We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay while visiting Teo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan to your Saves list
Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Periferico Sur s/n Zona Arqueologica, San Juan Teotihuacan 55800, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay while visiting Teo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Fast service and very friendly staff with good food at the restaurant! A easy walk to gate #1 to see the pyramids. Nice grounds and surroundings and reasonably priced too. Would defiantly stay their again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    52
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
41
58
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a nice hotel with most of the amenities you would like, except there is no Wifi in the rooms (available in the lobby and restaurant though) and it gets really cold in the winter (we were there at the beginning of December): there are heaters in the rooms, but the lobby and restaurant did not seem heated.
My main complaint is that it looks close to the Zona Arqueologica, but it really is not. The hotel borders the southern edge of the Zona Arqueologica, but there is no entrance there... The closest entrance seemed to be about a mile away. If you have a car (or a guide with a car), it's not a problem, but if you expect to walk it, it's an extra 2 mile round trip on top of a day where you have to hike at least 3 miles each way to the north end of the complex (pyramid of the Moon), plus the side trips... All in all an extra 2 miles on top of already about 10. And all that at almost 8000' elevation...
In summary, it's a very nice hotel, very convenient to the pyramids, but make sure you have transportation while there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Villas Teotihuacan last weekend, we enjoy everything in this place, the location is excellent, so close to the pyramids.
The staff is very pleasant and made sure we had everything we wanted. They were always accessible, but never hovering.
I truly relaxed with the services they offer, it's perfect for lounging, a little swimming, a lot of eating, and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is a two storey hacienda type relaxing hotel which has a nice pool and friendly atmosphere. It is situation about one mile from one of the enterances to the Pyramids and about one hour taxi drive from Mexico City Airport costing about 600 Pesos. I was surprised that there were no maps or information about the Pyramids at the hotel and no transportation to them. I walked the mile and then entered and found it necessary to walk many more miles. A very interesting place but I feel the hotel could have had more information and perhaps a shuttle service. The room was nicely decorated in Mexican style and had a small double bed and a single in alcoves. There was no free coffee or tea in the room and the TV did not work. Calls to reception were met with wait a bit but nothing happened. Perhaps due to limited English by the staff on duty. There is a walk in shower and a safe in the room which is always good. The food was good.

Room Tip: Ground floor around the pool is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had stayed at the sister hotel at Chizen Itza, this hotel is very similar. My room had a single bed and a double bed. The staff are pleasant. The hotel is very clean. If you catch the bus from Mexico City, they drop you about a 5 to10 minute walk from the hotel, there are taxis at the bus stop to make it more easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at this lovely, quiet hotel just a short walk from the grounds of Teotihuacan. The hotel was meticulously clean, attractive, and the staff were warm and welcoming. There aren't any fancy amenities (for instance they provided shampoo but not conditioner), but we really didn't need much. We were here to see the pyramids, and the location was perfect. I didn't speak any Spanish, and my husband only knew a little. Very few of the hotel staff spoke English, but it didn't matter. We made ourselves understood, and they were always polite and accommodating. The meals in the restaurant were delicious and very inexpensive. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It's not as nice as some of the other archeological hotels in Mexico (like the Mayaland in Chichen Itza...I commented to my husband on the phone that "this place wanted to be the Mayaland when it grew up") but overall still quite nice.
Lovely rooms, walkways, gardens and fountains....a short taxi ride to the site..don't believe the desk worker who may tell ya you can walk there...you can but it is a long boring walk along a road, and then you are at the 'wrong' entrance that is another LONG LONG LONG hard hard hard walk (up the ave of the dead -aptly named- )to the main pyramids part of the city.
Take the taxi to the other gate, near the pyramid of the sun, and Pyramid of the moon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan

Address: Periferico Sur s/n Zona Arqueologica, San Juan Teotihuacan 55800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > San Juan Teotihuacan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Juan Teotihuacan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan stands at the end of the Calzada de los Muertos (Avenue of the Dead), an ancient road at the center of Teotihuacan's archaeological site, one of the most important and beautiful in the world. Over the same roadway stands the magnificent Piramide del Sol (Pyramid of the Sun), arguably Mexico's most recognized landmark. Teotihuacan is located 26 miles northeast of Mexico City along the Mexico-Piramides highway, an excellent toll road built specifically to provide direct access to Teotihuacan from the city. The typical drive time is approximately one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan Hotel San Juan Teotihuacan
Hotel Arqueologicas Teotihuacan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.