We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty sure that people who loved this restaurant were high or drunk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina

Carolina
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, Punta de Mita 63732, Mexico
+52 329 291 5800
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort's Award Winning signature restaurant, offers a seductive blend of bespoke service, casual luxury, romantic ocean views and distinctive flavors. The name Carolina pays tribute to Caroline Astor.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty sure that people who loved this restaurant were high or drunk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

First of all this was recommended as a five star diamond restaurant which is so unique in all of mexico so expectations were high to begin with and since we are big time foodies who have traveled to a lot of cities in The US or abroad just to dine and wine this was a huge disappointment.
Let's start with the service or maybe lack of there was only one waiter in charge of six table which is very odd in mexico and he was very slow and not very informative for a high end restaurant it took him half an hour to get us our drinks 75 minutes to get our appetizers and two hours to get our main dish
so the appetizers had a very nice presentation but the flavor was below acceptable ,the caprese was dry and the mozzarella cheese was tasteless and the whole dish lacked flavor and not remotely close to what caprese should taste like
salad was bitter and overly powering salt not good at all
the caesar salad was horrible as well bad anchovies and stinky eggs and not edible
we ordered four different main dishes but they were out of two of them so we ended up getting the beef filet and the sea bass
the filet had so much salt and pepper and was way over cooked i requested mine to be medium rare and it did not have any pink in it and the potatoes that came with was very dry
the sea bass was super fishy with horrible flavor
bottom line for the money this is a waste and i recommend every one to try so many other better restaurants

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    119
    10
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Big disappointment .
Case of food being just not tasty.
All nice set up and grandiose presentation is followed by super mediocre food . Very expensive . Other restaurants in the hotel are incompatible better
Not sure where all those diamond awards came from. Possibly it was all that great before but changed.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hands Down, The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The food at Carolina is TOP Notch! The chef has created such a deeply thoughtful menu, with flavors that get more and more delicious and complex. The staff was so helpful with selecting wine, and making recommendations, as well as explaining the complex menu. I had grilled lobster with black truffle risotto, and my boyfriend (at the time) had the filet. Both were sensationally delicious!

Towards the end of the night, the waiter suggested desert, and that we try it blindfolded to really enhance the flavors of the deserts. We agreed. What I didn't know was that they had created a special dessert (a hollow chocolate globe, filled with rose petals) in which my fiancé had put a ring.

It was a beautiful, romantic evening, with truly incredible food, and staff that go above and beyond to make the experience truly memorable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A true Culinary Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had our catch of the day prepared there and could not have been more pleased! We dressed for a night on the town (without the intention of leaving our gorgeous little resort) and were pleasently surprised. We loved the atmosphere and style and especially the bubbly and fresh fish we picked out that morning at the catch of the day! Loved this place...TRULY A FAV!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We've been dining at Carolina's for the past 3 years and it's always outstanding. The quality of the food and the level of service is unsurpassed in Puerto Vallarta. If you're looking for a truly fine dining experience I highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina also viewed

 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.