We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Specials are good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Nueva Posada

La Nueva Posada
Donato Guerra 9, Ajijic, Mexico
(376) 766-1344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 82 restaurants in Ajijic
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, International, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: “Ajijic's most unique and romantic Boutique Hotel”Hotel La Nueva Posada is classified as a small boutique Hotel with Mexican Colonial charm and yet with all the modern amenities.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Specials are good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The decor and service is very good.You can eat inside or out in the lovely garden court yard at back.There is also is a sit down bar.They have a different special every day for $ 75.00 pesos that include a glass of wine served from lunch to closing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    21
    29
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, bad timing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had the honeymoon suite and it was wonderful. The hotel is located in the village of Ajijic but on a street that is out of the main noise area. The room was very spacious, the breakfast was wonderful, the entire staff was friendly and helpful. It was almost the perfect stay. The only downside is that they were (are?) doing construction at the hotel and it was quite noisy during the day, so much so that it was not possible to take a nap or even to sit and relax on what could have been a very relaxing environment.

I would definitely recommend the hotel but I would advise calling in advance to be sure that the construction is finished if that sort of thing is important to you.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel very good food ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights when we first arrived in ajijic. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms clean and comfortable and the view from the balcony breathtaking. The outdoor seating was to live for but we were disappointed somewhat with the food. Breakfast was included and was very good. But dinner wasn't great. I had fish and it tasted as if it wasnt cooked properly. The atmosphere both inside and out is beautiful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Views, Varied Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

La Nueva Posada has an eclectic menu for both lunch and dinner. The dishes are well executed and service is attentive and obliging. It's outdoor setting, overlooking the lake, is spectacular and the kind owner (Mr. Eager) is much in evidence, making sure all is well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Landmark restaurant slipping away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This traditional favorite for all occasions is on a slide, perhaps a result of local crime-induced reduced tourism and patronage. We have eaten here several times each of the past three years to enjoy the fine ambience in and out, and good, reasonable food. Until recently the service was slow but tolerable; now less so. Three weeks ago we attended to get the popular daily special to find it was not available because the fryer was broken. One week ago we attended at dinner, with only two tables of twelve occupied (seven other people). Forty minutes after we ordered (the daily special) the waiter came to inform us our dinner was on the way, which it was, seven minutes later. A few minutes later the table with five, which had already ordered when we arrived, also received the daily special. The wait staff on the past few visits has been lackadaisical, as the kitchen staff apparently is also. At least the food is good (not remarkable, though) and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nueva Posada also viewed

 

Been to La Nueva Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Nueva Posada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.