We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Telares

Los Telares
Morelos 6, Ajijic, Mexico
(376) 766-0428
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 100 Restaurants in Ajijic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Orangevale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stopped in at Los Telares one afternoon for a nice cold beer and found the gardens to be beautiful. The menu looked great so went back for dinner a few nights later. The sea bass was served with a tomatoes, onions, and caper salsa and was delicious! Fish perfectly cooked and the tomato salsa didn't overpower the delicate fish. The steamed veggies were spot on - not too crunchy and not to mushy. Unfortunately, it was a slow evening and I was the only person there. This good food deserves more customers. Fortunately, since it was a slow evening I had the opportunity to talk to Ricardo about the area which was a bonus since I was there to see if I could relocated to Ajijic. Service was excellent and the margarita was pretty tasty. I will be back on my return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, good food, great live guitar music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had a very good dinner here, especially the soup as a first course. They serve wine generously, and the service was first rate, friendly and happy! The garden setting is quite lovely, too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“good service and surroundings, food was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I had an arrachera (flank steak) for 135 pesos with a Nochebuena beer (30 pesos). The steak was OK, but the baked potato and grilled onions were lukewarm, perhaps not even that. The meat was of good size, probably about 16oz, and it was delivered medium rare, although I ordered it medium. For a free appetizer, they had ceviche, which was OK. This place could do a bit better with the food, with relatively little more effort. Make sure your meal is hot, or ask for them to heat it for you if not.

The waiters were friendly and the waiting time for my food was about 15 minutes. It was 2pm and the restaurant was about the 1/3 full.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings in which to enjoy a delicious well prepared meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Osso buco was fabulous. Many delicious menu items from which to choose. Live soft music and beautiful environment in which to dine. One of my favorite places to eat in Ajijic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“go Fridays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I go Fridays with a group for 2x1 drinks and the best guitar player in town ....there isn't a song he doesn't know .....food is average ... the atmosphere is great ....BEAUTIFUL GARDENS

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Telares also viewed

 
Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to Los Telares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Telares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.