We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“A healing experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balnearios y Spa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Balnearios y Spa
C / Antonio Lopez Aguado 9, 1 A, Ajijic 28029 , Mexico
+34,902,733,886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 Attractions in Ajijic
Attraction details
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A healing experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a trip! You can swim in the large pools, sun yourself at their edges, or pay extra for the flavored hot tubs. Each of the 8 tubs is infused with a different healing substance, all explained in Spanish (practice those cognates!). You go from tub to tub with your little group, rinsing off inbetween. You are brought cups of tea every so often. The last stop is volcanic mud with which you smear yourself. After it dries, you go into the mud tub and then the steam room. I think I would go for the 5 tub deal--8 was overkill for me. Boy, did I sleep well that night.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to spend the afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

There is something here for everyone.
Loved the tubs of thermal waters-the steam bath-
Had a very deep muscle massage-at a reasonable rate
On sight food is varied-from casual to more refined at the adjoining hotel
Everything was clean and well maintained

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One of the Best Spa's we have ever been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

For $25 Canadian you can spend the day at the spa. With 3 pools heated by the hot springs and 6 different relaxing and detoxifing tina's (hot tubs). Plus you can have a mud bath and there are 2 sauna's and special facial sauna's as well. We thorougly enjoyed ourselves. And it is so relaxing!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Monte Coxala Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a great place, very nice warm springs, many pools with different water temperature, beautiful landscaping.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind and relax.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This natural hot springs spa is a wonderful place to soak your aching bones and sore muscles. However, it is VERY crowded on the weekends, so my recommendation is to only go here on a Tues/Wed/ or Thurs...It's a lovely spot overlooking Lake Chapala. And you can bring your own food and spend the day reading, swimming and soaking in the many different pools.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balnearios y Spa also viewed

 

Been to Balnearios y Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balnearios y Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.