We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“and free donkey views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yves

Yves
Carretera Poniente 493, Ajijic, Mexico
01 (376) 766-3565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 93 Restaurants in Ajijic
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Bahamas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“and free donkey views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ok, so show my wife a donkey and she’s in love! What a marketing hook…also a neat place. We’ve seen Yves on the malecon walking the various dog menagerie and wanted to swing in to the new place out on the western side of town on the Carratera. Lovely gardens, very attentive service staff but the food was OK. Next time I won’t order fish but will go back again. It’s a very nice evening experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
American in Arabia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was my first foray into the Chapala dining scene and I enjoyed being able to sit in the lovely courtyard. The service was attentive and the food decent, but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ajijic Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Having recently settled in Ajijic, we're just getting familiar with the many really fine restaurants close by. Yves has quickly become a favorite with its wonderful food, relaxing outdoor seating and great service. When you visit, don't be surprised when Yves stops by your table and personally makes sure you are delighted. Oh, and the Sea Bass... Soooo, soooo tasty! Yves is located on the south side of the carretara just as you enter Rancho del Oro a mile or so west of the village.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We would have eaten here several times if we could have found it! Yves needs to update his website because he has relocated from lakeside to a house on the west side carretera. Outdoor seating is next to a pool and they place candelarias all around the garden at dusk; it's a lovely setting. There's a great salad bar, the entrees are delicious, and the margaritas are killer. A varied, international menu with nice desserts that we had no room for them after our great meal! His white donkey, which usually grazes in front, is famous around town.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Oh how I love Yves restaurant - and Yves himself! This is a restaurant where you can feel comfortable and relaxed while you eat your meal. I loved it when it was on the beach, and I love it now that it has moved up to west Ajijic even though the service is a little slower while they work the kinks out of their new kitchen. The food is great, and whether you are dining solo or with a group, the staff is always friendly and courteous.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yves also viewed

 
Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to Yves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.