We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Tex Mex And Authentic Mexica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Serape

El Serape
Carretera Poniente #26-A, Ajijic, Mexico
3767661834
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 93 Restaurants in Ajijic
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Chapala, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tex Mex And Authentic Mexica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I love Tex Mex and the crispy tacos hit the spot. My husband a Chamoro , very authentic preparation and delicious. Service was not great that night, I think the waiter was new. Our other dinner companion had a chimichanga, it was gigantic. This is a great little spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Value and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

El Serape is a local "institution" in Ajijic and it has stayed in business for a reason. They deliver good food at reasonable prices in a warm and friendly atmosphere. We go here for their Chamorro and they never fail to deliver. Generous portions (take home portion size) well prepared and tasty. As noted elsewhere you might have to wait for them to run out for wine but if you let them know beforehand they will have some on hand. A very nice change of pace place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Colourful Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a family run restaurant with a Méxican flavour. The food is very good and the price are reasonable. Easy parking. They cater to private parties there or in your home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent value Tex-Mex, inexpensive and well prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the things that always troubles me when writing restaurant reviews for TripAdvisor is that every sort of place is lumped together, to be assessed with a single scale. This is silly. A bad pretentious restaurant should rank poorly, to be sure, but a restaurant that isn't high end but is best in its class should conversely be rated highly. I add this preface to explain my Excellent ranking for El Serape.


El Serape has been around for about fifteen years now, and reliably serves 'Tex-Mex'--more accurately Mexican American--fare most would recognize from typical places in the US. Critically it does s good job of this. The place is clean and well kept. 'Platos' of various types are large and carefully prepared. Most combination plates run $60-75 (pesos). Drinks are fairly priced, although if you were to order wine they might have to run out and get some for you (which they will do).

In contrast to more downmarket places, the kitchen uses bottled water, etc.

Perhaps the only downside is that El Serape is on the Carretera and can be a little noisy. Even so, it is well set back from the road, in contrast, say to Gossip's.

Give it a try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Serape also viewed

Ajijic, Jalisco
Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to El Serape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Serape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.