We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Great Food for Reasonable $$$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscos Tino's Restaurant

Mariscos Tino's Restaurant
Av Anclote 64, Punta de Mita, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 40 Restaurants in Punta de Mita
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: great
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Service & Great Food for Reasonable $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place has a very cozy feel to it. I ate there 3 times while listening to the sound of waves behind me. The food is delicious... homemade-like... The service was great and prices very affordable. Keep it in mind if you want to experience what the locals eat in a very cool and nice environment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Don't eat raw seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took a bus ride out to Punta Mita the other day and ate at Tino's. We have eaten at 4 of the Tino's locations over the years because their seafood is delicious. This time, we were going to eat an early dinner. We ordered seafood cocktails. They were large and delicious, except for the raw oysters. We normally don't eat raw oysters in Mexico and we shouldn't have let our guards down. The oysters tasted very salty. When we got back to our condo, my husband felt nauseated. As the night wore on, he started throwing up numerous times. Then, he got the runs. I seemed fine. The next morning, I had the runs, chills, my body ached all over and I had a headache. I spent the entire day in the condo and had to go to bed at 2 pm covered up completely because of the chills. Today, I am feeling better and I'll see if someone here can call Tino's to warn them. It might be too late because we got sick two days ago.

Tino's is excellent. Just don't eat their raw seafood and ask what's in their seafood cocktail. Ours included raw oysters and scallops.

This event won't stop us from returning. We'll just make sure we order cooked seafood!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Over priced average food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I decided to try Marisco Tino's after eating at two excellent restaurants (Si Senor and Rosa Mexicano) in Punta Mita and we were very disappointed. I realize that September is the low season in Punta Mita and it was obvious that they were struggling to get customers into their restaurant as were the other establishments in town. The big difference is that Rosa's and Si Senor went out of their way to do more for you, while Marisco Tino's just tried to up sell and charge you more for your meal. I wanted to try the surf and turf which was priced at $305 pesos and the waiter wanted to sell me a larger lobster tail for an additional $800 pesos. I declined and said I will just have it with the shrimp which is supposed to be their specialty. He once again said they had better shrimp then those that are used in the surf/turf dinner. At this point we should have walked out but I decided to give them a chance. That was a mistake. My wife ordered a shrimp entree and when both meals were served the shrimp were exactly the same on both plates. All were over cooked and bland. However when the check arrived I ended up being charged for two dinners, one steak dinner and a second "special" shrimp dinner. When I asked why I was not charged just for the surf and turf plus whatever the "special" shrimp added I was told that their computer could not process that?? In any event I am crossing this place off my list of places to eat in Punta Mita. By the way, it was our most expensive meal while in Punta Mita and by far the worst I have had in Mexico in quite some time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very relaxing atmosphere. Great food and service. Would recommend to everyone. Try something different. The fish is fresh, and fantastic. They will cook it any way you prefer. Very friendly

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent food at a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The seafood was great and the beer ice cold. The view being right at the beach wasn't too shabby either. Prices for two of us having lobster and giant shrimp including beers was right at $50, what a bargain.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos Tino's Restaurant also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Mariscos Tino's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariscos Tino's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.