We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Charming & Picturesque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta del Sol
Save
You added Quinta del Sol to your Saves list
Independencia # 29 | in the Heart of Ajijic Village, Ajijic 45920, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Ajijic B&B and Inns
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
“Charming & Picturesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A quick note to thank Eleanor & Rick for a wonderful weekend at their B&B. It is indeed charming! We enjoyed the calm, relaxing time we spent there and enjoyed our talks about Ajijic with them. Can't really add much to other reviews. It is a place as stated and we enjoyed it very much. Perhaps someday we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
106
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Indeed a great place to stay! From the beautiful gardens to the wonderful breakfasts, this is why they get such good reviews. A B&B is more than just a place to sleep and Quinta proves this again and again! Sleeping is wondefrful on comfy mattresses (Mexico remember usually has rock hard mattresses) with silky sheets. A cool breeze from the patio doors cools the room nicely. The main room and dining room where breakfast is served are both tastefully decorated in Mexican style and inviting with a basket of snacks on the table and a tea cart loaded with cordials for a night cap in front of the fireplace. Of course there are books about Mexico and Ajijic as well as novels for some quiet time. We didn't use the pool but it was clean and inviting looking. Now for the main course - a breakfast to last the day! Whatever you wish starting with homemade pastries, fresh fruit & smoothies and followed by omlets made to order or yummy orange french toast.
Quinta is located right in town near to everything and Eleanor is helpful with ideas for dining. Hope to be able to return someday.

Room Tip: La Casita is near to the pool and has a private terrace. If you ask, Eleanor will bring you coffee t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

As said, Quinta del Sol is a jewel in the sunny town of Ajijic. Set on the shores of Lake Chapala, a quaint artsy village in the mountainous areas south of Guadlajara, this B&Bis more than just right. Just a small place with 3 rooms but large in every way! From the street, the place looks somewhat small but everything is about depth... deep lush gardens that offer peace & quiet to all. High ceilings and large beautiful rooms with Mexican charm and color. Comfortable beds and bedding (in Mexico) a clean pool and a nice breakfast. More? Yes there is more! The owners are very hospitable. If you need or want something, they are happy to provide it. Good suggestions on restaurants, sightseeing etc. This is our first visit and probably won't be our last. We were qwith friends who stay here every year and they sure did pick well. Thanks Tiki!

Room Tip: La Casita has a very large (brand new) walk in shower. Plenty of hot water AND water pressure. and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

For us this was our first trip to Ajijic, exploratory in nature for possible retirement relocation. We chose Quinta del Sol based on other reviews and were not disappointed. The property is lovely, lush in the smmer rainy season. The rooms are elegant, tastefully done and comfortable. For us the best feature was the wonderful hosts, Eleanor and Rick. They were helpful in every way. Just what we needed when trying to decide if Ajijic was right for us. They have lived in Ajijic for 5 years and were happy to engage in conversation or answer questions big and small. We are still a few years away from our decision and will likely return in different seasns and will stay again at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed at the Quinta del Sol for 3 devine days in April. The Inn is charming beyond belief. So Mexican yet modern and convenient to all the local places, art galleries, restaurants etc. We simply loved it. Eleanor, the hostess, owner is wonderful. She accomodates your every wish. Her food and snacks are good, but her gentle spirit is better. The breakfasts are so complete but if you ask for something different, it will be there the following day. Smoothies, eggs, mango pancakes (yum) just everything. And there is a snack tray with chocolates and salty snacks and also a liquor cart, all INCLUDED. If she catches you enjoying the pool or sitting in the garden reading, cookies will show up.
DId I mention the rooms yet? King beds, so comfortable, large bathrooms and balconies. We loved it. We hope to return one day to enjoy this paradise again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We came here for a short vacation from the city and found a beautiful paradise right in the center of Ajijic. We were very pleased with our room and the mountain view and breezes. The bed was a very good quality and the decoration nice. Eleanor & Richard are very warm people who make your stay special. Eleanor is a good cook and makes a different breakfast, very good every morning. You can eat at whatever time you want. Other places we stayed in Ajijic stop making breakfast too early but here you can eat at 11 in the morning or even later. The food is plenty. Richard makes sure you are happy in his garden. His pool is clean and warm. The house is near to the lake and Tango restaurant. We want to return again soon.

Room Tip: la mariposa has a view of the mountains and a private terrace for relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I are Belgian. But our comments with our European eyes, are the same as the orther guests: perfect stay!!! We were really happy to stay in this great guest house in Ajijic. The guest house, as well as the village are really worth a couple of days visit! Don't hesitate to discover the "bohemian atmosphere" of Ajijic. Very active community, a lot of events all the year. Nice places to eat, a beautiful and clean beach front, where you can walk or run any time of the day. I would recommend to visit other villages too, along the Lake Chapala. Car rental is easy and good value for money. Beach front in Chapala so great too, nice place to eat in Yocotepec (as La Iguana de Piedra). Eleanor is really a chef ! Everything is homemade and organic for breakfast: so delicious smoothies, scones and muffins, fruit, ... The room is big, well decorated in a real Mexican style. Fridge in your room. Everything is close from the house. We had a car and it was easy and safe to park. Just 45 minutes max from Guadalaraja. We will come back, for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta del Sol

Address: Independencia # 29 | in the Heart of Ajijic Village, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique B&B in the heart of Ajijic. Each of it's 3 suites is individually decorated and complete with a terrace or balcony, fireplace, private bath, fridge etc. Only 2 -3 blocks from the pier, town square, restaurants, and art galleries. It's truly a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.