We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Very nice hotel, no problems of any sort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Nueva Posada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Nueva Posada
Save
You added La Nueva Posada to your Saves list
Donato Guerra No.9 | Apdo 30, Ajijic, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Toronto
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, no problems of any sort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We had a large 3rd floor room which allowed us to have a great view of the lake from our balcony and from the side of the balcony we could also see the village in the distance. Very authentic Mexican hotel, beautiful decor, friendly service staff, free Internet service, nice pool.

It's fairly expensive for a small town in Mexico (US$90/night) considering we paid less for better hotels in big cities but then they did not include a free breakfast so overall it's good value for money. They do offer 10% discount for cash so considering that it's not overly pricey. It's a popular spot with the locals and expats, lots of whom meet there for dinners and lunches. Some music on the weekends at dinner, too.

We had no problems with wake up calls and we stayed there for 6 nights but there was no clock/radio in the room. 14 English channels on the TV. They have a small library in case you need something to read.

Nice garden and dining room basically very close to the lake which is just over the wall at the end of the garden. Some good menu choices and plenty of food. I wouldn't say the food was brilliant but it was more than acceptable.

Grocery store and ATM about 4 blocks away and about a 10 minute walk to the heart of the village so it's nicely located at the end of a quiet street. Another restaurant over the road which wasn't bad and had music although they charged us 30 pesos per person for the entertainment. Stay away from the tapas restaurant a few blocks up the road. It's a serious ripoff. The highly rated restaurant FOUR is just up the road. It has a good reputation but we didn't try it as we only realised it was there on our last day. It's a rather low profile place from the outside.

Recommended. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
30
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

STAY HERE!,..this is also a Hotel,..its nice and around 80 dollars per night.
they have 19 rooms,..just ask to be far from the pool,..it get pretty loud in the morning with kids playing around.
You can have lunch at the hotel restaurant which is right by the lake, and for dinner you can walk 2 blocks to Number Four restaurant,...

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale,CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Food was bad, chilaquiles were just a soggy mess with some sort of red sauce....the fresh fruit wasn't so fresh.....asked for a wake up call, never got it. Very loud at night, did not get one good nights sleep. Not elegant, kind of old and run down look.....no tours, they only have one driver which you hire....not too cheap. The pool was dirty, and the bed
uncomfortable. I did like the Huichol art gallery/store across from the hotel.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

My husband and I recently spent two wonderful weeks in the village of Ajijic, Mexico, which is located on beautiful Lake Chapala, about 1 hour south of Guadalajara. We stayed at an extremely lovely hotel called LaNueva Posada (The New Inn), which is located right on the lake. The hotel was as charming as it was clean and the views were like those in a travel brochure.

Our room was only steps away from the swimming pool and was large and comfortably furnished. The bathroom was quite large and each day the linens were replaced. Since I am somewhat handicapped it was wonderful to have the "grab bars" there, just in case. Incidentally, if one needs the internet, they furnish it free to their guests.

The hotel furnished our room with a large bottle of water each day and we ordered whatever we wanted off the menu for breakfast. The hot breakfast was included in the price of the room and was served from 8:00-11:00.

The waiters were warm, friendly, and very efficient and the food was excellent. The kitchen produces such a wonderful choice of dinner items that we ate there quite often. Substitutions were no problem for them since everything is made "to order". The prices were very reasonable and Visa was accepted. Since the weather there is perfect, one can choose to dine inside or outside for any meal. We found that the magnificent flowers and garden were a delightful environment in which to "break bread".

The staff is helpful and their English is fluent. The front desk was available to convert dollars to pesos, call a taxi, give useful advice, and render any help needed. The Inn is family owned and the family is present to make sure that everything is to their guest's satisfaction. If we sound satisfied, you are right. We just made reservations to return for another two week stay this coming June.

LaNueva Posada can be reached by phone or by e-mail........................[----]

Judith and George Hunt
Centennial, Colorado

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

The hotel has beautiful gardens right on the lake front that let you relax and enjoy the scenery and the weather. Located in the middle of a small town, it is the perfect base to explore local culture and businesses. The hotel restaurant is well balanced for a variety of tastes. Breakfast in the garden is unbeatable. There are several nearby night spots for tourists and the staff at the Posada are very friendly, know the area, and are very adept at helping international tourists bridge the communication gaps. Great place to stay, I would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Great value for the money. Good food. Great location. I loved sitting on the patio for meals and looking at the lake. The location is conveient to the bus and local attrations. The staff were friendly and helpful. One suggestion I have is to avoid room 102. While the room was lovely, bed was more than confortable, the location of the room was next to the maids linen closet and they start work around 5a.m. and its directly across from the security gate where you can hear people coming in and out of the gate all night. So it was difficult to sleep early or late. Other than that I would stay there again but not in that room.

  • Liked — The location, comfort of the room, good value for the money
  • Disliked — Where the room was located that I stayed in
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed at the La Nueva Posada from January 14th through the 20th 2009. We were a little cautious as some of the reviews were not so favorable, however we decided to give it a try anyway! I must say this is the most charming, clean, and romantic Inn we have ever stayed. The La Nueva Posada is a small Inn with 23 or so rooms and suites which have either a lake view or view of the San Madre mountains. All of the beautiful flowers with their bold color and the plants are remerkable. We had a third floor superior room with a balcony which over looked Lake Chapala as well as the outdoor dinning patio with it's giant rubber tree, the view was breathtaking! Not to mention the Marichi band which played on the weekend and we could see and hear from our balcony (how romatic is that?) A full breakfast is included in the cost of your room and they do not skimp on anything. The food is wonderful as is the service, thinking about it I can taste the fresh squeezed orange juice, I have never tasted any so good! Our favorite employees were Fernando as well as Juan, they both treated us so well that we feel as though we have made friends for life! Michael the owner of La Nueva Posada (which has been in his family for I believe 73 yrs) truley gives a new meaning to hospitality! I admire how far he goes to make you comfortable, he takes the time to personally talk with you each day as well as being an active part in running the Inn. You may find him visiting with the guests, working in the kitchen, making reservations or any other function to keep everything running smooth and keeping it personal. La Nueva Posada is located in the heart of Ajijic within walking distance to everthing and only a short bus trip to Chapala all at just .50 cents each way. The only thing as wonderful as our stay at La Nueva Posada was the people and I mean the local people..... They make you feel that you belong there and are very friendly! Someone told us that "you will get Ajijic dust in your heart" and you will be back! They were right! Our hearts ache to return to Ajijic and we can't wait to get back! So much so that we will be moving there in the near future! My suggestion is to be sure and visit La Nueva Posada and let a little of that Ajijic dust get into your heart, you won't regret it!

  • Liked — The personal touch, Staff, everything!
  • Disliked — Slow internet, but your on vacation anyway!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Nueva Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Nueva Posada

Address: Donato Guerra No.9 | Apdo 30, Ajijic, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
La Nueva Posada Hotel Ajijic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Nueva Posada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.