We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a spectacular place to unwind....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cinco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cinco to your Saves list
Hotel Cinco
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   #5 Avenida El Anclote, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico (Formerly The Hotel des Artistes del Mar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is a spectacular place to unwind....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Unless you are up to paying the steep prices at the Four Seasons or St Regis, this is the perfect place to rest your sunburned body after spending the day in the 90 degree ocean. Its a rather quiet spot 45 minutes away from Purto Vallarta. There are several beach bars and restarants right at your doorstep...the best of these is "The Blue Shrimp". Surfers will love this place as you are a short boat ride away from breaks at the Cove and La Lancha (or right in front of the hotel)...the lineup is empty and the wave is consistent. Ask for Fox! He will take right to the best breaks. Everything you need is as simple as asking Rodrigo or Hugo at the front desk. If they don't own the place, they care about your experience like they do. "The answer is "Si", what is the question?".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    23
    6
    5
    10
See reviews for
63
61
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel staff is very nice, and the location provides great views of the bay and surfers. If you are 20 to 50, you like to paddle board or surf, this is the place to stay. If you are someone who wants to visit the area, this is still a nice place to stay, but you might explore your options. The rooms are very large, a little tired in that they need updating such as bright colors in the paint and the cabinets, and there are some maintenance needs of a minor nature. It is perfectly located, just walk out the door to a dozen nearby restaurants, and it sits on the ocean. The local color is there in the local kids playing on the beach, the restaurant next door playing a telenovela during the day, and always something to watch in the surfing. It is very quiet at night, however. But is you pristine, new and shinny, stay at the Four Seasons or the St Regis. I would stay there again if I was paddle boarding, but be aware that ocean access is difficult due to rocks in the water. Again, a very nice place, very large living areas, just a little dated, but it makes up for its weaknesses in location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have been fortunate to travel to many places. We were impressed with every aspect of the experience that Hotel Cinco had to offer. The location is incredible. The staff is top-notch, Horacio and Rodrigo made sure our stay exceeded our expectations. They arranged an afternoon fishing trip & surf lessons with Oso Negro (who is the most incredible teacher!!). In addition, the restaurant attached - Cafe des Artistes - was a culinary delight equally complemented by the great service by Osmar, Alan & Benji. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Last time I was here was 17 years ago..Though the area has certainly changed, our family had a great time. Horacio ensured that all of our requests were taken care of, including room change and coordination for all of our surf activities. Every restaurant recommendation was spot on- great food!

Everyone had a great time- food, surf and sun... Great fish tacos and lots of margaritas:) Highly recommend this location and hotel for anyone looking for a great getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

always a great expiernce. we've stayed there several times.
the staff is amazing. so helpful, accomadating and friendly.
I highly recommend hotel cinco. great surfing and stand-up paddling out front
the weather is always sunny.
john mickelson

Room Tip: upper floor 302 or 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was staying here for a job doing a photoshoot for Outside Magazine and was photographing surfer Wingnut. The hotel is so well situated right on the break that I could have stayed in bed to shoot. Perfect location, beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, clean, great pools. This is the place to be if you are going to Punta Mita especially if you are a surfer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We just returned from our 3rd trip to Punta de Mita and Cinco. We travel frequently and Cinco is by far my favorite place to stay with our 4 active kids. Everything is right there, good surf, paddle boarding, running on the beach, biking, snorkeling and great restaurants. Horacio and his crew treat us like royalty, graciously organizing dinner reservations, boat trips, surf boards and keep track of our huge pile of gear. Our kids were thrilled with the new "Cinco" longboards, and we were happy to find that the restaurant in the hotel is less pricy and food is excellent. The best part is returning from a full day on the water to the beautiful units and enjoy the view of the ocean. This is a true vacation, and we will return soon! Thanks Horacio and Rodriquez!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cinco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cinco

Address: #5 Avenida El Anclote, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico (Formerly The Hotel des Artistes del Mar)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cinco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel CINCO (formerly Hotel des Artistes), located in Punta de Mita, is a new five star boutique luxury beachfront Hotel Condominium located in the heart of Punta de Mita, Mexico, about 45 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta. Hotel CINCO features luxury accommodations such as two and three bedroom units that range in sizes from approximately 1463 square feet to 2460 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cinco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cinco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.