We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“good value in Ciudad Obregon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon to your Saves list
Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miguel Aleman y Tetabiate, Ciudad Obregon 85000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Valle Grande Obregon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ciudad Obregon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good value in Ciudad Obregon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

After 12+ hours driving Hwy MEX16 from Ciudad Chihuahua into Obregon via ST Hwy 17, stumbling upon HOTEL VALLE GRANDE was, indeed, a great surprise. The staff was friendly and professional. The hotel offers up free internet, private secure parking, cable TV, ice, & security. The room is clean, the bed comfortable, and the water hot. Rates are very reasonable. Also, if hungry for a good steak for a fair price, next door is the locally owned/family operated MR STEAK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Gerente at Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that we are covering our guest needs and this is great to read this review showing us that our work is on the right way. I can say that our staff is our most valued treasure, more than 45 years giving service to thousands of guests and visitors is our best service certificate and most when we read comments like this.

Thank you and Happy New Year 2013.

Gabriel Sanelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
7
2
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Unfortunately I was quite let down by the Valle Grande. The Internet did now work properly (very frustrating), there was no hot water (lukewarm), the safe box did not work, the carpet and bed spread felt dirty, the key kept getting desensitized, and the back building shakes very violently when trucks go by. It has the structure of a Motel, so really it is nothing special.

The breakfast was excellent, though. But I was coming from a hotel like the One Forum in Culiacan where breakfast is included and the fare is barely above $800 pesos. So, $900 pesos plus $150 for breakfast seemed very expensive for what the Valle Grande had to offer. I selected it due to its high recommendations here in TripAdvisor, but honestly, I was very disappointed.

The location is OK as there is a convenient store (Oxxo) across the street and a couple of restaurants nearby where you can walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Gerente at Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your comments are very important to us, perhaps we did not cover your expectations our goal is to make every guest enjoy your stay and our service when choosing us. Our First Place in Tripadvisor has been very hard to reach and maintain for the last 6 months, we believe we are in the right direction but we also know that we do have some other points to fix to get the 100% guest satisfaction.

We were working to change the internet antenna during 2 days in order to increase our band width, for this reason we have some interruptions in the service for some hours. But know our guests are enjoying of a very good connection after this work.

Your review will be revised in our next Executive Meeting and be sure we will take care of them properly.

Regarding our prices, we are on the market average in fact we may be below other offers in the area. USD 69.00 per night and USD 11.00 per complete buffet breakfast is a very good option in Ciudad Obregon.

Thank you again for your comments and we really hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future to change your last experience.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2013 !

Gabriel Sanelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I drive through obregon about twice a year and I've been staying at this hotel for the past three I have no complaints the staff is accommodating and helpful this hotel has a great location right off main interstate there is a homedepot, walmart and 24hr resturant about ablock away and for price in my opinion you can't beat it! Oh and I think I Fell in love with one the staff girls

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Gerente at Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference ! we continue working to keep our FIRST PLACE in Tripadvisor!
Our location is just one of our other many advantages (Banks, convenient stores, gas station, shopping center, movies, casinos, restaurants, golf court, bowling alley, museums, etc) but our great and unique advantage is our complete staff, always willing to serve.

I am definitely agree with you ! we have the most beautiful guest services agents in the front desk !

Best regards, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2013 !

Gabriel Sanelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I am writing to say how much I like staying at the Valle Grande Hotel. I have stayed there many years now and like the place a great deal. The rooms are comfortable and always clean. The maids are always friendly and helpful. Whenever I have had a problem the maint. people were always fast and fixed any problem quickly. Security there is great. The landscappers do a great job. The people at the front desk seem to be well trained and always polite and helpful and most understand my poor Spanish or speak English. Marbella Zazueta has always been very helpful and seems to have a great deal of respect from her fellow employees. And I think if I ever had a problem in Obregon she would give me some good advice.

I stay at the Valle Grande 2 to 3 times a year and hope to be there again later this year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Gerente at Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guest :

Thank you very much for your comments we are happy to know that we are on the right direction to deliver good service to all our guests wherever they come from.

This is a real pleasure to welcome you back as many times as you decide to stay with us your home in Ciudad Obregon, Sonora.

Yours sincerely,


Gabriel Sanelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Gross. Just dirty and nasty, plus doors open directly to the street, so pretty much anybody could be roaming around outside your door. I had the misfortune of staying there twice and will never do so again (and if I had my way, I’d have fired the person who booked my room there the second time). Breakfast, surprisingly, was not bad!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel S, Gerente at Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest:

I think that never is too late for a good feedback.

Please allow me introduce myself as the new Hotel General Manager and thank you for making me aware of your experience at our hotel in the past. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.

Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. As our valued guest, you are best qualified to let us know how we are doing and how can better meet your needs. Your comments are great value to the success of our organization.

We would like the opportunity to show you how much we care about our guests.

Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated. I trust the action taken on your behalf will bring a sense of resolution and satisfaction concerning this matter. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs and I am sure you will see the changes.

Sincerely,

Gabriel Sanelli
General Manager
Hotel Valle Grande Obregon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

I stayed for two nights at this great local hotel in Cd. Obregon. Grounds are shady and meticulously maintained, and there's even a manned security gate at the entrance to the parking. Rooms to the two-story buildings are entered through shady tiled outdoor corridors. They are averagely-sized and clean with typical motel-quality furniture, beds and bedding. Very clean room and bathroom. Bathroom is small with a shower stall only -- no tub. Hairdryer, iron, coffee maker, cable TV, telephone -- everything in great working condition.

If you are used to US hotels, this is very comparable to a typical newer US chain hotel of 2 1/2 or 3 stars. Location is convenient; along the main drag as you enter into the city and close to familiar stores and restaurants. Also if you are used to US hotels, you'll be surprised at the numerous and courteous staff that seem to be available whenever you need them here.

Obregon is not a city for tourists, so there are not a lot of hotel options here. If you do find reason to visit Obregon, however, this is a nice place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon

Address: Miguel Aleman y Tetabiate, Ciudad Obregon 85000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Valle Grande Obregon)
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Ciudad Obregon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ciudad Obregon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamma is a new hotel concept backed by Fiesta Inn. The hotels offer modern design, warm and friendly service and everything you need for a unique and enjoyable stay wherever you travel. The Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon will help you create unforgettable moments in your next visit to this beautiful city. The hotel is located in Ciudad Obregon, one of the busiest and most prosperous cities in the state of Sonora. Its convenient location in the city's Hotel Zone, on one of the main thoroughfares, puts it at the doorstep to the main industrial and commercial areas and is only 12 miles to the airport. It offers 135 comfortable guest rooms, a restaurant, bar and fully equipped meeting and event rooms. Please note that the check-in time is 3pm and the check-out time is 1pm. For your convenience, we recommend express check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamma By Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gamma by Fiesta Inn Ciudad Obregon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.