We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“A classic that requires renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Lazaro Cardenas #450, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 x 2 Promotion
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Patzcuaro
DF
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A classic that requires renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Certainly this hotel has been a classic and traditional Hotel of the Patzcuaro Lake region.Dating back from the late 1930's this hotel was created to promote at that moment,this nice and picturesque region of Mexico.The Hotel is located on the road that goes directly to the village of Patzcuaro; you can reach downtown area in about ten minutes by car.Service is good, except the restaurant;service is slow,traditional food is not exactly that,and, bad luck for us! we had a hair in our meal...
Rooms are really basic,the design stills almost as 1930s with some upgrades done at different times.If you arrive by your own or rental car,if the parking area at the main building is full,then you will need to leave your vehicle in the other section of the hotel,located across the road,that is with heavy traffic at some times of the day,so one must be very careful since there is not a pedestrian crossing at that point of the road.If you plan to stay one or two nights ,or you are in a business trip the hotel can be useful,but if you want some place to rest,walk around the streets of Patzcuaro historic centre,and more dining options at hand, then you should consider another place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I'd say the only good things about this place are the rooms, and the building. All other services are mediocre...

Internet service is quite good, the beds are comfortable, and the rooms are clean.

The food of the room service is less than average, but the price is in the mid-high range for Mexico. I paid 260 pesos for 1 person dinner... I asked for a chicken soup, which is the simplest things in the world, and it had so much salt I couldn't eat it. Coffee is quite bad. Breakfast is probably the only acceptable food they have in my experience.

I'm not coming back...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed there for a week, with our small girl and my inlaws and this hotel it's a good place where to stay while driving around the city and many smaller towns near by fill with good vib, and many places where to eat, buy and see tons of things, out side cafes and restaurants. Pleople at the hotel and the town are friendly. You can get there (Patzcuaro) buy car or bus and there is a good taxi service from the hotel to the town (stores and restaurants) and back. The food at the place is very good, with many options and the rooms are clean, the beds are good and they have a good TV, room services and any thing you may need at a interesting colonial building with many gardens. The only thing that was not good was the cool pool. I would recommend this place, I will go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

This is a large hotel complex on extensive grounds. It is located a few blocks from the central historic area of the town (long walk - short cab ride). The rooms in the old main building are comfortable with high ceilings and a classic appearance. The patios, gardens, and balconies add to the appeal. The newer buildings at the back and the overflow lodging across the street are less ornate than the main building - and less desireable in my opinion. The restaurant is very good and has a nice covered patio. There is a large pool, tennis courts, and other outdoor facilities. The secure parking in the complex is excellent. The staff is helpful and appears well organized. This is part of the Best Western marketing group so booking and payment are simple and reliable. This hotel can be crowded with large groups during holidays and other special events so you may want to check about upcoming schedules before booking. A glass of wine on the large balcony facing the lake is a perfect end to a perfect day in Patzcuaro.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

The Hotel only needs better beds (you are practically sleeping over stone) and rooms more comfortable. However, it has beautiful gardens, great scenario, and great service. Stay for one night because your back will not tolerate more, believe me!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

We found this hotel to be full of charm with spacious, clean rooms and lovely views from the many terraces. The gardens and chapel are also very nice. Originally built in 1939 the hotel has been well maintained and updated. The staff were always friendly and professional. We also ate several meals in the restaurant "El Tarasco” and found the breakfast buffet on the weekend to be especially good. The emphasis is on local cuisine and was reasonably priced and delicious! The place is family friendly and has a great pool and spacious grounds.

  • Liked — It was not a typical chain hotel experience; very unique
  • Disliked — I couldnt stay longer
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Our room smelled horribly like sewage. When we figured out the smell was coming from the bathroom, we went up to the reception to report the probelm. They sent a maid who sprayed the bathroom and the room but it did not fix the problem. The whole room had a pungent smell. The hotel did not offer to change the room. In fact, upon our arrival, they offered to take our bags and told us we would have to wait for the room to get cleaned up. We avoided going into the bathroom and used their public facilities by the restaurant whenever possible. The beds were not comfortable at all. At the restaurant we were given dirty glasses with lipstick on. It was very disgusting. The food was okay but not great. Avoid staying at this hotel if you can. I do not recommend it.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco

Address: Av. Lazaro Cardenas #450, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Patzcuaro
Patzcuaro Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Posada De Don Vasco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.