We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Great room, except for the carpet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Nueva Posada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Nueva Posada to your Saves list
La Nueva Posada
Donato Guerra No.9 | Apdo 30, Ajijic, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Newmarket, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great room, except for the carpet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at La Nueva Posada at the beginning and the end of our two week trip around Mexico. We arrived late from the airport on our first night, but the very helpful night watchman was expecting us and promptly showed us to our room. Our only complaint about the room was that it was carpeted, and smelled like it had been recently treated with carpet freshener. I don't know why anyone in Mexico would use wall to wall carpeting. The shower was excellent with lots of hot water. The included breakfast was superb in a lovely restaurant. We had to leave fairly early on our second day, so the staff at the restaurant were a bit rushed and I think our first coffee was Nescafe, but otherwise the coffee and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
33
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benbrook, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed five nights during Thanksgiving holiday. Close to everything Ajijic and on the shore of Lake Chapala. We will return. This community may be my retirement home. Gringos from U.S. and Canada are plentiful and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbrook,
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed five days and couldn't have found a better place right on Lake Chapala. The food was great, the owner was so nice and the place was kept clean. The whole town of Ajijic, Mexico was fantastic. A quaint little place with more gringos than Mexicans. We met a lot of nice expats that have lived there for years and couldn't say enough about how they loved it. A small village with a big heart and great food all around.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor (no elevators) that faced the lake. We slept with out balcony door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The owners and attendants were all very accommodating even before we set foot upon this charming little place. They answered all of our questions in a timely and professional manner. Our children were welcomed and that made our experience even more pleasurable. The owner made every effort to make us feel content. The entire trip was well organized thanks to their suggestions. We are happy to recommend this beautiful lake haven to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spent two weeks in Ajijic at the La Nueva Posada and it exceeds as described. The three course breakfast was awesome very day and is included in the rate. The service is outstanding. Mike and his staff go the extra above and beyond making you welcome and at home. I will definitely go back and I hope it is very soon. Loved Ajijic and the weather is the greatest! Don't hesitate to make this your home in Ajijic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I lived in Ajijic when I was a kid and really got to know the town when it was a true Mexican village with a small American expat community of artists and writers (1973). When I was there the posada was right across from my house. My old house is now a shop called Mi Ajijic. The old posada is now a restaurant, which is why I couldn't find it at first. The Nueva Posada is several blocks down on Donato Guerra,but still on the lake. Despite my initial disorientation I found it and totally fell in love with it. It's run by the Eager family, who although they're American by birth are truly connected to their Mexican community. The style is classic Mexican Spanish colonial and the staff not only helped us plan fun excursions, but also helped me connect to the Ajijic of my youth. The food at the Posada is classic Jalisco Mexican, the service is great, and the setting is even better than the original Posada. Given my original 1970's pre invasion experience of Ajijic I was afraid I wouldn't recognize the place, but I found that although much had changed, Ajijic had retained its essential Mexican quality. The Nueva Posada was part of this. It feels like an authentic part of the village.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

There is no better place to stay or to eat in Ajijic. I live here, have for almost four years, and the Eagers are my dear friends. I cannot say enough good about the hotel, the restaurant, of the owners.
All of us who live here feel the same. My son (from L.A.), my sister (from southern Indiana) both agree with me. This is possibly the best and most comfortable hotel in Mexico, owned by a Canadian/ Mexican family. Try it!!!

Room Tip: I would choose the second floor; all face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Nueva Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Nueva Posada

Address: Donato Guerra No.9 | Apdo 30, Ajijic, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Nueva Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Nueva Posada Hotel Ajijic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Nueva Posada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.