We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“excelent quality for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mansion Iturbe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mansion Iturbe to your Saves list
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal Morelos 59, Patzcuaro 61600 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“excelent quality for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

A cozy small hotel situated in an old house in one of the most beautiful squares in mexico. Rooms ar basic, but nice. Breakfast is awesome, with many regional dishes. We try to go back as oftenas we can.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansioniturbe, Gerente at Hotel Mansion Iturbe, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you Mr. Enrique C. for your comments. At Mansion Iturbe we will always try our best to make you feel at Home during your visits to Patzcuaro.
Best Regards
Mansion Iturbe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Mansion Iturbe has an excellent location. It is in the center of all. Leave your car at the parking located close to the hotel and walk to almost all the town atractions. Staff is very friendly. Be prepared to practice your spanish in Patzcuaro. You will find few people that speaks fluent english. Rooms are very comfortable and the rate includes a very tasty breakfast. Drinks at The Front terrace are great

Room Tip: Front rooms have exellent view of the main plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansioniturbe, Gerente at Hotel Mansion Iturbe, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your Stay at Mansion Iturbe. Hope to see you on your next visit to patzcuaro
Best Regards
Mansion Iturbe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I went to Patzcuaro with my mother and my inlaws. We stayed at Mansion Iturbe because it had good reviews in tripadvisor, and all of them were correct.
The building itself is beautiful and is very nicely furnished. It keeps the mexican style in a classy way. The location of the hotel is perfect since main plazas, churches and atractions are walking distance and can forget about the car for a while. Staff was very friendly and our overall experience was great. From Patzcuaro you can visit Santa Clara del Cobre (a small beautiful town where copper handcrafts are made), Zirahuen lake and Tzintzuntzan,all destinations within 30 minutes drive so this hotel happens to be very handy.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms that have a balcony to the main plaza, view is wonderful and at night after shutti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansioniturbe, Manager at Hotel Mansion Iturbe, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Patzcuaro at Mansion Iturbe. We look forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Patzcuaro. Kind Regards, The Mansion Iturbe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The traffic in central Patzcuaro can be crazy in the afternoon, meaning you have to double park and unload quickly. This hotel was easy to find, right in the central square of Patzcuaro. Hotel has an arrangement with a parking place very close by, so I could lose the car for a couple of days. The hotel was very quiet and room large and comfortable. My balcony overlooked the square and got sunshine in the afternoon. The windows had wooden shutters to keep out traffic noise at night. There was a sunlit patio at the back that was a great place for breakfast. Breakfast in the restaurant was so-so. Front desk service was haphazard. Although it was easy enough to stay a second night, I think I paid more for that, than the first, and then had to remind them I'd already paid for the first. Staff were very low key and friendly. Internet service was good on the back patio but didn't work in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansioniturbe, Manager at Hotel Mansion Iturbe, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Lee,
Thank you for choosing Mansion Iturbe on your recent trip to Patzcuaro. We are delighted to learn that we were able to leave a positive impression on you during your stay with us. Our goal is to provide you with excellent service and to ensure that each and every one of your stays with us is a most pleasant and memorable one. Please send us any suggestion that you migh have to improve our breakfast service to info@mansioniturbe.com
Regarding the difference on rates please double check your Expedia invoice. we have a rate parity policy with all online travel agencies. I personally checked boht invoices and have the same rate in mexican pesos. It might be a slight difference between them due to the exchange fluctuation between the Us Dollar and the Mexican Peso.

We hope to welcome you back to Mansion Iturbe in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

The Mansion Iturbe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I traveled to Patzcuaro with 3 women friends for Day of the Dead 2010 (we were there for 7 days). Mansion Irtube had been recommended to us by friends who stayed there in 2009. It was wonderful in every way. We had 2 large well-furnished rooms. Clean, with lovely "Old Mexico" furnishings. The hotel is right on the main square but our rooms were quiet at night thanks to very heavy old shutters that closed off 95% of noise. They have a lovely enclosed courtyard where we went every night for a drink before going to dinner. It also has a garden on the roof but we didn't spend much time there as we were out shopping every day. Our breakfast was included - wonderful food. It was one of 3 places in town with excellent food. But best of all, the owner/manager Margarita Pedraza and her Mother, who was there to help during this busy week, were kind and knew the answers to all our questions and had great suggestions of local villages to visit. When we were confused about how to get the right ferry to one of the islnads in the lake, the Mother called ahead and had the ticket seller walk us to the right boat. The rest of the staff were very sweet, although most spoke no english. This sounds like a rant and I guess it is...we all travel a lot in Mexico and other countries but this hotel stands out as a gem. We all plan to go back. By the way, there were very few Americans in town (probably scared off by scarey news) but we felt very safe - there are young roving pairs of "Tourist Police" everywhere who introduce themselves, give directions and will even help with bargaining with non-English speaking vendors. All 4 of us feel that we can recommend this hotel without reservation

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We have returned many times to Mansion Iturbe over the years .Patzcuaro being one of our favourite towns in Mexico.
The charming hotel has been kept up well, plumbing updated etc.The rooms are spacious and cozy
Rooms 12 & 14 giving a ringside seat to the events and goings on taking place on the beautiful plaza.
The dining room no doubt is the best in Patzcuaro.
The staff despite of their rudimentary English language skills are very helpful and friendly.
Unfortunately due to overreaction of the press in their reporting of isolated drug war problems in Michoacan and mostly in the Northern parts of Mexico ,caused many cancellations over the Christmas Holidays.
It is a big state and a very big country!
We felt safe at all times, encountered the odd road block.
We were always waved through with a smile.
We strongly advise travellers to keep visiting this beautiful town and its very interesting surroundings.
The Mexican people need our business.

The fearless travellers, Vancouver B.C.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansioniturbe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mansion Iturbe, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Patzcuaro at Mansion Iturbe and we are looking forward to have you again with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I've just returned from Patzcuaro after being there with a film crew to document Noche de Muertos. I've traveled extensively and the experiences I had in Michoacan are among my most memorable. Patzcuaro itself is a graceful old Spanish colonial town with cobble streets and red tile roofs. The Purepecha and Hispanic people who make Patzcuaro and its surrounding villages home are warm, kind, and delightful. Patzcuaro is one of Mexico's "Pueblo Magicos" and the indigenous Night of the Dead celebration, which takes place on Nov 1 has been distinguished by UNESCO as a masterpiece of oral and intangible human heritage.

During the days that lead up to the Night of the Dead the central plaza, which is where the Mansion Iturbe is located, fills up with artisans who come to sell their folk art - catrinas, ceramic devils, robosos, and sugar skulls. Everyday there is music and dancing on the plaza and a great sense of fun pervades the atmosphere. The street food is incredible - roasted corn, fresh garbanzos, caramelized squash, coconut concoctions, tamales, enchiladas, atole, and hot guava punch.

The Mansion Iturbe is the perfect place from which to base yourself in Patzcuaro - it's right on the Plaza, which is amazing, but with its thick adobe walls and inner courtyard it provides a welcome and quiet sanctuary as well. The rooms are accurately described in other reviews - gracious w/dark beams, warm furnishings and beautiful lighting. Each room is unique. Mine stayed toasty warm at night, which can be cold.

The very best thing about the Hotel Iturbe, however, is the remarkable staff. We had no time to prepare for our shoot prior to leaving the States, so we relied on the owner Margarita and her daughter, "Maggie," to help us set up a variety of crazy things in a hurry. They responded to our sometimes unusual requests with incredible efficiency often setting something up within a couple of hours of the request.They managed to magically pull together cars and drivers for the crew at a time when there were none to be had (our driver, Andres, was also invaluable for his translation skills). They set up visits to schools so that we could see children making sugar skulls. They steered us to another school where the children were recreating the rituals that unfold on the Night of the Dead. They were always available and eager to do whatever they could do to make our shoot successful. And from what I observed they were equally as available and attentive to clients who were not part of the crew. I often saw Maggie, who is fluent in English, sitting with people, laughing and helping them plan their day.

From this moment forward Maggie and her mother are my go-to gals in Michoacan. I would solicit their advice on any shoot in the future. And Rafael, who works both the restaurant and the front desk, is a prince - like so many of the people we interacted with during our stay in Patzcuaro he was warm and willing to help us in any way possible. We had the pleasure and honor of meeting his sweet family and following them as they made preparations for Noche de Muertos. Just another of the joys of a stay at the absolutely lovely Mansion Iturbe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansioniturbe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mansion Iturbe, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
We were very glad to have you at Mansion Iturbe during the Day of the Dead celebration and been able to help you during the shooting of your documentary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mansion Iturbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion Iturbe

Address: Portal Morelos 59, Patzcuaro 61600 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mansion Iturbe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former residence of one of the leading families in Patzcuaro, Mansion Iturbe is an enchanting Inn, nestled in front of Vasco de Quiroga Square with an outstanding location close to all major attractions. This XVII Century Mansion has been meticulously restored to its former splendor by the descendents of the original owners. Patzcuaro: the center of the Purepechan CultureHere at the center of the Purepechan Culture you will find history, traditions and folklore. Archeological Sites, the unique Lake Patzcuaro with its Islands and the world famous butterfly nets as well as the Indian villages that surround the Lake with high quality Handicrafts made by the Purepechas that make the region a paradise for Handcrafts lovers where you will be able to find: woven goods, ceramics, masks, copper crafts, straw handcrafts, textiles and much more!Come to Patzcuaro and enjoy this beautiful hidden treasure of the colonial Mexico from the XVI Century. Strolling the town from Mansion Iturbe is very easy due to its location close to everything, but Patzcuaro is also an excellent base to explore the tourist attractions of Michoacan.Patzcuaro and the Lake Region have a lot of festivities during the whole year to share with you, full of color and traditions. Don’t miss the traditional Market on Fridays in Patzcuaro!Don’t miss the traditional Market on Fridays in Patzcuaro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Mansion Iturbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Iturbe Hotel
Mansion Iturbe Patzcuaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mansion Iturbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.