We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Eucaliptos B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Eucaliptos B & B
Save
You added Villa Eucaliptos B & B to your Saves list
#127, Ajijic 45920, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at B&B Villa Eucaliptos in city of Ajijic State of Jalisco
The owner Ralph was very pleasant and ran his establishment with care and pride and was very friendly and helpful
The rooms were nice and comfortable and clean we felt like we were at home
Best Muffins around !!! and served a wonderful breakfast daily
Nice pool and gardens and internet and lovely reading area
We enjoyed every second we were there and will be returning
Close to town walking distance to Lake and Plaza and restaurants near as well
If you are searching for the quiet retreat in a special small town you need to add
Villa Eucaliptos to your lists of have to go to's
tell Ralph Norm and Judy say Bueno

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This is such a beautiful home and the owner is so gracious and warm that we want to make sure that it is not so booked up that it is too difficult to get a reservation! Taking a risk here though - it is only fair to Ralph to let everyone know what an amazing place this is.
Breakfast is superb. Rooms are artistic and gorgeous. You will feel taken care of here - everything is perfect. You do need to like animals though - there are two very well behaved dogs and two nice cats who live in the house too. We thought this was an asset! So - don't go here so that we can make sure to have availability to go back again - just kidding, of course, but there are only six rooms, so I am a little worried!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

We have stayed at Villa Eucaliptos at least 6 times for our short visits to Ajijic. Ralph is most gracious and helpful. It is quiet. Other guests are very friendly and mingle during the delicious morning breakfast. Breakfasts are one of kind. Strongly recommend that you stay here. Walking distance to center and other great eating spots and night clubs.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed here for 2 weeks in mid Feb. The rooms were clean and there was ample space for hanging clothes. A large shower provided warm water, but this is Mexico.

Ralph is a good host and his breakfasts are great. He does his own baking, so the muffins are fresh and hearty. He makes eggs to order, you decide the contents. There is plenty of fruit and cereals as well as juices and tea/coffee. Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 10:00

An outside sitting area includes a good supply of paperback books. There are also a series of chairs and a table around the pool.

There is a guest computer available as well as wi-fi for those with their own computers.

Ralph was a good source of info on non-gringo restaurants and use of local buses to visit surrounding towns.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Pacific Northwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I and a friend recently spent five lovely days and night's at this beautiful B&B in the heart of Ajijic. The guest rooms with their adjoining baths are very spacious and clean and life is centered around a wonderful inner courtyard with a pool. Plants and fountains abound and behind the building there is a lovely, lush garden. I felt like I was in Granada, Spain. Ralph Moniz, the owner and host, is lots of fun and very kind. He provides a luscious, healthy breakfast with the world's best guacamole. We loved that this was a pet friendly B&B. Ralph has two small dogs and two lovely cats - and three large turtles basking in one of the fountains. We heartily recommend Villa Eucaliptos for anyone coming into the Ajijic area. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — The beauty of the surroundings and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — There is nothing we disliked
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

I stayed there in Oct 2007 for almost 3 weeks last year and it was great. The hosts were very helpful and even took me to Tonela and several markets with them. They were more than willing to sit and chat about Ajijic and Mexico in general. I was traveling alone and felt very safe and comfortable there. I also stayed in the Aztec room and it was large and very comfortable. The layout is very condusive to getting to know you fellow guests. I would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — The chair in my room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

I just returned from a trip to Ajijic. I had seen a a writeup on this forum about Villa Eucaliptos but can't find it now. Anyway, we stayed there for 4 days and really enjoyed it. We were in the "Aztec room" just at the pool. It was lovely, spacious and of course our terrace was the pool. Ralph, the owner was very helpful to us with recommendations and even rides to local restaurants. (he drove us and we found our way back ourselves). Breakfast was a lovely fruit platter followed by home made muffins (and he MAKES you take at least one) then eggs of your choice if you can eat all of that. For 2 days we were the only guests in this 5 room B&B (Spring is slow season) and he just kept putting more and more food out! The Villa is located on the 16 de Septiembre (my Spanish is poor) near the Lake, within a few blocks of the Plaza and just around the corner from the Wednesday market. I think it would be hard to go wrong with any B&B in Ajijic but we can recommend the Villa Eucaliptos for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Eucaliptos B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Eucaliptos B & B

Address: #127, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ajijic
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Eucaliptos is one of Ajijic's most beautiful private Mexican Villas located one block from Lake Chapala in the 'Heart of Ajijic'. You will enter into a private world all of your own, set in colonial Spanish Architecture with magnificent fifteen-foot ceilings and arches. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Eucaliptos B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.