We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque, quality eating experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sufi

Sufi
Porta Fortuna Development | Punta Mita, Punta de Mita, Mexico
+52 329296990
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Picturesque, quality eating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The setting of the restaurant captures the ocean front beauty of Punta Mita. The wading pool in front of the lounge area leads the eye to the ocean, beach, and long pier. We did not have time but wanted to stroll the pier after sundown. Service was excellent. Food was very good. I had the seafood paella, which was very fresh and not overly seasoned. My wife, however, had what was probably the best red snapper I have ever eaten. I ate much of it after finishing my own meal. Also had a more-subtle-than-expected, good jalapeno margarita. There were a few parties of 10 or so in the fairly small, outdoor space but it still seemed private enough. Though I am not always a fan of "high end" crowds, the ambience was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    30
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely space and good cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A lovely restaurant with good food. Nice ambience on a terrace overlooking the water. The caeser salad was good, I really enjoyed the paella, and my friends enjoyed their pork, shrimp and duck dishes. Good spicy margaritas. Would definitely go back :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Sufi is a good restaurant in a great location. There were twelve of us, the restaurant did a great job and the food was good. This restaurant is on the higher end and cost as well. Worth a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good meal - wonderful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying we have been spoiled here in Punta Mita - we had a great view and very good food with good service- the grouper was great and the Cornish game hen was super moist with dates and plantains !
Yum

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lobster-o-Rama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

It's located about 10 minutes walk from the St Regis where we stayed. Just go right after the gate to get there. It's set on a beautiful deck overlooking the Bahia de Banderas. It's costs about 20% less than the resort and the portions are large. I think my wife ate every lobster they had! Her plate had about 3-4 lobsters on it!!! Try the tuna tataky pizza if sashimi is your thing. The fish here and everywhere in Punta Mita is ridiculously fresh. We plan on going here every time we come back to Punta Mita.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sufi also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Sufi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sufi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.