We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun day with my son and a friend while taking a surfing lesson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Accion Tropical

Accion Tropical
Av. Anclote # 16, Punta de Mita, Mexico
329 291 6633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in Punta de Mita
Attraction details
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“fun day with my son and a friend while taking a surfing lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spent a really relaxing few hours while the younger folk toook a surfing lesson. Beautiful beach, warm breezes, and a great teacher, named Fox. He went out of his way to instruct the kids, and to help me enjoy my observation of the lesson. The whole group there is pretty laid back, and not much more you could ask for on a holiday.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We booked a surfing excursion in advance via email and they did not show up at our hotel to pick us up as promised. When the St. Regis called to see where they were they said we did not have a reservation although we had an email confirming. The St. Regis then called another company and arranged surfing lessons thru them.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thanks to Oso Negro and Fox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great surfing on the beach with an amazing instructor. Oso and Fox were such great help with our teens just learning how to longboard.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great guys and paradise for longboarders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My friend and I came down to the Punta de Mita area hoping to surf the El Anclote break, a long, righthand point break dubbed the "Mexican Malibu", but unfortunately, there was no swell so it was flat during our entire stay. Apparently we came down during a transitional season, and the best time to surf El Anclote is in the winter/early spring and the summer. Luckily, there were waves elsewhere in the area, and the guys at Accion Tropical made sure we got to experience them!

La Lancha is a 5 minute panga ride from the town, and the one we frequented during our stay - a fun, gentle wave reminiscent of San Onofre in Orange County, California. Great for beginner and intermediate surfers, just watch out for the huge coral head at the main takeoff (only visible at low tide!). The beach is private, with access only by boat, OR by land, but it's guarded by security, who will only let you in with a surfboard. Kinda nice and more secure that way for surfers. Anyone else was just outta luck! The water there was AMAZING - 80 -85 degrees, and so clean, clear and pure compared to the cold, sadly polluted waters of California (though the waves here at home do pack more of a punch). There was also a break called The Cove that they offer trips to, but there's no beach there so we always opted for La Lancha.

Lalo is the shop owner, and was very friendly and communicative (initially by email then in person once we arrived). He got us their best longboards (which they keep upstairs). Our boat captains and guides were Ivan and Tomas, who were both very cool dudes who gave us good tips on the area, and they were great fun as well, always inviting us to join them for beers at the shop around sunset:) I'd never surfed from a boat before, so that was a treat. They basically just drop you off right outside the lineup, and you paddle out from there. Less paddling is always good!

Keep in mind if you're a shortboarder you might be disappointed in the waves in the Punta de Mita area - definitely better for longboarders, mostly in the 2-3ft range, and at it's biggest, maybe 4-5? (though we were told it will occasionally get big during certain swells). If you're a shredder in search of bone-crushing beach breaks and barrels, Oaxaca might be a better option.

There are other shops in town (La Escuelita, Tranquilo Surf and Mictlan Surf School - Ernesto from Mictlan was really cool; met him out at La Lancha), but Accion Tropical seems to be the most established and professional crew. We highly recommend them!! Definitely email Lalo before your trip to plan ahead.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardo fernand... d, Propietario at Accion Tropical, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thanks to all the freand that come surfing wiht us, they are the best. thaks to all Lalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a blast with Fox & Ivan surfing Punta Mita!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had 2 mornings of surfing with Fox & Ivan from Accion Tropicale in El Anclote. We were staying at Villa Pacifica in the Ranchos Estates. The guys came & picked us up in their boat, right out the front of our villa. They took us about half a mile down the beach to a fantastic surf spot. I made more progress in 2 days with Fox & Ivan than I did in several weeks back home in Australia! The guys were a lot of fun, we had a blast!!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Accion Tropical also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Accion Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accion Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.