We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for drinks and more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Anclote

Original Anclote
Avenida El Anclote | Nuevo Corral Del Risco, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
523292916361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 45 Restaurants in Punta de Mita
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
united states
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good spot for drinks and more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We didn't eat more than the ceviche and nachos (or this review could be higher), but the drinks and service were great! The owners were very friendly, and the wife even offered to drive us (a group of 7 girls) back to our condo since we'd been drinking there for a few hours. Loved everything about Punta Mita, but the hospitality here was above and beyond!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank indyfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Original Anclote, Punta de Mita, Mexico.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Occasionally, I rent a car during my annual vacation at Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and, having completed my chores, my wife and I often visit Punta de Mita, a charming haven for surfers and sun seekers, at the northern end of Bahia de Banderas, some 25 miles from P.V. We enjoy sitting under a palapa for a few hours, drinking beer and snacking on nachos and mussels at the Original Anclote Restaurant - Bar. The tables are literally a matter of a few feet from the breaking waves. The experience is tranquil and relaxing as we watch the water taxis come and go, the pelicans diving for their sustenance and the local hero, Neptuno, the dog that surfs!
Dr Gareth Griffith,
Saskatoon,
Canada.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota, Usa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Spendy for just light fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We wanted just a hamburger or light fare....they only had children's hamburgers...but assured us they were good size. This was not so. We paid 890 pesos for a poor hamburger. Now in other years I have eaten brunch here and it was wonderful. Staff was very nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mexicomaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
1 review
“wonderful owners and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

we had a fantastic lunch at the Anclote! great sea food,big portion, super atmosphere and fabulous service!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Try the Lobster bisque! One of the best soups ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Ya I know what you are thinking, why are your ordering soup when its a thousand degrees out? Well because I love soup and have to try it everywhere I go and since this spot had at least 4 on the go, the lobster bisque that was amazing and I will go back for, an onion soup that we did not try, a mushroom soup that my 4 year old had and after the first bite we did not hear from her for 15 min....she loved it that much! My other daughter had the shrimp fajitas and I had the beef fajitas, both great. My wife had the cilantro Mahi and said it was very good. We were there for lunch and it started off not too busy but then got quite busy so the wait was a while but we were in no rush. The vendors selling things do come in since it is open on the beach to sell you things so if you feel uncomfortable with this I don't know what to say as it happens everywhere. I don't really care but during our 1.5 hour lunch we must have been hit up by at least 20 vendors, I just said no and they usually just went away. If in Punta, even if you just go for a quick beer, order a soup, you will be happy!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trav69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Anclote also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Original Anclote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing