We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Fantastic! What A find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Thai

Simply Thai
Romon Corona #11, Ajijic, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Ajijic
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Phone number is 766-5665
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Fantastic! What A find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I've eaten great Thai food in New York City and Los Angeles and was pleasantly surprised to discover "Simply Thai" in Ajijic while on vacation.
Excellent food and service, not to mention the nice Thai ambience and decor on their outdoor patio.
An oasis and wonderful alternative to Mexican and Continental restaurants in town.
And most important, more affordable than other establishments in Ajijic.
I ate their a few times and it was nice to be able to count on good quality and healthy food while away from home.
I highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Watch out if you have dietary restrictions!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We love Thai food - and the food here is excellent - when we get what we order. We are vegetarian and always specify when we order, no meat, no chicken. Inevitably, at least one dish comes with chicken or meat. The waiters are very good, and take it back, but it means that our meals is always disjointed. Pity. If the cook would smarten up and read the order - and the waiters would check it to make sue it is correct, this could be a first-rate restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We made a number of visits to Simply Thai and were never disappointed. All the food we had was excellent. Great Pad Thai, Yellow Curry and Fried rice to name a few. The restaurant has great ambiance and very good staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Thai Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The food was quite good and the cook stopped by our table for a friendly visit to check on how we liked the dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Good service, quiet ambience, and authentic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We like this place as a change of pace from Mexican food. I used to live in Thailand and have found this place to have authentic food although less spicy than Thailand. Ask them to kick it up a notch if you like spicy food. Portions are large, we often split them or bring some home. They are closed on Thursdays, but this mid-week closure day has changed before, so check to make sure it is open. It is one of the few restaurants in Ajijic that is open for dinner on Sunday. They take reservations.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Thai also viewed

 

Been to Simply Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.