We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Pintor

Casa Del Pintor
Hidalgo y Libertad | Emiliano Zapata 13, Punta de Mita 63732, Mexico
3292916307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Punta de Mita
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

It was by chance that I came across Casa Del Pintor - the owner Ropi - has personality plus and wants to be sure you are a happy customer - now a staple in the community of punta de mita - he often hosts special event nights, and has live music and a special
Menu - my favorite dish is his Mexican Lasagne -
I doubt you would be disappointed at Casa Del Pintor! Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Best choice for Hamberger in Punta de Mita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

After try few places., we discovered this hamburgers are the best in the area./ very good zise , lot of meet,fresh vegetales and great comfortable place..Not a place if you are in a hurry.
The owner will be there ready to make you dinner,, many things more,, but,, i always get the hamburger.
Ask for casa del Pintor. everybody will know.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys CA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appreciative neighbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We own place across the street from Casa Del Pintor and are so thankful to have Ropi and
Casa Del Pintor in the neighborhood! He is full of love and life, and will brighten anyone's day with
his food and philosophy. If you're an impatient type, go elsewhere. Part of the charm is to relax,
order a beverage and sink into the ambiance of Casa Del Pintor.

We love his breakfasts and have had many, many wonderful dinners. The trick is to enjoy the
slower pace. Are you really in that much of a hurry?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Ropi(the owner)is quite the character,He is quick with a laugh.We had several meals there and over all were happy with the food. Nothing here is done quickly and is on Mexican time. Prices are inline with most other restaurants in Punta de Mita which are a little higher than down in Puerto Vallarta. If you are cat people,you will get a kick out of the 3 cats that have taken up residence at the cafe.They aren't owned by Ropi but keep the insects and mice that are found down here at bay. They are very friendly and aren't to look fora morsel at your feet. The waffles here are very good for breakfast. The breakfast potatoes and french fries need to be cooked a lot longer as they aren't crispy and the can still be hard when they come out. That being said the drinks are always cold and plentiful.I think with a little tweeking and paint... this could be place could be greatly improved.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than just Great Food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is by far our favorite place in the Punta Mita area. We always stay across the street. Ropi is a true artist with food. Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner are consistently good. We have visited for 3 years in a row, and have never been disappointed. This is a place that the local gringos go for drinks, and great food. On Friday nights they have live American music, and BBQ'ed ribs. This is a fun time for food, drinks in a great setting.

For breakfast try the chilaquiles. They are the best I have ever had.

I love a good cheeseburger. This is one of the best I have ever had.

The chili relleno is nothing like we get in the States. It is filled with rice, a little cheese, raisins, almonds, and other spices. Not a heavy fried cheese stuffed poblano. Try this and I guarantee that you will never eat a chile relleno as good.

Great Tip- if you are staying in any of the condos on Calle Hidalgo, in Emilano Zapata, take the plate from your place over at about 5 PM. Ask Ropi what is good tonight, and tell him what time you want to eat. He will have your dinner ready at the appointed time, and you can take dinner back to your place. This is one of our favorite things to do. There is usually enough food for dinner that night and lunch the next day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Del Pintor also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Casa Del Pintor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Pintor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.