We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great ambiance...a rare match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sufi

Sufi
Porta Fortuna Development | Punta Mita, Punta de Mita, Mexico
+52 329296990
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and great ambiance...a rare match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I went to Sufi last Friday based on the recommendation of the St. Regis. The recommendation was well deserved. The food was excellent and accompanied by a very cozy ocean front ambiance.

The restaurant itself is Mediterranean/Mexican fusion and is located on the ocean in a private subdivision of residences. The lobby and entrance of the restaurant are both very impressive with a comfortable lounge and cool swimming pool that overlooks the ocean. The restaurant facility itself is very simple, but considering it is a terrace over looking the pacific ocean, the view is all it really needs.

We ordered the kabob sampler as an appetizer and it was amazing. The fresh bread the bring out is very tasty. We then proceeded to order the skirt steak and taco entree with the shrimp risotto and sauteed mushroom sides. I will say the Shrimp Risotto and Mushrooms are both must orders as they were simply amazing. The skirt steak was very good, however I will try another item the next time we go.

To finish off we had two deserts, the cinnamon creme brûlée was very good, but the pastry puffs with chocolate (once again forgot the name) was irresistible. I highly recommend visiting this restaurant. If you are staying at the St Regis or the Four Seasons, the restaurant is conveniently located just outside the gates of both hotels.

One final item. Because the restaurant is located on the ocean, it has a tendency to get cold. The restaurant is nice enough to provide blankets/wraps for customers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    30
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“BYOF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Wow, after a pleasant day fishing, we decided to take chunks of ultra-fresh tuna and dorado to Sufi: Dropped the fish off, its amazing, I handed it to the chef, no directions, no suggestions. We returned later than evening, and had one of the best meals ever. He and his staff went all-out, and created four different dishes, including starters and main courses, all were spectacular, creative and wonderfully tasty. THANK YOU.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Waiter killed it for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good food, awesome setting, but waiter was totally disinterested and killed the experience for us. Only bad experience the entire trip to Punta De Mita.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The most amazing food! Definitely make the trip and eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Romantic ambiance, better for couples. The seafood is fresh and absolutely delicious. Recommend you make reservations as they have become a very popular dinner destination.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Mexiterranean means excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Best food we have had our entire stay in Punta Mita! We decided to go with just appetizers for dinner as there was such a fantastic selection! The menu on their website does not show half of the appetizers for some reason. We started with the skewer plate, including fried Brie, shrimp, beef, chicken, etc, presented very nicely. Our second choice was the tuna shasimi pizza which was out of this world and we hope to replicate back home! The next was the least of our favorite and that was the plate with Brie, ham, potato cake and sangria. We then followed those up with the tortilla soup and Cesear salad. Service was excellent! Great location!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sufi also viewed

Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
Punta de Mita, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Sufi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sufi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.