We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Tasty Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Shrimp

Blue Shrimp
El Anclote Street, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Ask for Nino's Guacamole and enjoy the setting. All appetizers are amazing. A little pricey, but fabulous.
A def must dine once.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    71
    33
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Best Ribs Ever .. Nino GUac is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was amaze how in such a small town i was able to find great food and ambient.. the barman had great drink just needed to be more fun. Nino and gabriel were so helpful.i would come back any time every year.. thank you guys for such a great time...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a nice american feel to a mexican beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A Mexican beach twist on an american sports bar, great place to catch the NFL and NCAA action during any night in Punta Mita, while enjoying some great food.
Carnitas de atún (not on the menu) are awesome

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very good but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We ate a light lunch there since prices were so high. Prices were very high but it had a great view. We had been referred to Margarita`s and we heard we should have gone there. Better prices and great food. The margaritas were excellent at Blue Shrimp.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME. Amazing view, stellar service, perfectly cooked and delicious food, nice restaurant design.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Last night my boyfriend and I had margaritas at sunset followed by a spectacular dinner at Blue Shrimp. It was our first time there and what a fantastic experience! I’m so thrilled to have another restaurant on the Anclote strip that I can be this excited about. Usually I prefer to cook when I’m here in Mita so I can have what I consider beautiful prepared and “clean” food – a must to me for my body to feel good for daily surf. While I think there are plenty of decent and fun places to eat in Punta Mita, Si Senor has been my favorite since I discovered it because of the nice views, the magical atmosphere once it gets dark, the incredible staff, and because I can ask for fresh fish and vegetables cooked without lots of oil and sauces (which I call the “Gustavo special” and they always know what I want). Gustavo is the owner and has similar eating preferences to me. Every meal I’ve had there has been delicious and I never feel like I ate a really unhealthy meal (which is often how I feel when leaving a restaurant). So when I heard that Gustavo’s brother, Javier, opened Blue Shrimp this summer, we put it on our “check it out” list for this trip. We walked in last night at sunset to an expansive view of the water and then watched the stunning, painted sky become more and more captivating over the next half hour while we drank fresh lime margaritas. There were still a few paddle boarders out catching tiny waves and little girl was doing cartwheels on the beach. The bar and restaurant are really beautiful designed – a very large Palapa style roof with high ceilings, beautiful dim lighting when it was dark, and a kitchen designed for guests to see into if they’d like. Very well done. I’m not a fan of TVs but they have several large screen TVs at a bar – perfect for those who can’t miss whatever game is on at the moment! The staff really rolled out the red carpet (the way I’d have described my first experience at Si Senor). They were fun, professional and attentive. We were hungry from an afternoon of surf and ordered several things (and enjoying them immensely for lunch today as well). The Agua Chile was an awesome starter as well as the coconut shrimp. I’m not a fan of fried food, but the coconut shrimp was delicious, flavorful and not at all greasy. I can’t wait to go back for more. My boyfriend enjoyed his ridiculously large thin-crust pizza (providing at least two more lunches in leftovers) and my seared tuna with vegetables could not have been more perfectly cooked or delicious. Felicidades Javier and Blue Shrimp staff!!!! Really wishing you the best for the rest of the season and future, and I look forward to many future delicious meals and magical evenings there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Shrimp also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Blue Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Shrimp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Blue Shrimp to your Saves list