We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza Matamoros

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza Matamoros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza Matamoros
9th and Bravo Street 1421, Matamoros 87300, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Matamoros
College Station, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I came to Matamoros for changing my visa status and lived in this hotel which was referred by a friend in my school. The hotel is excellent and we have been stayed here for 4 nights. The people, food and everything are all good. Especially, the Manager Mr. Salvador is very nice and very helpful for my visa. He picked us up when we had a problem for parking our car at Brownsville, and gave us a ride to hotel, Finger printer office, U.S. Consulate for many times. He also drove us to go shopping in the Mall. Overall, it is a excellent place to live if you want to apply for your visa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
1
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I went to Matamoros for my visa renew and lived in this hotel as I got referred by my friend. The hotel is a good place to live, everyone in the hotel is nice. Manager Mr. Salvador is very helpful for my visa. He picked me up when I arrived late at Brownsville, and gave me ride to hotel, Finger printer office, U.S. Consulate. And even took me to local restaurant and grocery. Overall, it is a good place to live if you want to apply for your visa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

On the big scale of things this hotel works and is managed better than the other ones in the area. The rooms are comfortable, the hallways are clean, and the staff is very attentive. Salvador and his staff are willing to help out with other aspects of your trip. Need info, where to get something, track down a city official they'll get you on your way.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I went to Matamoros last week with my wife and 10 months old daughter for my visa stamping. Initially i went to Best Western Suites & Inn hotel in Matamoros which is in Victoria, but they were sold out for one week and re-directed me to the Best Western in Down town matamoros. This hotel staff are very nice and manager Salvador is very nice person. The way he treat his customers is very nice. He gave ride to Finger print office and US Consulate. I forgot my laptop charger and asked his to give ride to nearest electronics shop. He took me to Office Depot/Radio Shock in the mall and some places around the town. He is very nice person, i recommened people to stay in this hotel for the great servive they are providing.

Thank you Salvador sir for all your help and hospitality!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I went to Mexico for visa, and lived in this hotel as we got referral by internet forum. Everything is great just as what the forum say. Hotel is a great place to live, and Manager Salvador is very helpful for our visa. He gave us ride to Consulate, Finger Printer Office, also gave us ride for shopping market, and simple tour of the city. Finally he drove us for picking up visa, and sent us to US border. Finally, we got home safely. This is a very great tour to Mexico, also a great stop-by for renewing visa. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I went to Mexico for renewing visa, we got referral for this hotel from mitbbs forum about Mexico Visa. The hotel service is very good. The manager Mr. Salvador is very nice. He gave us ride to US consulate, finger printer office, pickup of visa, and finally to US border. Also, he drove us to super market, and even for a simple tour of the city. With his help, we smoothly got our visa, and safely got back to US. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was referred by a friend to this hotel, and everything is true! It's a great hotel with great service. The manager Salvador is extremely helpful for my trip, he took me to places around the town at the times I needed to! what more can you ask for?! Another important thing, if you stay on the 4th floor, you get decent signal from AT&T LTE! Yes, you can enjoy LTE speed without roaming at your hotel room! now that's priceless! at least for me :)

Room Tip: 4th floor room for ATT LTE signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza Matamoros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza Matamoros

Address: 9th and Bravo Street 1421, Matamoros 87300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Tamaulipas > Matamoros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Matamoros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza Matamoros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Matamoros
Matamoros Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza Matamoros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.