We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“wonderful food and accomodations for good price with very friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloma Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added La Paloma Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
56 Juan | Jalisco, Ajijic, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Moncton, New Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful food and accomodations for good price with very friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

A friend and I stayed here for 3 weeks and loved every minute of it. The breakfasts were terrific, more food than you could eat..enough to last so that you only had to have one other meal that day. I appreciated that there was a full kitchen for guests to fix their own meals if they chose. The staff were accomodating and very personable, and the place was very clean. Wireless internet access and phone service were other pluses. The place has charm and is very relaxing, with a lot of little areas to sit for private contemplation or reading, but also open areas where the guests would often gather in the evenings to share stories about their 'exploring' for the day and get to know one another. It really felt like an extended family by the time we left.
We had been looking for a B&B for a reasonable price that also had a very homey feeling. This was it and definitely will make this 'home territory' for future trips. Plan to go back as the budget affords. I had been in Ajijic before at another place. You can't do better than this.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
43
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Jalisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

If you are not looking for a luxurious place, but you rather have a warm, charming experience, then La Paloma Bed and Breakfast is the place!
My husband and I went celebrating our anniversary. We found a place with friends. A very clean room and good facilities. The best bed ever!!!, a relaxing fountain and a swimming pool with just the right temperature.

Since the phone reservation I was treated like a friend, like family and it was no different being there.

We really recommend La Paloma, as very satisfied customers, looking forward to going back and stay there!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The place was very nice. Rooms adequet , food very good. Family style breakfast. Drinks upon arrival. BIG problem thier pool was unusable. It was green. Beautiful gardens and comfortable seatig but we were not able to use the pool. I hope it has been fixed. We were told it would be fine by the time we arrived but I think it had been unusable for over a month. That is a big downer! I felt we should not have been charged the full amount since the facilities advertised were not part of the package upon arrival. If the pool is usuable I would recommend it. If not there are many places with a pool!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

great location and ambiance. wondeful breakfast.
other travellers all very friendly conducive to meeting others

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley and Budapest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We visited the LaPaloma for two weeks to see if we really want to move to Ajijic. We loved the LaPaloma and we loved Ajijic! MarCia and Doc were warm and welcoming and the rooms very comfortable. We stayed in the Colibri and were very comfortable. All the rooms look great although the Cardelinha (the smallest room) would be best for a week or less...very nice but a little small. The other rooms are spacious and suitable for a long stay.
The breakfasts every day were fabulous and the service good. The most enjoyable thing, however, was the warm and welcoming atmosphere that pervades the B&B. Guests that we met have become friends that we plan to keep in touch with.
The location is superb and everything essential is within easy walking distance. The pool is nice for a leisurely swim or to catch a bit of sun...and the beautiful mountains can be seen which you do it.
We're already planning our return to this magical place...
Adam and Aliz von Dioszeghy
Budapest/Napa Valley

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Paloma Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Bed and Breakfast

Address: 56 Juan | Jalisco, Ajijic, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paloma Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.