We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Quinta del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta de Mita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Quinta del Sol
Save
You added Hotel La Quinta del Sol to your Saves list
Calle Hidalgo 162, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Stavanger
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for three nights in January 13, and it was a most pleasant and relaxing start of my travel. Great place, large room, very clean and the best staff. Very nice and very helpful. Thanks to Rami and Larissa. I will be back:-)

Siri

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hola Siri, Thanks so much for the lovely review. We were happy to hear that you had such a relaxing time here and a great start to your trip. We hope the rest of your vacation was amazing! We look forward to the next time. Hasta Pronto!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
101
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A fantastic place to stay in a great location! Rami and Larissa were excellent hosts, incredibly knowledgeable about the area and offered a great transport service which always included a guided tour around where you were being transported to, pointing out all the good places to eat, shop and pick up a margarita in Sayulita’s case (a great town for a day trip). The rooftop area was one of our favourite things about the hotel, a great place to enjoy the hammocks and watch the sunset with a drink and if you are lucky enough like we were a lobster dinner prepared by Larissa and Rami. It’s a place where you can have time on your own or join the in on the many fun things Rami and Larisa organise with the other guests. Another fantastic feature that I have to mention is the garage (my boyfriend has serious garage envy) it was so well set-up with board racks for the boards you bring or is filled with boards you can hire plus the transport service also includes your surfboards which are well take care of too. The rooms were very clean, comfy and spacious and the décor lovely, the only MINOR fault and this was not unique to this hotel it was the same everywhere we stayed in Mexico but the air conditioners can be a little bit noisy. The beach club was so well set-up, I just wish we’d had more time to use it! Its a shame Hotel La Quinta de Sol is so far away from Australia but we would definitely go back if we were in Mexico again! Beth & Timothy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hola Beth and Tim, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here at La Quinta del Sol. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. And, yes, we also love our surf garage!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Punta de Mita and couldn't been happier with our stay at La Qunita del Sol! The rooms are spacious, the kitchenette and BBQ allowed us to make some of our own meals, the rooftop deck and beach were fun places to hang out as well. What makes La Qunita del Sol a great place to stay is the impeccable customer service provided by Rami and Larissa. They are very attentive to customer's needs, knowledgable about activities, dining, etc. They are really nice and add to the relaxed, friendly vibe that La Qunita del Sol has! We loved their dog Sasha too and hope to make another visit in the future!
Mark & Merry

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hola Mark and Merry, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. And we agree that the roof top deck and beach club are great places to hang out and socialize with other guests. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just returned from Hotel la Quinta del Sol and can't recommend it highly enough. The hotel is beautiful and just steps away from the ocean, but Rami and Larissa really make it an extraordinary place to stay. Just say the word and it's done! A case of beer (delivered to the room!), surfing lessons, massages, taco crawl, transportation to and from the airport and invaluable advice about nearby attractions. (If you are there on a Sunday do go to the market in nearby La Cruz, it's fantastic). The hotel was all booked up for one night in the middle of our stay and I had been stressing for weeks about not being able to find accommodations for that one night. Rami made a phone call and got us set up in a great place in Puerto Vallarta. It was great to see the city sights for a day, but it was even better to come back home....to hotel la Quinta del sol! We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We liked that you mentioned the option to stay a night or two in Vallarta or one of the other surrounding towns (such as Sayulita or Bucerias), if we are fully booked during part of your stay. It's a great opportunity to visit other towns in this beautiful area and we're more than happy to help the transition from our hotel to another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

While this was not our first trip to Mexico it was our first to Punta de Mita. La Quinta del Sol was a recommendation, one for which we are very grateful! To start our visit our host, Rami, met us at the airport, cold cervezas on hand. We were driven to a large and modern market where we stocked up on groceries and beverages then taken to the town. Rami took us on a tour of the town as we came to the hotel so we had some idea of the layout and where to dine. He then assisted with our luggage. The hotel just across the street from the beach. It is very clean with a beautiful pilapa with lovely views and a small private beach club with a shaded hammock and several beach chairs.The beach itself is wide at low tide, nice sand, not very crowded and without vendors. The ocean was very mellow with no undertows or rips, very clean water. The Hotel has boogie boards, surf boards and and paddle boards available. This was our best vacation yet to Mexico and we cannot wait to get back to the Hotel La Quinta del Sol. Delightful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hola Clifton, We were happy to be a part of your introduction to the wonderful town of Punta de Mita and it's great to hear that you had such a wonderful time. Thanks so much for sharing your experience! Hasta proxima vez!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just got back from our friends' wedding in Punta Mita and, with their recommendation, we stayed at Hotel La Quinta Del Sol. The entire experience was just what we were looking for and led to a perfect getaway. The seem to have thought of everything at this place - bottled water in the rooms, coffee maker, beach towels, a beach bag, all the kitchen items necessary and even tables for each unit on the deck so we could enjoy breakfast overlooking the ocean. They even had a phone we could use to touch base at home.
Rami and Larissa, the Managers, were incredibly welcoming and helpful, recommending restaurants and giving us the scoop on everything we needed. The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated and it's very quiet. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a moderately priced place in Punta Mita.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the compliments and hope to see you back at the hotel sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have only been home for an hour or two and I already feel the need to post my review of this wonderful piece of paradise! Hotel La Quinta Del Sol met all of my expectations and based on the reviews I read before coming, my expectations were high. My family of 4 including my 7 and 10 year old boys spent 6 nights at this hotel. Our perfect week was due to a combination of factors including the warm hospitality of Rami and Larissa, the well maintained, clean and comfortable hotel itself, the quaint and safe town of Punta de Mita, the beautiful beach just steps away, and all of the fun activities suggested and coordinated for us by Rami and Larissa. We were greeted at the airport by Larissa with cold beer for my husband and I and bottled water for my boys. Bienvenidos a Mexico! After making a stop at the Mega grocery store along the route, we arrived to the town of Punta de Mita. Larissa gave us a tour of the main landmarks in town including the location of a lady who makes fresh churros in town each night. Larissa must have known how much my kids love churros. During our stay, we went ziplining at Mi Chaparrita, spent an afternoon in Sayulita, took a family surf lesson with WildMex at the surf break right in front of the hotel, and took a boat trip out to Las Marietas islands for snorkeling, fishing and a swim through a cave to a hidden beach. We spent many hours on the beach boogie boarding and even took a stand up paddle board out for a spin. WildMex keeps a variety of surfboards, SUP's, and kayaks on the hotel property making it easy to experience it all without much effort. We were hesitant to book initially due to the lack of a pool, as we usually spend lots of time at the hotel pool, but there was plenty to keep us busy and not having a pool was in the end a non-issue for us. On our last night, Rami and Larissa hosted a Taco Crawl through town. Not only did we have a chance to taste some excellent local food, we enjoyed a fun night out with other guests of the hotel. The hotel seems to attract mellow, easy going, fun loving people. My 7 and 10 year old boys were welcomed immediately and although there was only 1 other family with children at the hotel during the week we were there, this was one of our best family vacations ever. Our last vacation was at an all inclusive 5 star resort in Turks and Caicos and we travel with the kids often. For so many reasons, the calm simplicity of this vacation set the tone for lots of quality family time without all the fuss that comes with larger resorts. The rooms do not have televisions, further encouraging family interaction. The hotel does provide free Wi-Fi so as much as I'd like to say we fully disconnected from all electronics, we did enjoy some down time streaming a movie or two on occasion. Rami and Larissa take great pride in their jobs and truly enjoy what they do and their love for the area makes their guests also fall in love with the place. Yadira, the housekeeper for the hotel, also takes great pride in keeping the rooms and property spotless. Other reviews have mentioned that the kitchen may not be sufficient for cooking full meals, but we made full meals for our family every day without a problem. We used the shared BBQ on the rooftop deck several times and enjoyed the views of the sunset as we ate. Look no further- book your stay and enjoy your time at La Quinta Del Sol. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarissaandRami, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Wow, what a fantastic review...thanks so much!! It was great that you mentioned all the excellent activities that are available when visiting Punta de Mita. One can choose to pack their vacation full of fun stuff or do absolutely nothing at all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Quinta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Quinta del Sol

Address: Calle Hidalgo 162, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Punta de Mita
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#4 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Quinta del Sol is a special slice of paradise in Punta de Mita - breathtaking ocean views, white sand beaches, tranquility. All of our seven rooms come with queen sized beds, fully-equipped kitchens, spaciou bathrooms, outdoor dining area, air conditioning, fast wifi and an incredible ocean view from the large terraces. Enjoy our roof-top terrace with palapas, hammocks, sitting areas and bbq, as well as our private beach club directly in front of the hotel with a shady palapa, sun chairs, umbrellas and hammocks and restaurant delivery throughout the day! Wireless Internet, housekeeping and purified water included. Walk to restaurants, surf shops; take boat trips to Las Marietas Islands, surf & fishing spots. Close to Sayulita, Bucerias, 40 min north of Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Quinta Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Quinta del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.