We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and atmosphere but a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Almazara Gastrobar

Almazara Gastrobar
Free way from ensenada to tecate km 84.5, Valle de Guadalupe, Mexico
+52 646 156 8048
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Californian, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
1 review
“Very good food and atmosphere but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Food was very good( except the salad... Ok but pricey) the service was excellent and the place is incredible. Must visit. The Lamb was the best plate we tried.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a beautiful setting. We loved it so much we went back twice in one weekend. It's a perfect spot for lunch with the views of the vineyards and the mountains. We sat by the chef's garden and ate and drank beautiful local produce. The staff were lovely. What can I say but if you have the chance go.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service - Excelente comida y servicio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had lunch (Mexico time : 2:00 pm) last Friday at the restaurant. It is already a bit off season, so the restaurant was empty.
Better for us !!! we received pristine service, from the first moment, including a visit by the chef.

The food was great, in perfect sized portions, and with great taste. It was 5 people in our party. I tried the Carrileras de Res (beef cheeks) and were excellent. The food is contemporary mexican.
This is fine dining in a casual setting, so you won't find fries and a burger, having said that the prices are fair for the quality and quantity.

The wine list includes many local (Valley) wineries.


The view of the olive trees and vines complements the meal perfectly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We cruised in for a late lunch and hung out on the patio... the building and atmosphere is amazing. So is the service. Food was great... we had some assorted items to share. Would definitely return... Miguel was great...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The food was awsome, had several dishes and they were all very good, beats carpaccio, grilled roman lettuce salad with prosciutto, borrego tacos, etc, you cant go wrong. The patio is beautifull but have to admit there are other restaurants also with great food and a little better valle scenery

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almazara Gastrobar also viewed

Valle de Guadalupe, Baja California Norte
Valle de Guadalupe, Baja California Norte
 
Valle de Guadalupe, Baja California Norte
Valle de Guadalupe, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Almazara Gastrobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almazara Gastrobar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.