We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid place - friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscos Tino's Restaurant

Mariscos Tino's Restaurant
Av Anclote 64, Punta de Mita, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 40 Restaurants in Punta de Mita
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: great
Restaurant details
Description: great
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Solid place - friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Unpretentious place on the water in Punta Mita. Reasonably priced. Friendly staff. Solid food selection and quality. Some local folks walking around to sell stuff but not in your face about it

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“La laguna (tinos) not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We had been going to la laguna for 15 years but first time in punta mita not such a good experience .place was not bussy food come drinks come all on one shot fish showed was not the the right kilo and they were told easy on the salt did not hapened tino you must make changes ...bill
Not a good experience

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Decent, average meal - nothing great. Service was slow, the fish wasn't bad but wasn't memorable. Dessert was the best part. I imagine normally the views would be great, but it was rainy and a bit chilly when we went.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Service & Great Food for Reasonable $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place has a very cozy feel to it. I ate there 3 times while listening to the sound of waves behind me. The food is delicious... homemade-like... The service was great and prices very affordable. Keep it in mind if you want to experience what the locals eat in a very cool and nice environment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Don't eat raw seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took a bus ride out to Punta Mita the other day and ate at Tino's. We have eaten at 4 of the Tino's locations over the years because their seafood is delicious. This time, we were going to eat an early dinner. We ordered seafood cocktails. They were large and delicious, except for the raw oysters. We normally don't eat raw oysters in Mexico and we shouldn't have let our guards down. The oysters tasted very salty. When we got back to our condo, my husband felt nauseated. As the night wore on, he started throwing up numerous times. Then, he got the runs. I seemed fine. The next morning, I had the runs, chills, my body ached all over and I had a headache. I spent the entire day in the condo and had to go to bed at 2 pm covered up completely because of the chills. Today, I am feeling better and I'll see if someone here can call Tino's to warn them. It might be too late because we got sick two days ago.

Tino's is excellent. Just don't eat their raw seafood and ask what's in their seafood cocktail. Ours included raw oysters and scallops.

This event won't stop us from returning. We'll just make sure we order cooked seafood!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos Tino's Restaurant also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Mariscos Tino's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariscos Tino's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.