We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Very disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Una

La Una
Marcos Castellano 9 | 766-2072, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
+52 376 766 2072
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 93 Restaurants in Ajijic
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, indoors or outdoors in our lush garden.Featuring Eggs Benedict, New Mexican style Huevos Rancheros, new and improved Belgium Waffle, fresh baked croissant sandwiches and wonderful salads.Our dinner menu includes Duck confit with orange sauce, Duck breast with raspberry sauce, Quail, Filet Mignon, various seafood and more.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After reading great reviews on Trip Advisor, we were all looking forward to a great breakfast. What a letdown!!! Very noisy with kitchen next door. Food presentation was not appealing, toast arrived as plain cold slice bread.
I would never go back and would not recommemded to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear beaute19,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a wonderful experience at La Una.
Because of your comments we have given a good look at our kitchen noise, presentation and the cold slice bread. If you are still in Ajijic, please give us another try and if you are not satisfied, I wil comp your meal and buy you breakfast anywhere in town.
Thank you for your review,
Douglas Findley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brenham, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Breakfast was terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Small space, avocado tree dripping on my head, but was delighted with the coffee, sauce on my huevos rancheros, good service. Will frequent this place many times!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Isabel,
Thanks so much for reviewing Restaurant La Una. We really do appreciate the feedback. We do have a small space. This helps us concentrate the service we provide and deliver plates that are cooked individually with care. On you next visit we will provide you with some protection from the avocado tree.
Thanks again,
Susanna and Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Viva La Una!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

They're back!!!! After taking off for the summer of 2012, owners Doug and Susanna returned reinvigorated and added an outstanding upscale dinner menu to go with the great breakfast and lunch menus. Magnifico! Dinner features homemade paté, Carpaccio from sirloin, Caesar salad using the original Tijuana recipe, and entrees such as chunks of Pacific ocean sea bass (not the skinny tail-end stuff most others serve), pan seared wild tuna with crushed pepper, duck, quail, and mucho mas. Plus some of the best wines from Mexico, including the Valle de Guadalupe. Breakfast ranges from fresh-baked croissants with homemade raspberry jam to eggs Benedict; lunch features salads plus the luncheon choice filet mignon with Susanna’s garlic and mushroom sauce). Open 8am-9pm or later, 8-2 on Sundays, closed Tuesdays. You might need reservations on Sundays when diners from Guadalajara drive 30 miles to Ajijic just for lunch and an afternoon strolling on the nearby malecon along Lake Chapala. If you're looking for something special, this is "The One." $$$, ☺☺☺☺☺

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
It is truly a great occasion to recieve such a wonderful review. Thank you very much. You are obviously a person of a very perceptive nature to pick up on some of the finer details of our restaurant. However, I would like to point out that our carpaccio is cut from a fine filet mignon rather than sirloin. This little detail would be difficult to determine by any one other than the chef. Please come back sometime and try us again.
Susanna and Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

A friend pointed me in the direction of La Una, a fairly new, small restaurant in Ajijic. I was so delighted with the owners, staff and food that I returned, each day for breakfast. I have not eaten there for lunch, but my friends have and report it is equally as good for lunch as it is for breakfast. If you like waffles, you need to try them at La Una. The waffles are plate size and not the type that comes pre-made, frozen from Costco's food section. Each breakfast I have had at this well-run restaurant has been wonderful. One of the joys about breakfast at La Una is the fact that there are no loud, chattering customers, such as one experiences at other breakfast of lunch restaurants in Ajijic. The staff is attentive, but not constantly 'in your face'--the food is great the music is soft and on chilly, winter mornings the fireplace is lit. I have taken several friends there for breakfast, and like me, they have been more than pleased. And, yes, if you have a car, there is non-reserved parking in front of La Una.. .

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thanks for the detailed comments. Yor description lets us know that we are reaching our goal for excellence. We only found out yesterday that we are rated on Trip Advisor or we would have responded to your comments earlier. Now that we know, we will promptly respond to all comments.
Thanks again,
Douglas and Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Food excellent in preparation, presentation and selection. Variety of dishes is unusually wide.

Decode is simple but warm and welcoming. By far my best breakfast in Ajijic.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Owner at La Una, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
To receive a nice review, like yours, really warms our heart. It is our aim to pass this warmth back to our wonderful customers.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Una also viewed

Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to La Una? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Una, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.