talked to some travel agents that said they are going to be building a new road from Puerta Vallarta to make the travel distance shorter. I am sure some of this stuff with come with time.

Overall very pleasant stay. The view is beautiful- surrounded by mountains.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us recently for a second time at IBEROSTAR and for sharing your review.

We appreciate your nice words regarding the hotel facilities, our staff and the exceptional service you always received. We will congratulate our mentioned staff for contributing to make your holidays special.

In relation to the tours’ transportation, we would like to comment that there are some agencies that do provide transportation from the hotel, our recommendation is to always reserve or be advised by our tours´ representative who is located at the main lobby.

Thank you again for giving us the opportunity of being your host during your holidays and making it a memorable one.

Receive a warm greeting and a friendly HOLA from IBEROSTAR Playa Mita.

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Playa Mita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Mita

Address: Comercial Camino Ingreso a Litibu, Lote 15, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Playa Mita 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBEROSTAR Playa Mita, a 5-star Premium Gold hotel located in Punta Mita, Riviera Nayarit, offers a relaxing and all-inclusive atmosphere complete with mouthwatering international dishes and endless activities for guests of all ages. Standing tall in beautiful Punta Mita, on Mexico’s Pacific coast, IBEROSTAR Playa Mita is conveniently located 25 miles from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Playa Mita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Playa Mita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.