We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the view is amazing and the staff super friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Santuario Hotel And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Santuario Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
Carretera Colorines KM 4.5, Valle de Bravo 51200, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Valle de Bravo
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the view is amazing and the staff super friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

The place is excellent. When we arrive at the hotel we ask for a pair of sun beds, and they took them to our suite. That shows that they are satisfying all of their guest. It´s the second time I visit this lovely place and I recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    17
    11
    14
    26
See reviews for
37
72
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

When you see the photos of this hotel and you arrive you will see the surrounding area, its absolutely beautiful. However, the Service was terrible especially in the restaurant. When we arrived in the room it was dirty. The key would not fit in the door, so it took us about 15 minutes to try and get in. The sauna inside the room was full of green water with oil floating on the top. Mosquitos were swimming on the top of the Sauna trying to get out. None of the windows would close properly and so the Mosquitos visited us. When they came in to light the fire they used Gasoline or Diesel to get the firewood started, which the smell lingered in the room for hours afterwards. Anyway dont waste your money,,,,,We complained in the morning to the staff and the manager was too busy to see us. Dont waste your time, read the rest of these reports. They are all true.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santuario2, General Manager at El Santuario Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Dear Sir,
I am very sorry to read about your unfortunate stay at our hotel. I had some research done of your stay and I want to inform you that a couple of days prioror to your arrival we had a malfunction of filtersystem of the private swimmingpool sistem in these rooms.This is not an excuse scince the pool had to perfectly kleen by your arrival. In regards of the service at the restaurant, we are implementing a very strict training program for all our staff, so they can exceed all our service standarts we placed as a policy. We are investing in the order of millions for us to keep our facilities in the best shape for all our guests to enjoy a real relaxing experience.
I can ashure you that I wasn´t informed of your need to talk to me, since my guests are the most important persons for me; and I certainly would have had the pleasure to attend you in person.
I kindly ask you to contact me in order to offer you the possibility to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you as you deserve.
My most kind regards,
Dieter Jakobsmeier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

this is not a 5 star hotel, service is the worst, not clean, please dont spend you money in this property...

Room Tip: no best rooms, all of them are horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santuario2, General Manager at El Santuario Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Dear Sir,
I am very sorry to read your review of our hotel. I want to share with you that we are working on a strict training program for all our staff member, This with the intent to garantee our service standarts which we recently established with my new administration. I can also inform you that we have made some serious investments in our equipment and fittings for all our guests to enjoy.
All our suites have a private swimmingpool, designer furniture and a unique architectual design. Contact with Mother Nature is our philosophy. I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again and I garrantie your experience will be a memorable one.
Sincerely yours,
Dieter Jakobsmeier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This place is a joke! Apart from the views, which I have to admit are spectacular, it has to be the most overpriced hotel I have ever visited, with the food in the restaurant being of very poor quality. It seems to me that the owners are trying to run a business on as little as possible and are reluctant to invest any funds bringing it up to the standard as advertised. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santuario2, General Manager at El Santuario Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Dear Sir,
I would like to inform you that we recently changed administration and with this several heads of department. We have a new Chef in the Restaurant as well as manager. In the past three months we have invested a large amount of money in the facilities and equipment, as well as, training programs for all our staff levels. I sincerely hope you give me and my staff the opportunity the serve you again and I am convinced that your experience will be a wounderful one.
I send you my best regards,
Dieter Jakobsmeier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
momortiz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Our friend and us stayed for 2days 2 nites with the intentions on staying for one more nite. the treatment was horrible. the staff was not cooperable. the valet service was aweful. they were suppose to be watching your vehicle but in turn our truck came out with a big dent. there spa did not keep there word. we had 4 rooms total. because of the treatment we received we decided to go back home instead of spending more money on a hotel that gives bad treatment to there customer. the restaurant was not worth the money you spend. would i recommend this hotel . MY ANSWER IS NOOOOO

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Great view, very nice bedsheets. Staff was fine, courteous and helpful. That's about it. Stayed in one of the two Master Suites. Very expensive. Why would you have a master suite next to an equipment room, with a noisy pump or transformer coming on every half hour, even if it's just for a couple of minutes (especially during the night). Very uncomfortable room. Not a decent place to sit with appropriate lighting to relax and do some reading. Furniture is pathetic, old, looking unclean, very uncomfortable. Website shows plasma TV on wall in master suite. The old model TV in room was as bad as the reception. Muggy feel to room because of in-room pool (no AC of course). Improves at night when they shut off the system. Very noisy, poor sound insulation all around.
Booked a two-night package. Left after first night and returned to Mexico City. Grossly overpriced. Would never go back.

  • Liked — Beautiful view
  • Disliked — Quality and comfort
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

The surroundings were stunning, quick, efficient, polite, doting service. We were there for a business retreat and put into the wrong room. The first room we had did not have an heated indoor pool. The second one did. The food, for the most part was good. We did not use any of the other services, so we can't comment. The rooms all have a view, but seem overpriced. The pillows were divine as well as the sheets! High quality here. Overall, a wonderful stay. Word of caution... if you aren't active, don't go as it has a lot of stairs to climb. It is a place to relax and enjoy life, but is not for those who don't move about too well.

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings and service
  • Disliked — lots of stairs and I'm in shape! No elevator, bellhop is necessary if you want to feel as though you are on holiday
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Santuario Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Santuario Hotel And Spa

Address: Carretera Colorines KM 4.5, Valle de Bravo 51200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Valle de Bravo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Valle de Bravo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valle de Bravo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Santuario Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Santuario Hotel And Valle De Bravo
Hotel El Santuario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Santuario Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.