We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Unexpected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Una

La Una
Marcos Castellano 9 | 766-2072, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
+52 376 766 2072
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 93 Restaurants in Ajijic
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, indoors or outdoors in our lush garden.Featuring Eggs Benedict, New Mexican style Huevos Rancheros, new and improved Belgium Waffle, fresh baked croissant sandwiches and wonderful salads.Our dinner menu includes Duck confit with orange sauce, Duck breast with raspberry sauce, Quail, Filet Mignon, various seafood and more.
Suquamish, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We nearly passed this unassuming little restaurant in our search for breakfast. We were very glad that we stopped. Clean and bright with original paintings on the walls and fresh baguettes waiting in a basket. A lively yellow awning contributed to the atmosphere. Loved the classical music playing in the background
Two of us chose the filled croissant with scrambled eggs and bacon - pronounced excellent and two chose the waffles with or without bacon - also delicious and served with perfect fresh fruit. Complimentary bread and home made jams added to our meal and coffee was adequate. I am pretty fussy about my coffee so don't want to be too hard on them. Service was delightful and we will definitely return for lunch

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Mazwoman,
Thanks for the review. Since you liked our breakfast, I think you will love our dinner.
The best to you
Susanna and Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice garden, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner here. Have always been very happy with the setting, the food and the service. Don't want to talk it up too much as then it will be crowded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear edrasa1,
Thank you for the review! Hopefully we will have the problem of becoming crowded. But have no fear, we have plans to open up another garden on the roof!
Hasta pronto,
Susanna y Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinger, Texas
2 reviews
“Delightful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Ajijic has several good spots to eat, none better than La Una. Prices are reasonable. The menu has standard items as well as unique treatments and flavors that are different and delectable. The coffee is gourmet. Classical music in the background is a mood enhancer. Original art in the garden adds a Romanesque sense of opulence. The service is immediate, genuinely friendly but not intrusive, and the whole experience always makes me look forward to going again. Doug and Susanna have attended to details in a way that makes dining out a pleasure every time.








a

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Leonard S,
We appreciate the great review! We are happy that you notice the details. Thanks for posting the photos of Susanna's frescos. Please let us know who you are when we next meet.
Cheers
Susanna and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
1 review
“Reservation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I am looking to spend a night with my friends on Wednesday 22may but we don't dine out in Ajijic much. I wanted to make sure it wasp erect as both couple are celebrating our anniversary. To bad you don't have phone or email on this site so we can book a special table.
A small sample of your menu would also be nice

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear George S,
I was a little on confused by your review. Did you eat at La Una? I did send you a reply as to how to contact us. I hope you found somewhere nice for your celebration.
I did update our trip advisor page to address your requests. Thanks for the tips.
I hope to see you at La Una
Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“No doubts here. The BEST IN TOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

After walking in and being greeted by the most wonderful of hosts/owners; Douglas and Susanna. You will have the options of the best dishes in town. I have been around town and eaten at many popular restaurants in ajijic, and La una is hands down, with out a doubt, as sure as the town is great and sky blue; the BEST IN TOWN.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
WOW!!! What wonderful review. Hearing your praise makes all the long hours and hard work very worthwhile. In this business, the goal is to PLEASE YOU. When you let us know that we are getting this done, we are energized to improve and go forward.
Thanks from el Centro de Ajijic,
Susanna and Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Una also viewed

Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to La Una? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Una, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.