We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato to your Saves list
Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Domicilio Conocido, Punta Chivato 23000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chivato
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a historical hotel built in the 60s as a fly-in retreat for the rich and famous to go fishing. The building reminded of me old national park lodges. It was built using rock from the local mountains that is very tastefully combined with dark wood. The place is beautiful, placed on a bluff overlooking Sea of Cortez and mountains in the distance, surrounded by miles and miles of beaches covered in shells. We stayed in an economy room that was very nice, with its own little patio, comfortable bed, nicely decorated. They also had junior suites right on the water that were quite a bit more expensive. The place is lovingly being cared for. Immaculately clean, and the gardens are well maintained, with pieces of art mixed in. There is an outside seating right above the water, and a classy dining room with a bar. We happened to be the only guests there, without a reservation, so food selection was limited, but quite good. Good Margaritas, and nice cold beer. Nice fruit plate as part of a breakfast, and good coffee. If you have special diet requirements, call ahead, and maybe bring some emergency food with you. We used couple of sit on top kayaks to paddle around, which was a great fun. It was nice and warm one day, and little cooler and foggy the next day, but I was swimming in the sea anyway. There is a beach with easy access next to a shaded cabana right in front of the hotel. Pelicans and herons like to sit on the rocks right outside the restaurant. We LOVED our stay and want to come back.
Also the staff couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and professional.
A good Internet connection is available in the public areas.
The pool is beautiful and was tempting, but I prefer swimming in the waves. Both would probably too cold for some people in February.
Getting to Punto Chivato was not an issue for us, but we are hardy travellers in a 4WD truck that gets dirty and driven wherever. That being said, the dirt oad was totally acceptable for a 2WD car driving slowly. Wach for a settlement Palo Verde if driving on Hwy1 from north. The turn is at the end of the settlement and marked only with a faded sign, we missed it and had make a U-turn. It would be quite possible to do a day trip to San Ignacio to see the whales, and to Mulege ,but once you get to Punta Chivato, you may just never want to leave...Ever....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    7
    5
    12
See reviews for
3
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cormeilles-en-Parisis, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hello, we are a family (2 adults and 1 child) and our last experience at la Posada de Las Flores in Punta Chivato was really bad especially due to the manager.

We came just for one night and during this night, 14th to 15th August 2012, there was a big storm, so when we had to leave the posada in the morning to go back to Loreto, the only advice from this manager was to be careful with the mud. In fact, the 18km trail-way was very very difficult without a 4wheels car (we have a standard one). After 11km, we were stopped in front of the river which crossed the road due to the rain and we were not be able to cross it. So we tried to phone the hotel but nobody answered. Then after 1hour waiting without any help, we decided to return to the posada. When we arrived at the hotel at 3pm the only word of the manager was that the kitchen was closed but due to exceptional condition you can have a burger!!!! : and what is your plan? We had no advice from him except that maybe we can wait and try again to cross in the evening. At 5pm we decided to try again the trail-way but we have to wait one hour the manager for a problem in the checking out and for a bottle of water we bought !!! Then we met some other tourists who came back from the trail way and got the same problem with the river so we decided to wait one more night as it was too late to leave. As no junior suite were available (we had a junior suite the previous night), the manager give us two standard rooms explaining that it was exceptional to switch room from Loreto to Punta Chivato due to bad weather conditions. The 2 standard rooms were not close from one to another but at the opposite... but then in the morning, we saw that one standard beside ours was free...
The last point is that all tourists decided to leave the hotel very early to have a chance to cross the river before a new storm arrives. The manager did know that we have to leave very early too and did not help us (no wake up call, no breakfast even not a coffee). No help from him and the staff for our luggage.
At the end the hotel van leaved just 5mns before us with other tourists with 4 wheel car so we have to drive fast to catch them before the river as we did not want to be alone to cross in case of problems. The manager should have told the driver to wait for us as the situation was special and the driving very dangerous.

His attitude was just irresponsible and not in respect with a situation crisis as it was. In fact, he didn t care at all of what could happen to his customers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Posada de las Flores for 4 nights during our honeymoon trip to Baja . There aren't enough words to describe what a magical and special place this is. After a several hour drive from San Diego we finally reached the Resort exhausted but so excited once we caught a glimpse of it .
Check-in was quick and easy. The beauty of the hotel itself is jaw-dropping, the desert gardens perfectly manicured, and the air intoxicating. Every single staff member we encountered had a smile on their face and were willing to do whatever they could to make your stay more pleasurable.

The room was beautifully decorated with an authentic Mexican flavour. . We stayed in a Suite and enjoyed the extra outside space that this had. One the first night we were came back after dinner to find a romantic set up with champagne and candles.

The pool area was amazing. Super comfortable chairs and the service was great. Food was off the charts, so fresh, so well prepared.

Overall it was one of the most amazing places we have ever been to. We have traveled a lot and stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels worldwide and this place ranks up there as one of the most special and unique experiences we've ever had.

Room Tip: Try the suites. The view is unique and the space is like an apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We spent one nite here...Junior Suite. Great staff...incredible setting and view. The garden and grounds are very well maintained. This is a 20 year old hotel showing a little wear in the rooms and the windows don't open so there's no cross breeze which can be stuffy as not all rooms had ceiling fans.
This is an off the grid hotel so we didn't mind that the generators were off from 10-12 and 3-5 daily and meals are served at specific times.. However...as far as food goes, this is where the hotel slips a little. There is no menu choice. You are served whatever meal they have cooked which for some this can be an interesting surprise..for others, not so. I am allergic to all fish/seafood and they were able to accommodate me. Our meals: Breakfast: fruit bowl/yogurt/eggs/toast Lunch: basic grilled fish (no sauces) /or chicken/rice/chopped tomatoes Dinner: shredded beef w/ carrots and mashed potatoes/ice cream.
Enjoyed it enough we would definitely return here. Yes..some mentioned how far it is off the highway---but some places are just worth the drive on a dirt road.

Room Tip: The suites have the best views...but the smallest rooms were nice and altho they didn't have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamul, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Posada de las Flores with two other couples from April 1-April 3, 2012. The junior suite rooms are gorgeous, with sunken conversation pits and king size beds. Large bathroom with large shower too. The patio areas are just as amazing as all of the photos in the website. All that the property was advertised to be. Drawback--10 miles of rough dirt road from Highway 1 to hotel. I hope they get enough business to stay open!

One of the rooms a couple was in did have gnats or something that bit them throughout the night. The food was pricey, but the shrimp dishes were really good, as were the refried beans, guacamole, and tortillas.

The power & water are off from 12:00PM to 3:00PM, so be sure to time your showers accordingly. Wifi was very unreliable.

Room Tip: Be sure to pay the $ to get a Junior Suite--the location is really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We hadn´t taken the time to do a review of our trip to Posada las Flores Chivato in 2009, but it's time to do it. We recommend this resort, especially the hospitality of the manager Yafeth or Jafeth, he and his team made ​​us very wonderful stay. To begin, this hotel is not for people accustomed to all-inclusive resorts like Cabo, this hotel has something very special, especially the sunsets and service, getting there was hard by dirt road. The rooms are really beautiful in a hacienda style with an art, we were in the room 850 at the end of the junior suites, the food at the restaurant is substantial but with good taste, the beaches near the hotel are exquisite, cleaning and treatment of our room was phenomenal. Simply we have recommended and of course return as soon as possible. thanks Posada!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Posada is a really unique place in a unique location. The dirt road leading to the property can be dealt with a normal car, not necessarily a 4WD as I read in other reviews. On the road choice, be aware that the latest TomTom map for Mexico does NOT have the best route (from Palos Vertes, or something similar) mapped, it instead knows only a road from San Bruno which is 4 times worse (the only good thing about it is the we encountered 2-3 coyotes and a road runner, unbelivable!). The location, as said, is wonderful. You can see great sunset, watch dolphins passing by, etc. What you have to know in advance is that there is almost nothing else in the neighbourhood, i.e. you have no alternative choices for eating, meaning that a full board is your only option. On the food: the choice is very limited, because the restaurant does not offer a menu from which you can select, you have one starter, one main course and one dessert at dinner, just the main course at lunch. Frankly, this could be improved a lot... Rooms are wonderful, elegant and spacious with an ample bathroom (we were in a sea view junior suite). The sleep quality can be improved by lowering the noise of the AC, definitely too noisy. Prices are on the high range for Baja California, but for a couple willing to rest and relax this is definitely a go-to choice. It really depends on your expectations: if you want a resort with all amenities, this is not the place... Anyway, I fully agree with those reviews saying that services can be better. It's not like staff is not nice to guests (they are very friendly!), but the thing is: when you pay a price which is absolutely higher than average in Baja, you would expect to have flexibility, and that's not the case!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato

Address: Domicilio Conocido, Punta Chivato 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Punta Chivato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chivato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the pristine waters of Santa Ines Bay, the legendary Hotel Punta Chivato reopened on August 1st 2000 under a new name: Posada de las Flores Punta Chivato. The property covers an extension of 7.5 acres in front of the Sea. Decoration blends the desert landscapes and deep blue sea with the Mexican - Colonial architecture of this resort. Punta Chivato is 56 km South Santa Rosalia, 42 km North Mulege and 182 km from Loreto's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Las Flores - Punta Chivato Hotel Punta Chivato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.