We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa with fantastic hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe Guadalupe Vineyards & Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valle de Guadalupe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adobe Guadalupe Vineyards & Inn
Save
You added Adobe Guadalupe Vineyards & Inn to your Saves list
Rt. 3 past Guadelupe, Valle de Guadalupe, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa with fantastic hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The millers have a beautiful setting here with a wonderful pool, great wines and authentic Mexican breakfast. Excellent wines on property with a very educational tasting as well. We loved our stay & will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went there for the wine tasting, it was really good, the place is beautiful, out of a hollywood movie just fantastic. The wines really good and also they produce a good olive oil, very impressive. They gave us a tour of the property and showed us the beautiful rooms.I want to go back and stay in this place. You need to call if you want to go for the wine tasting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This beautiful B&B and winery is located in a quaint valley between the major towns of Tecate and Ensenada Mexico. We were amazed at the architecture and grandeur of the buildings as well as the detail to ensure customer comfort and security. There is a guard at the entrance to the property which makes you feel reassured. The breakfast was superb and filling which is cooked in front of you while you are sitting with other guests. The owners also came and chatted with us then took us on a tour of the winery and cave. This B&B has become the best experience we have had and will invite friends and family in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Adobe Guadalupe B&B, also a winery and equestrian training center, is a simply gorgeous resort. We arrived there on 12/29 and left on 12/31. There are only 6 rooms; guests have the run of the place other than, of course, the owners' quarters. The friendly owners, the Millers, are in plain sight -- you will see them at the inviting long table in the kitchen during breakfast or, if you choose to eat dinner at the resort, in the dining room, or simply just in passing.

We drove to Adobe Guadalupe from San Diego, crossing the border at Tecate. Navigating out of Tecate when going to the Valle de Guadalupe or San Felipe is, in our experience, preferable to heading south out of Tijuana or Mexicali. The real benefit is that on return, the border crossing wait time is dramatically shorter. There is nothing worse than enjoying a stay in Baja, then being stuck at the border for hours trying to return to the U.S. -- a real mood destroyer!

We followed directions provided in Adobe Guadalupe's web site. The final leg of the trip took is up a bumpy dirt road. Visitors must stop at a sentry point; a list is consulted, a gate is opened - not electronically but by hand -- and you're in! The buildings are surrounded by acres and acres of vineyards which in turn are fenced in by mountains.

One of the first things we noticed on arrival was a bunch of Weimaraners dancing in the parking lot. As we later learned, there are eight of these blonde beauties on site. Jack is the oldest and he is a grump. The dogs have the run of the property; you may feel a cold nose on your ankle at breakfast. We were greatly amused by these guys, but for anyone afraid of or annoyed by dogs, their presence could be a drawback to a relaxing stay.

We were welcomed by Lucy, who gave us a tour of the property as well as a big glass of house wine -- in this case, Gabriel 2009, a delicious vino tinto -- and my favorite of all the wine we tasted over the next 2 days. We had reserved massages for before dinner -- one hour of total bliss! (A.G. offers a menu of options -- massages, dinner, horseback riding -- not included in the price of the room.) Then we were taken to the resort's wine cellar for a tasting -- fun and informative, too! Dinner was delicious, the courses accompanied by generous wine pourings and a round of mezcal!

The next morning, we enjoyed the standard breakfast: fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, eggs cooked to order, bacon, guacamole, tortillas. Fortified, we explored the grounds. A highlight was touring the stable, "meeting" the horses, and observing equestrian manager Marci train a future star.

Note: Those riding horseback will be escorted by at least 3 Weimaraners.

We visited several Valley wineries, the Russian Museum, and the local (ejido) graveyard -- a ggod, the bad and the ugly kind of day. The graveyard visit was literally shocking: we saw grassy mounds topped by wooden crosses, banks of fake flower offerings, horse and cattle hoofprints -- and droppings, broken glass, and heartfelt memorials to loved ones.

One strong recommendation: Dona Lupe Winery, behind L.A. Cetto - They offer an astonishing variety of jams, olive oils, salsas, and more.

We had our second night dinner at the Hacienda Guadalupe -- in our opinion, it didn't measure up to the hype. The meals were unimaginatively prepared and too salty. Our dinner at AG was much better in terms of flavor, freshness -- and ambiance.

Americans, fearful of violence, are increasingly reluctant to visit Mexico. The clientele for Adobe Guadalupe used to be 75% Americans, 25% Mexicans. Now the ratios are reversed. The Mexican tourists are coming over from the Mainland to visit the wine country --- and the Americans are staying home. How unfortunate! Mexico is a treasure.

As for Adobe Guadalupe -- strongly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We arrived at the hacienda and were instantly impressed. We were a group of 8, so we had 4 of the 6 rooms reserved. Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice glass of wine. The property is amazing, the kitchen inviting, the vineyards lovely, and the service absolutely warm and welcoming. We had the pleasure of having breakfast with Mr. Miller, the owner, and Mrs. Miller chatted with us and made sure we were comfortable. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The floors are tile, not carpet, and while there are area rugs around the bed, slippers might come in handy in the colder months.There are no keys for the bedrooms, which some may find uncomfortable. The doors lock from the inside, so when going to bed one is able to lock the door. We felt absolutely safe at all times. The bathrooms are well cared for and fully equipped with toiletries and hair dryer, robes, etc. Breakfast is served in the gourmet kitchen and was tasty. In the evening our group of 8 gathered in one of the grand rooms, played the piano, and sipped on wine. The wood burning fireplace made it all extra cozy. There is a pool and a hot tub, both which we did not use due to cold weather. The hacienda has a beautiful courtyard, fountains, and the wine tasting room is just steps away. This place is a perfect spot to get away from it all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I no words to describe the magic of this Bed and Breakfast.
M

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

An enchanting location with a magnificent hacienda. The gourmet four course dinner prepared by Chef Marta was incredible along with the award winning wines from this winery. The chef knows exactly how to entice the palate, and exactly the perfect portions of food to serve so that it leaves you feeling completely satisfied without feeling like you overate. The owner and host Tru Miller is an absolute delight, make sure you sit at her table for dinner. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adobe Guadalupe Vineyards & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Guadalupe Vineyards & Inn

Address: Rt. 3 past Guadelupe, Valle de Guadalupe, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Valle de Guadalupe
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Valle de Guadalupe
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Adobe Guadalupe Vineyards And Inn
Adobe Guadalupe Vineyards Hotel Valle De Guadalupe
Adobe Guadalupe Valle De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adobe Guadalupe Vineyards & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.