We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Extraordinary value -- a wonderful place to rest and use as base for seeing Michoacan.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Refugio en Patzcuaro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patzcuaro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Refugio en Patzcuaro
11 Serrato Street, Patzcuaro, Mexico   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Patzcuaro B&B and Inns
Patzcuaro, Mexico
1 review
“Extraordinary value -- a wonderful place to rest and use as base for seeing Michoacan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a superbly conceived and executed -- and well-named -- refuge. Beautifully decorated with outstanding Mexican arts and crafts. Perfectly clean. Wonderful service. Martin Ortegon makes the place work perfectly, and went out of his way to see to our comfort and suggest helpful tips for getting the most out of Patzcuaro and Michoacan. My only hesitation in recommending this place is that I fear that if it's too widely known I won't find a place here next time. Ask Martin for information on how to contact GloboAventura for a great hot air balloon ride over the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aqha_123
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

The house is filled with lovely folkart and furniture pieces. Serves yummy mexican breakfasts. Staff is wonderful. Wireless Internet. Beautiful mexican colonial architecture and courtyard. Peaceful, but close to everything. Definately a gem!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Perfect location, great staff, wonderful breakfasts.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We loved every minute at El Refugio, (not to be confused with hotel casa El Refugio). This doesn´t look like a hotel, but more like my grandma´s house, cozy, lovely, great service, great food and advice from Lety (in the kitchen) and Deborah (the manager), great location, very nice mexican decoration. Can´t wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Once I adjusted my expectations, I appreciated this B & B and the value of my room very much. We stayed in the least expensive room and it was more comfortable and well-appointed (bed, pillows, shower pressure, cleanliness, etc.) than most hotels or private residences I have stayed at in Mexico, and certainly in this price range. The adjustment I needed to make was that I have stayed at many B&B's in the States and abroad, and have usually found the most pleasure in ones where the hospitality is a highlight and there is the sense of being in a community of travelers--and that tone is often set by a host/owner who really enjoys their vocation. The contact here is not the owner and it shows up in the way the place is run. We were not greeted or met by the manager, and the cook- Lety (these days may have been a bad patch for her?) seemed in a terrible hurry to leave both when we were met and during the first breakfast, and then was not seen again until the next a.m. The only small requests made of her were forgotten, not fulfilled, and she seemed to want to be some place else. That said, the place was immaculate and as or better looking than the website photos. The beds have heated/electric mattress pads and the rare nice and hot shower with good pressure, and though I don't care for tv when i travel, there was a nice one in the room with some cable channels. I appreciated the opportunity to use the fridge in the kitchen for cold drinks and to have access to purifed water to refill my water bottle. (small criticism for owner: do get floor rugs next to the bed :-) no sense having a hot shower and a warm bed only to travel on v. cold tile throughout the room.)

For the independent travel, think of it is as a very nice small hotel with breakfast included; for the person looking for a hosted and personal mini-home stay with accessible hosts, you may wish to look elsewhere. For the price of approx. $65, I thought it was great once I understood the unstated 'ground rule' of being on our own in the space.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Truly a unique property! An authentic, small B&B in a beautiful setting on a quiet street, just blocks from the action. Private, charming guest rooms face a traditional Mexican courtyard. Each morning we'd awake to a delicious hot breakfast complete with coffee, fresh fruit, pastries, and eggs set in a traditional dining room. Don't miss the opportunity to book in-room massages - An incredible 'holistic' 1 1/2 trip to relaxation at a fraction of US prices. Deborah, the manager, is an extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic source of all things Patzcuaro.

  • Liked — Location, ambience
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We spent last weekend at El Refugio en Patzcuaro.
Letty is a dear lady and great cook.
Previously stayed at Mansion Iturbe for Thanksgiving '05 which was grand as well.
Only negative is the on street parking on Sat and Sun.
Would def stay again; Rest Cha Cha Cha is still great and Mistongo is worth a visit, but their wine list is expensive.
M

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Refugio en Patzcuaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Refugio en Patzcuaro

Address: 11 Serrato Street, Patzcuaro, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Refugio en Patzcuaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Refugio en Patzcuaro to your Saves list