We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Hard to believe this little town has such quality shows!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Piano Rojo

El Piano Rojo
14 Morelos, Ajijic 11111, Mexico
376-766-2876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Attractions in Ajijic
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: El Piano Rojo is the place to enjoy live Cabaret shows featuring performers from all over the continent in a comfortable,elegant atmosphere. Come relax on a couch in our lounge area,join us in our fabulous bar and be sure to let us entertain you in our gorgeous show room.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hard to believe this little town has such quality shows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Piano Rojo is such a positive addition to Ajijic. Good shows, great shows, wonderful ambience.... I can't say enough. Only improvement would be a better wine list. I have been here for 20 years and NEVER thought we would have such god quality entertainment in our midst and at such a modest admission price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classic Cabaret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have never been to a bad show at the Piano Rojo. The shows are unique and both outrageous and classy at the same time, if there is such a thing. There is a two drink minimum and one must buy tickets at the door, probably because the space is very small and intimate and to bring these acts in from Vallarta and even further afield, the club has to charge fairly high prices. There are normally two shows, one at 7pm and the next at 9pm. There are cross dressing acts, jazz acts, unique acts with amazing talent, such as Les Femmes de Serge - an act with a great Mexican keyboard artist supporting a beautiful (sighted) French Chanteuse and two pretty and blind Mexican girls with amazing talent and voices. The music is unique and the performances unforgettable. Also, don't miss the "Kinsey Sicks." - Talent is not in short supply at the Piano Rojo, thanks to the amazing efforts by management to bring top notch shows into Ajijic. Kudos guys... er... ladies.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic entertainment, beautiful space and LOVELY service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I performed at El Piano Rojo this season and had the unique experience of working with them as an entertainer and then sitting in the audience for the fabulous Miss Conception after my performance. As an entertainer, I was treated both professionally and with great sincerity. As a patron, I was so welcomed and taken care of. The lobby is like a beautiful, inviting living room. Their bar offers incredible cocktails and the theatre is open air and never stuffy. Mark, Kateri and Francine have done a marvelous job. I had a wonderful experience there and look forward to my next.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great shows, fun staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

For a varied list of entertainment be sure to check out this cool venue. We were here with "The Judy Show" starring Michael Holmes and pianist Mark Kahny. Funny, great music & vocals. In the heart of Ajijic!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent entertainment venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This new cabaret is a fine addition to the local entertainment scene. It's an expansion of a similar club in Puerta Vallarta, and it shows by its superb eclectic selection of well known artists on the pan-American nightclub scene. In a very short time it has become "the talk" locally.The decor and ambience are excellent--could be a cabaret in any major city--mostly tables for four (moveable for grouping) with comfortable chairs; excellent bar and service. No food service, but munchies come free. The club is open three or four nights a week, with shows at 7 and 9pm. Reservations are necessary; first come first served on table selection so get there early to pick up tickets.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Piano Rojo also viewed

 

Been to El Piano Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Piano Rojo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.