We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant may have the most gorgeous ambiance of any room in the world.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Vista Hermosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Vista Hermosa to your Saves list
Hacienda Vista Hermosa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alpuyeca, Tequesquitengo 62680, Tequesquitengo 62680, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tequesquitengo
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant may have the most gorgeous ambiance of any room in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've wanted to visit Hacienda Vista Hermosa for many years. I wish I hadn't waited so long. It was spectacular in every way. We visited on a rainy weekday and there were few patrons in the huge ancient space. We were gobstopped walking into the room with the voice of Sarah Brightman at just the right level. One could almost imagine her in long flowing white robes walking from behind one of the pillars. We were guided around the entire Hacienda by Diego one of the doormen. The guest rooms and common rooms were incredible but sadly we weren't there to stay -- only to eat.
And eat we did -- an amazing meal at a very reasonable price. I will go back. Again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    13
    9
    14
See reviews for
33
26
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this beautiful hotel various times. The service is good, the food as well, but the place is AMAZING! Beautiful gardens, beautiful pool, and beautiful decorations. The only thing bad about this hotel are the rooms. There are no TVs on them and they are old.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hacienda itself and its gardens are really nice and make me comeback every now and then Nice pools and walking on the premisses. Although the rooms could need some updating for the price they are asking for a night. I noticed that some remodelling was going on but during my last visit I stayed in one of the newer rooms. My 'junior suite' was pretty small but nicely decorated. There was airco in the room since the windows couldnt be opened. The standard rooms are bigger than the junior suites but older and darker as far as I can remember. The food was kind of dissapointing: below average and therefore overpriced. Breakfast buffet was OK but at a staggering 25 USD. And something else: be sure to ask if there is a wedding going on during your stay since the place maybe croweded when they have events. They will have some events almost every weekend. I was lucky last time and it was an oasis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I fell in love with this hacienda as soon as I arrived.

To start with the positives, my room was wonderful with good quality toiletries provided (although oddly no shower gel, just a soap - although I guess that's better than nothing). The pool was amazing, a great atmosphere, clean and a good towel and drinks service.

BUT

The restaurant is very over priced for what you get. The lemon/lime tart was awful - frozen solid and totally flavourless. When we complained the waiter said they'd had that complaint before. So why is it still on the menu? At breakfast we were only offered the overpriced buffet. They'll only give you a menu for much cheaper options if you ask and then they look at you as if you're asking for the moon.

And to top it all off they charged us wrongly. They took a deposit off the card, and said they'd credited when we left. It turned out they hadn't so we were charged twice. When we rang they said their accounts person wasn't in so it couldn't be dealt with that day. A week later, the account still hadn't been credited. Very very poor service.

So what could have been a marvellous trip was totally spoiled.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hacienda is very beautiful. I think people either love or dislike the place, but for me as someone who is thrilled by old things, this is THE PLACE.
Staying in this hotel is a historical experience as one can get to know different aspects of hacienda life. The rooms are lovely, decorated in a beautiful simplistic manner. Food is good. Prices reasonable, possibly a bit high for Mexico, but by no means bad.
There is a possibility to ride in the hacienda. I did. Wonderful horses, well-looked after and well-behaving whilst riding. Mexican riding resembles western style riding (something worth while knowing for those used in european classical riding, so remember to be smooth on the mouth whilst riding the hacienda's horses). There are NO helmets/hard hats available for riders, so if you require one and intend to ride, be equipped.
I recommend this place, gladly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Last weekend I stayed again at the hacienda vista hermosa. This restored former sugar cane hacienda is situated in the state of Morelos, about 2 hrs from Mexico city. Therefor it fills up in the weekend for weddings and some people just escaping the city. If you go in a weekend, be warned that 99% sure there will be a wedding going on in the night. It is really a beautiful place with its old buildings and gardens. The rooms are (too) price for what they offer (almost 1900 MXN): basic rooms with some lack of maintenance, no TV, wifi or whatsoever. Fine with me, I do not miss it. But hey, you are in a real old hacienda, so you basically pay for the location. You can stay for less in other haciendas in the area (Cocoyoc, San Antonio Puente). The food is also far too expensive and of an very average quality. Breakfast buffet costs even more than a buffet in the Marriott in Mexico city (280 MXN). Lunch buffet comes at 350 MXN for 2 person together and is OK, For the rest the hotel offers 2 pools, a tennis court, a game room and a mini golf course.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Now this is a bit different to the usual hotel, each and every bedroom is different, mine was a reasonable size, olde worlde, with a forboding picture on the wall above my bed!!, the shower was one side of a dividing wall and the loo the other. One person in our group reckoned she felt the vibes - it is very spiritual. Another person in the group had her own private swimming pool and sun loungers . The restaurant is terrific with trees growing through it, breakfast was very good. sadly only spent one night here.

Room Tip: All rooms are different
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Vista Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Vista Hermosa

Address: Alpuyeca, Tequesquitengo 62680, Tequesquitengo 62680, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Tequesquitengo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tequesquitengo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Vista Hermosa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Vista Hermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Vista Hermosa Hotel Tequesquitengo
Hacienda Vista Hermosa Tequesquitengo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Vista Hermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.