We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Slow service and food that made me sick...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Bodega de Ajijic

La Bodega de Ajijic
Av. 16 de Septiembre 124, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
766-1002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 82 restaurants in Ajijic
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Slow service and food that made me sick...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is a popular spot, as it has entertainment, and expats like to hang out here. They have line-dancing lessons, and karaoke also, as well as other music on different nights. I had a meal here, vegetarian fajitas, and the next day I was quite sick with food poisoning, and ended up at the hospital. So, obviously I do not recommend this restaurant, unless you just want to have a couple of beers and learn how to line-dance...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    10
    10
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great entertainment, borring food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This place get some of the best entertainers of the area. Just rather boring food.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bad food and terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Dont go here. The service was the worst in Ajijic and the food so mediocre it is not worth mentioning. After eating shrimp daily in Mazatlan, this shrimp was tiny, dried up and had no flavor at all. Forget this place.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We eat here often. My wife likes the shrimp a la diabla Felix and I like the cilantro shrimp. The restaurant is on a quiet street (16 de Septiembre) away from the hubbub. It is very popular with expat Americans. There is live music in the evenings, mostly targeted to expat tastes. They accept reservations and Visa and Mastercard.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Entertainment and food for the gringo pallet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The atmosphere is relaxed and congenial that is partly fueled by the entertainment and people there to have an enjoyable time. The times we've been, the entertainment was always interesting fun. The food is more than adequate and geared to please the pallet of most gringos. The resuraunt isn't likely to win awards for the inventive and gastronomically delightful nature of their food, but most items our table order were solidly executed and flavorful.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega de Ajijic also viewed

 
Ajijic, Jalisco
Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to La Bodega de Ajijic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bodega de Ajijic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.