We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Dec. 16th to Dec. 23rd, 2012... SO MUCH FUN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ Carretera Punta de Mita Km 11.5, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico (Formerly Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off + Webcome Package
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Punta de Mita
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stayed Dec. 16th to Dec. 23rd, 2012... SO MUCH FUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I find with reading reviews it really depends on the who the person writing the review is to get a sense of what the resort is like. Some people expect too much, some people are extremely picky, and some people are easy-going and go to all-inclusive resorts to get some sun, enjoy what the resort has to offer, and relax. I am the third type of person. My girlfriend and I went to this resort having no idea what to expect due to the mixed reviews we had read. We are both 20, work part time, are relatively easy going, we like to socialize, meet new people, and experience new things.

I don't even know where to start about this place. For starters, I would go back to this place anytime without any second thought. There was not one staff member who was rude or unhelpful; they were all willing to help with whatever we needed. The drinks were great, the food was great, the pools were great, and the beach was amazing.

We spent most of our time at the relax pool, and our bartender Matias was awesome. He was always happy to see us and made great drinks. The food was really good, they have unlimited a la carte dinners, all you have to do is go to it and they will put you on a waitlist and give you a pager if there are no tables available. Almost every a la carte we went to we were sat by Nataly and she was a very pleasant lady. We went to the lunch buffet and sat in the same section every day because Alberto was a really good server. He was always very kind and got our drinks for us right away.

One of my favourite things about this resort is the fact that you can surf on the beach it is on, and they provide the surf boards. This doesn't mean you can't swim on the beach either; the surfing is off to the side a little bit so people who are worried about not being able to take the big waves, don't worry! There is also a man made salt water pool off to the side of the beach which was really cool. My fourth time surfing I saw a huge sea turtle about five feet away from me. It was amazing.

I had no idea what to expect for night life and it turned out to be a lot of fun. We met a lot of great people and ended up spending the rest of our stay hanging out with them. Of course, this can be hit or miss depending on who goes when. The club/disco was open the latest and it closed at 2am, but we would just load up our tables with drinks before they closed and that would keep us going strong for at least another hour. Some nights the "club" was packed, some nights people had been drinking all day and went to bed early. Both options were good options.

The rooms were really nice. The beds had memory foam toppers, the bathtub had jets, all rooms have ipod speakers in them, and there was a 42 inch flatscreen tv on the wall. They were cleaned every day, and the fridge was restocked with water, coke, fanta, and beer.

One thing though, if you plan on going into town and clubbing, its about a 40 minute taxi to downtown from the resort so it would be a long night. The beach at this resort is definitely worth it being a little out of town. Better water clarity, and not beside a bunch of other resorts, plus no pushy vendors on the beach.

To conclude, I had an amazing time, met amazing people, and will definitely return to this resort when I want to visit the Puerto Vallarta region again.

Hope this helps anyone looking into this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMCastro, General Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Stefan V
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on our hotel. Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve our service and our product.
I appreciate your positive notes about the hotel and I was very happy to read that you liked the room, installations and all the facilities that we have. I appreciate too the feedback you have provided regarding our food and beverage offerings. For us it is so important to know our guests opinions in order to improve our service day to day.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your partner back to the resort and make your stay nothing but a pleasure experience again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    1,157
    493
    266
    173
See reviews for
830
996
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed with our two young adult children over New Year's week this year and had a good time. I would rate this resort between good and very good, not great. The rooms were nice and spacious with good beds and amenities. Our "ocean view" room as promised was a little peek through the bushy trees. Maid service was excellent and speedy. Beach is very nice, small and located between some rocky outcroppings but sandy with moderate surf to play in. There are a few rocks hidden in the sandy area so take care when venturing out. They rake the beach area daily but neglect to pick up all the cigarette butts and other garbage that turns up. A little more attention to that would make it a pristine beach. Surfing is great and the surf instructors are helpful and friendly. Yoga on the beach is a relaxing way to start the day, thanks to Sergio! Food is plentiful and good. Huge variety. If you can't find something you like at this buffet you're really picky! Waiters and station chefs were generally very friendly and helpful even in busy times. The only negative with the food was the main restaurant is set back behind the resort jungle garden so you can't see the ocean while you eat. Shame to hide that away when the view is so spectacular. Drinks were good at all the bars although they kept running out of things(bananas, beer, limes...) Oscar was ever cheerful and could whip up a cocktail in seconds. Bar staff was mainly cheerful and hardworking although that one girl at the pool bar....wow, she needs a little attitude adjustment. Activities were great and always had something going on...except for the day it rained...there was supposed to be a "rainy day" program but seemed like nothing was going on when we looked. Spa treatment and sauna/pools are fantastic and we loved our little escape. Worth splurging. All-in-all a nice place, a little out of the way it you're looking to walk around and see some culture but there is local bus service to Bucerias and Punta de Mita if you're game. Would recommend this to friends but probably wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lower number like 1204 if you want to be closer to the ocean. We had 1221 and coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro C, Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear IslandJoyRides,
Thanks a lot for your comments and for giving us your feedback of your stay at the Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa. I was very pleased to read all the positive comments you had for us and also I will pass your nice remarks to the people you mentioned in your review.
Thank you again for your remarks and we hope to see you in the future, giving us a second chance to improve your expectations and opinion about our resort. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further information.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in November 2012 with our children and grand kids. In total we had 8 adults, 4 children. We had an ocean view suite with an excellent view. Restaurants were alright, Bamboo was definitely a miss and would not recommend it. However, the steakhouse was fantastic and would have gone every night if it was open the entire trip. The buffet had a great selection of food, and waiters were very attentive. The nightly shows were great fun and a nice way to end the night. Staff were very courteous and friendly. The ocean was great especially the ocean pool, we were there every day enjoying the sun and water. We will definitely be returning in 2013 and look forward to the great service and beautiful resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMCastro, General Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear adriano1235
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your last vacation in Grand Palladium Vallarta. All our guest reports help us to understand what our guests need or want from their vacation.
I will take note about your suggestions in order to improve our day to day services and if there is anything that we can do for you in the future, please let me know.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

had a room allocation issue which was resolved. We voiced our concerns to the main desk,the concierge & west jet rep. Then we met Cesar Ventura(royal suites mang.) He moved us to the royal suites for the last 8 days of our stay. Concierge Misael, servers Victor,Miguel, Carlos, Philippe & maid Maria all worked to make our holiday special . Many thanks to these great people. Linda & Gary Cook Cobble Hill B.C.

Room Tip: Ocean view room over looking adult pool is quiet with morning sun. Royal Suites is pricier but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMCastro, General Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Cook
I am glad to know that you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in our hotel when you change to Royal Suite Punta de Mita. We take our guest’s comments very seriously. I will take note about your suggestions in order to improve our day to day services and if there is anything that we can do for you in the future, please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent a week at the Royal Suites from the 14th to the 21st of Dec. We had been before to the adult-only section of the Grand Palladium White Sand on the Mayan Riviera side and were expecting similar standards. We found the setting even more beautiful - the look over the adult pool and terrasses cascading down to the private beach and the setting of the restaurant overlooking the ocean are wonderful. Likewise, we were happy with the food choices and service at the restaurant, the comfort and upkeep of the rooms (we preferred the suite with the closed-off bathroom but some might like the loft-style rooms with everything in one space) and especially enjoyed the quiet beach with reasonably good access to swimming. (You should bring your water shoes though to avoid the pebbles and rocks.)
But there were areas and a couple of points where the Royal Suites could improve and become a truly 5-star establishment - until that, it is good value but is not up to its potential.
1/ less loud music around the adult pool (into all hours and most of the time competing with the music in the open-air restaurant, sharing the same space) and in the buildings (at all hours);
2/ Some kind of house rule reminding guests to limit the use of their in-room jacuzzi - we've been kept up with the pump of the jacuzzi going past midnight by the couple in the room directly above us.

3/ Lastly, my biggest problem with the hotel (not the Royal Suites) was the zoo, mentioned by a couple of reviewers as a good idea. Maybe it had to do with renovations to the grounds but I thought the way the animals were kept was appalling: they were all locked up in clearly insufficient, tiny enclosures. I don't think it made a huge difference to the farm animals like chickens or geese but the monkeys, the deer, the wild birds, etc. had so little room that they were clearly uncomfortable, running around, trying to get out or apathetic. The deer had no access to water, not even in a dish, in an enclosure about the size of a small bathroom, covered in dust. The turtles, on the other hand, had only a pool completely covered in stone, with no place to burrow or hide. I tried to bring up the issue with our concierge but he seemed to think it was perfectly fine. If this is a temporary arrangement, management should make that clear - but overall, I don't think these animals should be kept there, clearly not in their habitat, for the entertainment of the guests.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the top floor (no elevator but much better view and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro C, Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear anonyma,
In first place I would like to thank you for choose again Palladium Hotel Group as your brand to pass your holidays, first in the Mayan Riviera and now here at the Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa.
Your comments help us to improve our facilities and service day to day. Regarding your remark about the Zoo let me tell you that we are in process to give it a new look: facilities, access…
We hope that you decide to spend your next vacation with us or in another Palladium Hotel and if there is anything that we can do, please let us know.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In the beginning of December we knew that we were overdue for a trip. We needed some real rest & relaxation.
We couldn't decide where to go. Exhausted with all the travel choices we decided to try some place new, Mexico! This would be our first trip to Mexico and it won’t be our last! )))
We had decided on the Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, in Riviera Nayarit which turned out to be an excellent choice. With direct flights from Victoria to Puerto Vallarta we were enjoying ourselves quickly on December 22nd. The grounds were beautiful, our room was impeccable because of our maid Lety and so very comfortable, but most importantly it's the people at the Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa that made our trip perfect! Specifically a waiter named Antonio Morales, at the main buffet restaurant, he made out first experience in Mexico one that we will never forget. Antonio Morales is a true professional. He met all our needs and always appeared to be thoroughly enjoying his time serving and he never let us wait for a table as he would always find us one, exactly where we liked to sit. No matter if we were at the buffet for breakfast or dinner Antonio Morales provided us with 5 star treatment, in his unique & personal way. After a few days we watched Antonio during our dinner and realized that it was not only us but everyone he was serving that evening that was a recipient of his spectacular five star service. There was an older gentleman that Antonio was working with on many days and together they made our experience one that we share with everyone here at home and one that makes us want to return as soon as possible. There was also Giovanni, a bartender at the secret bar at the adult pool. This man was so efficient no matter the number of guests at the bar, and always friendly and professional service!
With the excellent service we received daily from Antonio Morales and Giovanni & Lety, while at the Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, Gary & I never have to research where to go for some R & R, the choice is simple for us & we only hope we can return at least once a year to a place & to people that will be in our hearts forever. A huge Thank You Thank You Thank You to Antonio Morales, Giovanni & to Lety for making our stay at the Grand Palladium Vallarta the best ever as rest and relaxation are happily served up daily.

Room Tip: if you have any issues with mobility you should request a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMCastro, General Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Peggy B
First of all, thank you so much for your visit and I am thrilled you had such a great visit and we left you a memorable impression. Rest assured I have taken note of your comments regarding our staff. I am indeed honoured to have members of the team that help make our guests experience an unforgettable and special one. I will share your kind words to them (Antonio Morales, Gionvanni, Lety...).
We look forward to see you again and thank you for sharing your experience in Grand Palladium Vallarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

An excellent week! It was a bit of a family reunion for my wife and me with our two youngest "children" (ages 22 and 20) home on winter break from college. The weather (Dec 18-24) was perfect--warm enough during the day to seek shade, and almost cool enough for long sleeves a couple of mornings--and all under clear skies.

We surfed, swam, kayaked, boarded, walked beach, danced to live music, saw the nightly shows, went discotheque-ing, did yoga, got massaged,
body-wrapped and facialed, painted ceramics, negotiated small purchases with the vendors, lounged around reading, and ate and drank endlessly.

Our "children" found a sizeable contingent of older teens and twenty-somethings to socialize with, and there were many in my wife's and my age group also.

The staff was excellent, not only friendly and accommodating, but lively, energetic, funny, and always doing what they could to ensure everyone was having a great time.

What's not to like?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMCastro, General Manager at Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Madeleine531
I would like to thank you for your positive comments about the Grand Palladium Resort. I really appreciate that you and your family enjoyed your vacations. I will take note about your comments and I will send them to our staff. We are continuously working in order to keep our guest expectations high and the comments that we receive from our guests help us to know if we are on the right path.
I hope that you decide to spend your next vacation with us and if there is anything that we can do, please let me know or send me an email
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa

Address: C/ Carretera Punta de Mita Km 11.5, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico (Formerly Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular property that offers a 300 meter long private Pacific beach, from which guests can witness stunning sunsets. The construction of the hotel has maintained the natural flora and fauna of the area to provide an extraordinary setting for an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palladium Vallarta Resort And Spa
Palladium Vallarta Hotel Punta De Mita
Palladium Vallarta Puerto
Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Palladium Puerto Vallarta
Viva Vallarta
Hotel Palladium Vallarta
Club Viva Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.