We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little boutique style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa de Las Palomas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tonala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa de Las Palomas
Save
You added Hotel Casa de Las Palomas to your Saves list
Anesagasti 125 esquina 5 de Mayo, Tonala 45400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Tonala B&B and Inns
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely little boutique style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The reception at the hotel was warm and friendly. Our room with the king size bed was spacious and very comfortable. Although there was no Wi Fi in the rooms there was a computer at the front that you could use. Location to shopping was very good and my husband loved the indoor parking. All the stores were happy to deliver our large purchases there.
We especially loved sitting on the beautiful roof top terrace and enjoying a glass of wine

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This low rate hotel has first floor enclosed covered parking. Rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors. They have AC and fans, are clean and well equipped. While they have internet access through a lobby computer, they do not have wifi. And there are cable tVs in every room. It is very close to the famous Tonala, Mexico craft shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is our second stay at Las Palomas and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. It is a lovely hotel. Very clean and within blocks of the main shopping area. Our king size bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom is updated and great. The hotel is pet friendly and willing to accommodate our well-behaved dog. There is secure garage parking included in the room price. The staff is exceptionally friendly and extremely helpful. The lovely lady behind the desk introduced to the best pizza Restaraunt in Mexico - Cinquecento. We look forward to going bak in a few months and staying at Las Palomas again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

If you are going shopping in Tonala this is a great place to stay. It is not fancy, however it is unusually clean, plenty of space in the room, it has AC and a friendly staff. It is located just a few blocks from the center of town and easy walking to all the markets. It also has indoor parking. I was very pleased and would stay there again should I need to spend the night in town.

Room Tip: There are smoking and non-smoking sessions. If you have a lot of bags you might want the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This hotel is in the heart of Tonala, 3 blocks from the famous "Tianguis" or Artisans Fair.
The hotel rooms are spacious and the roof top terrace amazing.
Hotel staff is friendly and helpful....I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pátzcuaro, Michoacán
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We decided to stay at La Casa de Las Palomas after reading TripAdvisor reviews and after looking over the hotel's own website.
http://www.casadelaspalomas.com/

We were very impressed by the friendly reception as well as the simple but attractive layout and rooms. Our room, #209, was very large for the price of $440 pesos. The bed was a firm but comfortable king sized, there was a small writing desk, a basic place to hang clothing, and an efficient and clean bathroom. The bedroom has a ceiling fan, useful for cooling off.

If there were any deficiencies, it was the lighting. There was enough to see by but no ceiling lamp,if I recall correctly.

Our bathroom sink was in the room, in the European fashion.

There was a modern shower in a stall with a sliding door.
The hot water in the shower arrived quickly and there seemed to be plenty of it.

The hotel rooms are arranged around a roofed atrium, and there's a dance floor on the primer piso, what we'd call the second floor.

On our return, we stayed in a corner room, I believe it was # 106, which had a bit more privacy, although the bedroom had a glassed double door, with gauzy curtains, leading to an airshaft. When the doors were opened, some noise was conducted down the shaft.

Although the bathroom was marginally bigger, the writing desk was situated in the arc of the door opening. One had to be careful if seated at the desk if one's partner was coming in or going out.

The top floor is dedicated to a terrace, equipped for special events and parties. There's a small, roped off area for smokers, of which I was not able to take advantage, due to a severe storm.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

I'm not a big fan of Tonalá, but we would stay at La Casa de Las Palomas if flying out or coming back from the Guadalajara airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This hotel is five star at a two star price. Clean rooms and public area, safe parking, and pleasant staff. We have been staying her every year for the past seven years coming in and going back home to Ontario. Every year there are changes to make it better and they are doing a splended job. Would recommend at any time.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa de Las Palomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Las Palomas

Address: Anesagasti 125 esquina 5 de Mayo, Tonala 45400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tonala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tonala
Number of rooms: 22

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa de Las Palomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.