We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Werma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patzcuaro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Werma
Save
You added Casa Werma to your Saves list
80 calle Libertad, Patzcuaro, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Patzcuaro B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at Casa Werma for 10 days. The casita, that we stayed in, is in a large and beautiful walled garden just a block from the city market. It was peaceful, quiet, and comfortable and at the same time well situated to explore Patzcuaro. The new directors were just learning the ropes but provided us with good and friendly service. The breakfast was large and delicious but we also enjoyed making our own breakfast in the small kitchenette in our casita. We were able to use the shrine room to meditate and practice yoga. Our stay in Casa Werma was wonderful and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfieldl, CA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been going to Patzcuaro for many years and have stayed in three other B&B's. All of them have been wonderful, but the specialness of CW is that it is off the beaten path, away from the tourist trade. It gives one a "real feel" of Mexico just to walk to and from the two main plazas. The grounds are magical, and the main house is lovely. We were well cared for -- enjoying wonderful breakfasts, evening fires, and good conversations. We shall return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We absolutely loved our stop-off at Casa Werma on our way to the coast from Mexico City, just made us wish it was longer than a one day layover!

Casa Werma is an immaculately kept rustic property in a huge expanse of gardens and trees, which as anyone who lives in Mexico knows, is a rarity here! It is a beautiful little oasis in the ramshackle charm of Patzcuaro. Faith and Craig were lovely and so accommodating. They make you feel totally welcome whilst also giving you your own space. They also make a fantastic breakfast!

The casita was SO sweet-beautiful old tiled bathroom and an open fire in the bedroom which was much appreciated to hang out by in the chill Patzcuaro evening!

We would most definitely stay here were we to return to Patzcuaro (which I am seriously hoping will happen!).

Room Tip: The Casita is a gorgeous self-contained unit with cooking facilities and an open-fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Casa Werma is a former private estate, just past the public market and a few blocks from the main squares of Patzcuaro. It occasionally serves as a meditation center for visiting groups, but most of the time is a gracious and attractive B&B, staffed by a personable American couple (Buddhist practitioners), a maid and gardener. There are only three rooms, all well appointed and comfortable: best is the Agave Suite, but all are lovely, as are the spacious landscaped grounds. An ample and delicious breakfast is served daily. Prices are very reasonable, sometimes negotiable in the off-season (May-October) and for longer stays. Casa Werma will greatly enhance your experience of Patzcuaro, one of the most picturesque towns in all of Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This B&B is located on the biggest piece of property in Patzcuaro. So you have the option to do a quiet retreat complete with wandering in the extensive gardens for hours, or go into town and enjoy the color of Mexico with 2 central plazas ---- or do a bit of both, which is what we did. We have stayed in the "Main House" and the "Casita"; both have their own virtues. Both with fireplaces in the bedrooms and living areas, even the kitchen in the Main House. This is mountain terrain, 7200 ft. high, so evenings and mornings are cool. All the rooms are very comfortable and the food was delicious. If you have time, visit the other 7 villages around Lake Patzcuaro, each specializing in a different craft.
The locals call this place"el bosque", the forest, 2 acres of trees in the middle of a village.

Room Tip: The master bedroom in the main house has private bathroom, the other is only for you, but in the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This property is the most peaceful garden estate in Patzcuaro yet the price is far less than many of the expensive hotels. Trees, flowers, birds, a paradise! A beautiful patio with fountain looks out on the gardens. Breakfast is a feast and the hosts are pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable (english speaking and bilingual). The Casita (smaller house) can hold an entire family with it's own kitchen and fabulous fireplace. The casa Grande has one very nice suite also with a fireplace as well as another upscale room and a less expensive one near the kitchen. So pleasant to relax in this peaceful oasis after touring around. I Highly recommend this B&B. Buena suerte!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We just stayed at Casa Werma with another couple for two days. The grounds are beautiful and the hosts were so accommodating. We had a small room (with electric heater) which was fine and our friends had the casita - larger and with a fireplace. Patzcuaro can be cold at night! The breakfast was outstanding and we met other folks who were also staying there - getting ready for a retreat week. It is amazing to find 5 acres of manicured land right within the downtown - easy to walk everywhere. We wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Werma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Werma

Address: 80 calle Libertad, Patzcuaro, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Patzcuaro
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded behind a thick adobe wall, Casa Werma’s enchanted gardens and guest-houses offer a one-of-a-kind experience of tranquility. We are located 5 blocks (a 5-10 minute walk) from the main Plazas through the historic center and the vibrant street market.We have two guest-houses on the 5-acre property, the elegant Casa Grande and the charming Casita. Settle in and enjoy incomparable privacy, delicious breakfasts, attention to detail, and expansive space and beauty in the heart of Pátzcuaro.*We also host group meditation retreats and can accommodate personal retreats. Please consider Casa Werma for your wedding or other special events. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Werma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.