We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Lovely Hotel, Beautiful People, Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mansion Iturbe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mansion Iturbe to your Saves list
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal Morelos 59, Patzcuaro 61600 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Beautiful People, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I've just returned from Patzcuaro after being there with a film crew to document Noche de Muertos. I've traveled extensively and the experiences I had in Michoacan are among my most memorable. Patzcuaro itself is a graceful old Spanish colonial town with cobble streets and red tile roofs. The Purepecha and Hispanic people who make Patzcuaro and its surrounding villages home are warm, kind, and delightful. Patzcuaro is one of Mexico's "Pueblo Magicos" and the indigenous Night of the Dead celebration, which takes place on Nov 1 has been distinguished by UNESCO as a masterpiece of oral and intangible human heritage.

During the days that lead up to the Night of the Dead the central plaza, which is where the Mansion Iturbe is located, fills up with artisans who come to sell their folk art - catrinas, ceramic devils, robosos, and sugar skulls. Everyday there is music and dancing on the plaza and a great sense of fun pervades the atmosphere. The street food is incredible - roasted corn, fresh garbanzos, caramelized squash, coconut concoctions, tamales, enchiladas, atole, and hot guava punch.

The Mansion Iturbe is the perfect place from which to base yourself in Patzcuaro - it's right on the Plaza, which is amazing, but with its thick adobe walls and inner courtyard it provides a welcome and quiet sanctuary as well. The rooms are accurately described in other reviews - gracious w/dark beams, warm furnishings and beautiful lighting. Each room is unique. Mine stayed toasty warm at night, which can be cold.

The very best thing about the Hotel Iturbe, however, is the remarkable staff. We had no time to prepare for our shoot prior to leaving the States, so we relied on the owner Margarita and her daughter, "Maggie," to help us set up a variety of crazy things in a hurry. They responded to our sometimes unusual requests with incredible efficiency often setting something up within a couple of hours of the request.They managed to magically pull together cars and drivers for the crew at a time when there were none to be had (our driver, Andres, was also invaluable for his translation skills). They set up visits to schools so that we could see children making sugar skulls. They steered us to another school where the children were recreating the rituals that unfold on the Night of the Dead. They were always available and eager to do whatever they could do to make our shoot successful. And from what I observed they were equally as available and attentive to clients who were not part of the crew. I often saw Maggie, who is fluent in English, sitting with people, laughing and helping them plan their day.

From this moment forward Maggie and her mother are my go-to gals in Michoacan. I would solicit their advice on any shoot in the future. And Rafael, who works both the restaurant and the front desk, is a prince - like so many of the people we interacted with during our stay in Patzcuaro he was warm and willing to help us in any way possible. We had the pleasure and honor of meeting his sweet family and following them as they made preparations for Noche de Muertos. Just another of the joys of a stay at the absolutely lovely Mansion Iturbe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansioniturbe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mansion Iturbe, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
We were very glad to have you at Mansion Iturbe during the Day of the Dead celebration and been able to help you during the shooting of your documentary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We had by our request a very tranquil, large room, that was nicely decorated with authentic wooden floors and beams. Bathroom was colorful and clean, with towels changed every day.

Customer service was excellent and accomodating while brakfast was very nice and varied.

It was really ncie to stay here, excelent location and we really felt home here. However, that bathroom did smell odd during the night, a little like they would have had a drainage problem.

Although The rooms and hotel was so nice, for those who like to watch TV, it was very small and old for a big room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We have traveled to Patzcuaro, Mexico for Dia de los Muertos many times and we have always stayed at the wonderful boutique hotel Mansion Iturbe on the Plaza Vasco de Quiroga. With only 12 rooms, this boutique hotel has become our "home away from home in Patzcuaro". We usually stay in room 12 in the front center overlooking the plaza. Having the oversized french doors to open and the balcony on which to stand to survey life on the plaza as well as processions and special events is an extra treat. A stay at Mansion Iturbe comes with an incredible full breakfast every morning in the Dona Paca Restaurant on the first floor and a complimentary cocktail in the evening either in the internal courtyard or at one of the tables under the portal in front of the hotel. What a special vantage point to watch the world go by. The wait staff in the restaurant and the front desk staff are very friendly and take good care of every guest. The cleaning ladies are wonderful as well. The Viejo Gaucho bar and restaurant in the back of the hotel is open in the evenings and can provide late night snacks and drinks along with live music. What more could you want. There is a warm, sunny solarium upstairs and a comfortable library/reading room as well.

Staying during Semana Santa (Holy Week between Palm Sunday and Easter Sunday) is a very special event as is the week before Dia de los Muertos. Both weeks feature a wonderful open air market of folk art and crafts created by the villagers from the region and around the Lake Patzcuaro.

Margarita Arriaga and her daughter Magui and son Luis are the Innkeepers. They have invested a lot in making Mansion Iturbe a fine hotel with modern ammenities. The recently renovated bathrooms are beautiful and the rooms are spacious. I do think that they will need to upgrade the bed linens and towels in order to truly compete with top hotels in other areas.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The Iturbe is charming and the service is fine. Our room was fun, the food very tasty, the staff fantastic...but the Orbitz reservation that said the final price after taxes and surcharges would be $178 for two nights ended up being $220. A woman who I presume was the owner stomped up to the front desk when I questioned this and gave me some stupid line about "recovering fees" and that they had already given us a discount on other things. I didnt feel like ruining my day by arguing with her, but if she plans on being that shady I hope she learns that people read hotel reviews.

My relatives in Patzcuaro later laughed at this, saying that the Iturbe is also well known for being snotty to any local Mexicans who want to stay or have dinner there - the management prefers only unsuspecting tourists.

Mexico is a great country and Patzcuaro is one of my favorite places. This hotel could easily succeed based its merits, so its too bad the management chooses to be underhanded.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansioniturbe, Manager at Hotel Mansion Iturbe, responded to this review, April 3, 2010
We regret that the confusion with your Orbitz Reservation caused you some discomfort during your stay at Mansion Iturbe.

When the Hotel gives rates to any online travel sites through The Global Distribution System (GDS), the rates are published before taxes, not because the Hotel chooses to do it that way, but because it is a requirement from any GDS Representative.

The employees at the front Desk explained this to you when you checked out, and presented you a copy of the reservation Form that was sent to the Hotel by Orbitz. In the Form was clearly established that taxes were not included on the rate, and that your credit card was not charged by Orbitz, it was only used to guarantee your reservation and for that reason the payment must be done at the Hotel. We will appreciate if you call Orbitz customer service so they can confirm you this information and clear any questions you might have.

We appreciate your positive comments about the Hotel. But do not understand your disrespectful comments about the hotel management. The first thing we would like to make clear is that the Hotel owner was not in Patzcuaro during your stay at Mansion Iturbe. The Hotel has been in business for more than 40 years and since day 1 have learned many things but the most important is that the best promotion for a hotel is the one made by satisfied clients, so our first goal is to achieve this principle. The ways this comments are bring to light have change over the years but the essences is the same. So if the comments are made: directly client to client , by referrals made on travel books who send mystery guests, by newspaper articles, by internet hotel reviews or on social media they all have a great importance to us since client’s recommendations has been the mayor source of business for the Hotel over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDC-HKK_Travels
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

This place is beautiful and you should stay here. However, when we went the value was great. It was after the day of the dead season, the main plaza was under construction, but the hotel was a gorgeous retreat at the end of the day. The breakfast was good and included - you could choose from a variety of sizes of breakfast and almost 50 combinations of breakfast items. The room was beautiful and romantic with nice wood furniture that goes well with the hotel. The sink area of the bathroom was very nice. Hot water.

Two drawbacks: 1) The drain in the bathroom leaked a bad sewer smell. If we kept the door closed we did not smell it. However, the rest of the bathroom, such as the sink area was nice. 2) When we first arrived, she told us one of the two rooms we had booked would be two double beds (which is inconvenient because we were two couples on vacation together). I reiterated the original reservation in Spanish and the specific rooms we requested. She sent someone up to fix the heat and clean the room - everything was fine after that.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Mansion Iturbe during the Days of the Dead celebrations. The hotel is centrally located and faces the main square. It is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff. Magarita, the owner, arranged for all transportation during our stay including private guides for the celebration itself. The stay included daily breakfast at the hotel restaurant which offered a wide variety straight from an extensive menu. The room was beautiful and clean. I chose a room facing the square based on previous recommendations as to light. I think that next time I would face the courtyard for morning quiet. Each morning a truck came to pump water to the hotel, which was definitely noisy. Overall, a perfect stay, with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed for a week at Iturbe and scouted out other hotels around that we had been debating on staying at. By far, Iturbe was the best in all areas, including price. The location is dead-central, you won't find better. Our room opened right onto the main plaza square. We watched a parade that went right by our room. You can close the doors to the windows and block out sound no problem. The bed was comfy and large, as was the room. The mansion itself is gorgeous and somewhat medieval, with the wrought iron gates, and coat of arms.

It is cold at night, even in the room, as the heating seemed to be set at 18 degrees. We snuggled under the covers and were warm within minutes though. They would benefit from providing some warm robes for the guests I think, and slippers!

The only issues I would have would be that it was very difficult to communicate. I had hoped that someone at the front desk would have some fairly good English, and although she understood what I was saying, her communication back was a little difficult to understand. We were puzzled most of the time.

We went to two tourist offices close by and no one there spoke English!! We went to the bus terminal and no one could help us arrange to get to Zihuatenejo (and we had a Spanish speaking guide with us).

Thankfully, at a restaurant near the hotel there were a number of waiters who's English was very good. We enjoyed the food and coffee there the most, and the fact we could ask questions and find out what what going on was helpful. Nowhere had we been able to find out about events that were happening around town that week, like the 200th anniversary of the revolution, for example.

The staff at Iturbe were always smiling and pleasant, and if they could understand, would help however they could. It was unfortunate that there was no info on tours, trips, or excursions, and often the gal who spoke some English was not always around. Only info about other hotels. We had thought it would be easy to arrange excursions, but we ended up booking a tour guide through a restaurant who's owner had a brother who was a registered tour guide named Jorge!! He was wonderful and we were very thankful to be able to have someone tell us the history of the area and the names of places we'd been.

Another disappointment was the restaurant El Vido Gaucho, the Argentinian restaurant we'd read and heard so much about. We'd just gotten engaged and this was our 'big night out' with dinner and live music.
They charged about $2.50 just to sit at the table (per person). We ordered the platter for two, and they brought us a bowl of popcorn for our appetizer (seriously). The performer had all of the parts pre-taped and was basically doing karaoke with a drum machine and pretending to play the guitar live. When our 'authentic' food arrived, it was small bits of grizzly steak overcooked, krinkle-cut fries, a salad, some stale empinadas, natchos, and coldcuts rolled up, with bits of hotdog ends that were cut to look decorative. Seriously. We drank our overly sweet wine, choked back a few bites and left to go back to the restaurant down the street in the square we liked. However, for over $30, we were not very happy at all.

Overall, the hotel is fabulous. I would stay again as it was the best out of all we checked out (we looked at about 6 others). Forget going to El Vicho Gaucho unless you are just drinking at the bar. Look for Adrianes taco stand on Ibarra (a bit of a walk but well worth it). Try the pizza from they guy who makes it on the street on his motorcycle, it's facinating if nothing else. And the hotel restaurant Dona Pina (something like that) is pretty good also. Take advantage of the cocktail hour free drinks, and the cafe moka is delightful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mansion Iturbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion Iturbe

Address: Portal Morelos 59, Patzcuaro 61600 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mansion Iturbe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former residence of one of the leading families in Patzcuaro, Mansion Iturbe is an enchanting Inn, nestled in front of Vasco de Quiroga Square with an outstanding location close to all major attractions. This XVII Century Mansion has been meticulously restored to its former splendor by the descendents of the original owners. Patzcuaro: the center of the Purepechan CultureHere at the center of the Purepechan Culture you will find history, traditions and folklore. Archeological Sites, the unique Lake Patzcuaro with its Islands and the world famous butterfly nets as well as the Indian villages that surround the Lake with high quality Handicrafts made by the Purepechas that make the region a paradise for Handcrafts lovers where you will be able to find: woven goods, ceramics, masks, copper crafts, straw handcrafts, textiles and much more!Come to Patzcuaro and enjoy this beautiful hidden treasure of the colonial Mexico from the XVI Century. Strolling the town from Mansion Iturbe is very easy due to its location close to everything, but Patzcuaro is also an excellent base to explore the tourist attractions of Michoacan.Patzcuaro and the Lake Region have a lot of festivities during the whole year to share with you, full of color and traditions. Don’t miss the traditional Market on Fridays in Patzcuaro!Don’t miss the traditional Market on Fridays in Patzcuaro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mansion Iturbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Iturbe Hotel
Mansion Iturbe Patzcuaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mansion Iturbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.