We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Pleasant stay in lovely old Hacienda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Lagos - El Puesto No. 3132, Lagos de Moreno 47515, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lagos de Moreno
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in lovely old Hacienda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Despite some of the reviews we took the chance and stayed here for 3 nights.
While there are issues, food service could be a little too speedy at dinner for example, we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in "Chula Vista" which had a large sunny deck. The staff were very helpful and we took advantage of the Spa which is beautiful. My wife was there for the riding, she took some extended trips of 4 hours or so and had a grand time. But, it seems that more often than not it is just riding around the grounds which she felt would have been very dull. If you are a rider, check before you go.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

If you want to over pay for a Disneyfied, contrived Mexican “hacienda” experience, eat microwaved food, be ignored by the front desk, yelled at by the manager and totally ripped off, this is the place for you! All was bearable until we checked out. They refused to honor a promotion that had been advertised on their website the day we made our reservation (50% off the room rate from Sunday to Thursday). We arrived on Thursday and left Monday, so should have had two nights 50% off. They charged us full price (over $2000 US for only FOUR NIGHTS!) and I insisted to speak to the manager on the phone (he wasn’t there, of course). It became apparent he didn’t want to, hiding behind the front desk girl who by the end just totally ignored us, but when he did, he wouldn’t listen to a word I said and actually yelled at me! I checked their website when I got home today, and now and it’s buy one spa treatment, get one free all this month. Guess what? They didn’t tell us about or honor that promotion either (we had two massages the Thursday we arrived). This was the worst travel ripoff I have EVER experienced, and the worst customer service by far. By the way, don't believe the no-kids policy either - there were kids there the whole time. Guess they're a good way to suck more money out of their unsuspecting "guests." These guys are sharks - save your money and vacation time and find somewhere where your business will be appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

The actitude from the people was excellent, most of the problems were in the room, it was full of fleas, and kind of dirty. The food is very simple and only buffet. We have to wait for 30 minutes to be served. Even the waitres come and ask if we wanted our dessert, and we have not even receive the food!!!

Some services like the horse trip, in their web page says it is included, but once you are there, it is not.

Have to say strange things happened in the room that don´t let me sleep very well, it is kind of scary.

The spa is good but not excellent. Would recomend for no more than 1 night and overall it is very overpriced for the food and rooms that they offer.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Dirty, extrange noises.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

We just returned from a visit to this Hacienda and loved it! The setting is spectacular and the staff are subtle, but attentive. We had wonderful breakfasts every morning, went for a couple of horseback rides through the grounds, and took a few day trips to the surrounding towns.
The Hacienda is wonderfully maintained - with a gorgeous pool area and courtyards. There are several roosters, hens, and peacocks roaming around, as well as the random dog.
Our room (pendes haus) was very spacious with large french doors opening out to the yard.
The place is very old, obviously, but very clean and comfortable. We are looking forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The distance to other colonial villages - although the drives were quite manageable.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Unfriendly - terrible food - run down - overpriced. That about sums up what could be an absolute gem. We received no orientation to the sprawling hotel. We had to prowl around to find someone who could provide a drink. (We discovered the bar on leaving.) Our room was cold, windows were dirty, balcony was full of leaves. The spa was empty. There were absolutely no choices provided and no menu in the cavernous, chilly dining room - and the cooking was substandard: salty, lukewarm onion soup; stone cold enchiladas; soupy white mystery pudding; out of most wines. Breakfast not included. In short: skip it.

  • Liked — Bathrobes - our room was cold
  • Disliked — The food and food service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Mexico that included a stay at Hacienda Sepulveda. We drove up from Guadalajara and thought we were lost in countryside before we found it. Upon arrival it was so much more than we had anticipated. The grounds are amazing and well taken care of with many small animals (peacocks, roosters, dogs, rabbits) poking about along with horses and donkeys. I rode out with one of the horse trainers (Tito) on two occasions and had one of the best trail rides ever. The horses are well tended and can be trusted to not misbehave. I have my own horse so am familiar with good riding. The pool area is immaculate and the water was clean and refreshing. The only complaint is the flies - as the stables are in very close proximity, but the manager made us aware that they are building a new set of stables further out and it will be complete in 2008. The breakfasts are phenomenal but like the rest of our stay and eating out experiences in Mexico, dinner was not as good as we hoped. The fruit salads are well prepared and refreshing though. Great coffee! The desserts are more interesting than enjoyable but the service and attention from the staff makes up for it. The spa facility is amazing and takes your breath away once you enter. It is very relaxing, tranquil and clean. We had two great massages and two facials - fabulous! The bedroom (chula vista) was wonderful with a great balcony and was cleaned quite well each day. The bathroom was a bit small but having such a large balcony made up for it. The tv had a few english channels and having candles ready to light in your room at night was quite a nice romantic touch. Bottles of water were replenished daily along with comfy towels and clean robes. A tour of Guanajuato was arranged for us along with a well-informed, polite and fun-loving guide named Elliot. We are hoping to return in the fall and if not then we will certainly be back later. This place is so well cared for and in turn, we were so well cared for. Thank you to Mr. Santos, the manager, to showing us the utmost in Mexican hospitality. Your presence and eye for detail and service ensured our stay was wonderful!

  • Liked — The history and uniqueness
  • Disliked — Quite a drive from the airport
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

I had stayed at a Hacienda before and loved it so I booked 4 nights at Hacienda Sepulveda - specifically the Chula Vista Suite. So beautifully restored! This 1670 ranch has been lovingly updated, each room unique. My balcony was overlooking the beautiful pastures filled with healthy, happy horses, a lake, and spectacular sunsets. My room was so cozy with old fired brick floors, a working fireplace, antler chandelier and great linens. Bathroom fully updated. The restaurant is located in the old granery with a barrel vaulted ceiling. The dinners were at your own request - they did a wonderful job with the fish. They also bake special breads at this Hacienda - kind of a very moist nut bread - delicious. Full bar and a wide selection of Tequilas. When I left I was the only one staying there! The rental car battery had died and they cheerfully got me a jump and on my way. The Hacienda is away from town but not so remote that you can't jump in the car and do some shopping if needed. Well worth the splurge. They made me feel, a solo female traveller, more than welcome.

  • Liked — I felt at home at my own hacienda with vast staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — It's worth the splurge
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa

Address: Carretera Lagos - El Puesto No. 3132, Lagos de Moreno 47515, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Lagos de Moreno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lagos de Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Sepulveda, a rural mansion belonging to the Serrano family for three generations, originally built in 1684, has been a labor of love for Juan Alfonson Serrano who has spent the last 10 years preparing it for its new role as a premium hotel offfering the most authentic of hospitality experiences.The newly opened spa defies description and even the photos cannot do it justice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel Lagos De Moreno
Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel And Spa Lagos De Moreno, Jalisco, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Sepulveda Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.