We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center
Save
You added El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center to your Saves list
Calle Privada s/n | Barrio El Chalaton, Alamos 85760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Alamos B&B and Inns
Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A belated review. We stayed there in July and think it's the best B&B ever! We agree with all the great reviews it has had and the best thing (aside from the food, luxury accommodations, closeness to nature, distance from town) is the hospitality of the owners. They will help you achieve your dream vacation in any way they can. This is perfect for honeymooners, retired people and everyone in-between! The town within walking distance is one of the cutest Spanish colonial towns in Mexico and, from everything I was able to find out, is MUCH safer than some of the others. About a 9 hour drive from the border of Arizona.

Room Tip: All the cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmack, Owner at El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
in keeping with your belated review, we are posting a belated reply! thanks for the visit. we thoroughly enjoyed having you all here and hope we cross paths again in the future! come again when it's not so hot! saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Visiting the wonderful, historic and atmospheric city of Alamos off season has its distinct charms. The room rates are mostly cheaper, the tourists are almost all Mexicans and the street life is vibrant and colorful. El Pedregal is the reason that many of us prefer to stay at B and B's: terrific ambiance, gorgeous and unique setting, gracious and interesting hosts, and very good food. If you can handle the heat and humidity, it makes a great summer visit. During the winter I am sure it is glorious. For birders, it has to be one of the best experiences ever, anytime of year.

Room Tip: Each casita is wonderful. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmack, Owner at El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
saludos from alamos and thanks for your kind words! come back and visit us again when the weather is perfect....like right now! really, any time is nice here, but it's great to experience alamos at different times of year! hope we see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at El Pedregal four times now, mostly as a base from which to explore the wonderful birdwatching scene. First of all, the rooms are immaculate and tasteful...It's exactly the way my mom would like to redo her house if she had the chance. Each unit has privacy, like its own little house. The beds are amazing, and they have probably the most comfortable pillows I've ever slept on. No joke. The bathroom/shower is also extremely clean and comfortable. They supply your room with a pitcher of fresh, clean purified drinking water every day, which is a nice touch.
Next, the grounds. The grounds of El Pedregal are fun to explore, and there's a "palapa," like a big shady gazebo area, where you can sit down and enjoy the outdoors while staying cool in the shade, maybe enjoying a beer or some nachos from the kitchen. The bird feeders there put on a great show, even if you're not a birder...The hummingbirds alone will keep you spellbound.
Third, the food. The meals that you will enjoy at El Pedregal are fresh, homemade, healthy, absolutely perfect. They provide a variety of options, but you can always enjoy a wealth of fresh fruit and an eclectic mix of both Mexican and American styles. Even the desserts I sampled were to die for.
Finally, the hosts. Dave and Jenn are the most welcoming and helpful hosts. Both are American but also speak fluent Spanish. There is no limit to the variety of activities they can set you up with in the area. They know Alamos and Mexico in general like no one else. And if you're into the nature scene, look no further. Dave is an expert on everything natural, and is also open to customizing special birding outings for you and your friends if you desire.
This review would not be complete without mentioning the biggest treasure to be found at El Pedregal: the three dogs. Rosco and Mina will become your two closest friends, and you won't want to leave them behind when you leave. I think they're the real puppet masters behind El Pedregal. And now I read they have added a new puppy, as well.
I should also mention as a side note, if you have any reservations about visiting Mexico because of stuff you hear in the news, have no worries about visiting Alamos. It's so far removed from any problem areas...While walking around the town, I felt like I may as well have been in Concord, Massachusetts. Once you get there, you'll wonder what anyone was ever worried about in the first place.
In summary, El Pedregal isn't just a great place to stay if you happen to be in Alamos. It will become a destination you'll want to return to again and again for a fun, comfortable, and most of all, relaxing time. The value you get for your money won't be beat anywhere else, period.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I cannot say enough about what a beautiful and friendly town Alamos is nor what a beautiful and friendly place El Pedregal is. Our immaculately clean casita was nestled in an awesome grove of pungent trees. We fell asleep to silence and awakened to a great variety of birds. It amazed us when it took only 10 minutes to walk to the cathedral and town square! It seemed we'd been in the miles from civilization. Jennifer and her staff are kind, knowledgable and always pleasant. And breakfast is absolutely amazing! We could not have asked for a better place to stay. We've been twice now and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned when looking on the map at the distance from downtown. Alamos is VERY small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Alamos is a charming, inviting, clean town with much to recommend it; El Pedregal raises the bar further. It has both natural and built beauty: the many trails afford town views and bird sightings, the landscaping is gorgeous, and the "casitas" are unbelievably lovely and relaxing. Jennifer and David are exceptional hosts, and it seems impossible to be stressed while staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent three nights at El Pedregal in March 2012 and adored it. David and Jennifer welcomed us warmly and were the consummate hosts. David leads birding trips all over the world, so we paid him to take us on a morning birding trip at a nearby creek where we saw an amazing array of tropical birds. El Pedregal has lots of nature trails and a wonderful ramada with tables and chairs where guests can watch birds at feeders/baths.

Our casita was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated with Mexican folk art. The bed was comfy and made up with top-notch bed linens. Purified water was supplied daily. Among her many amazing talents, Jennifer is a professional chef. So breakfasts were bountiful and healthy: fresh baked muffins, yogurt and fruit, sturdy coffee, and an egg dish.

El Pedregal is an easy and pleasant walk to the center of Alamos. We didn't drive our car the entire time we were there.

El Pedregal was definitely our favorite part of the visit to Alamos!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have visited Alamos several times and will return for sure in the future. We will not return with out staying with Jennifer and David. They are simply the best. Accommodations are very clean and well kept, food is excellent but the best is the wonderful friendship of Jennifer and David. This is a must experience for anyone who travels to this area. They are reason enough to travel to this area!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center

Address: Calle Privada s/n | Barrio El Chalaton, Alamos 85760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Alamos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pedregal Nature Lodge is set on twenty acres at the edge of Alamos. Our five individual casita guest rooms are beautifully appointed,, very comfortable, private and peaceful. The central lodge provides delicious meals (by arrangement), a library, wi-fi and great hospitality. An open air palapa, fire pit, 2 miles of walking trails and yoga classes also available for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pedregal Nature Lodge And Retreat Center Alamos, Mexico - Sonora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pedregal Nature Lodge and Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.