We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Baja” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato to your Saves list
Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Domicilio Conocido, Punta Chivato 23000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chivato
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best place in Baja”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

In my twenty five years of travel around the world this is still my favorite place to chill out and hide from work. Always clean, and so quiet that you can hear the stars twinkle at night. The food is good and the staff always helpful. The views from the hotel are fantastic. The rooms keep getting better over the years, now with down comforters other little amenities. The place is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. You can drive in, fly to Loreto and get a ride or fly into the little dirt airstrip. The airstrip is always in good shape and I have never had a problem landing there. There is free internet even though you are way off grid. The power goes out twice a day, but who cares? If your looking to relax - this is the place.

  • Liked — Location, quality of hotel
  • Disliked — Could not stay longer
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    7
    5
    13
See reviews for
3
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

As with a former reviewer I am sorry that I didn't post earlier! My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago and we just LOVED IT! the people were SO friendly and room right on the water was gorgeous and made you feel like you were in a private estate!
the food was fabulous and pool was clean and refreshing...
we are italian from new york and had the most wonderful time with the management and staff!
we also took their recommendation and went to LORETO to posada de las flores there and it was ALSO TOP OF THE LINE...
in both places the staff helped us with places to explore and things to do etc..
what a refreshing trip we were so sick of hirise hotels with same old service etc...this was elegant but also authentic i felt like we were back in time in mexico or italy!

don't miss this....take the tours in la paz and loreto and mulege and stay at all three hotels! you will brag about it for years!

can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — OVERALL AMBIANCE! top notch service!
  • Disliked — wish it was closer to home so we could go more often!
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consultor, KRISTHIAN ALEJANDRO MARTINEZ ACOSTA OPERATIONS MANAGER at Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato, responded to this review, August 22, 2007
Thank you for your comments, we invite you to see our new website that includes our new suites, boutique and special services that we have. Also we suggests visit our section of tours for see what you can do in local area. Thank you again for stay with us.

Kristhian Martinez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

This place is a lovely boutique hotel located on a remote point near Muleje in Baja, California. Driving requires that you traverse the final few miles across a dusty washboard road, but alas the drive is worth it! During our stay, there were only a few other people at the resort. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Food was quite
tasty. Rooms are nicely decorated with a Mexican/Italian flair. There
is a beautiful shell beach located just up the beach to the right of the hotel and a fabulous snorkeling area just down the beach to the left. Hotel offers free use of mountain bikes and kayaks. Nightime is
perfect for star gazing as there is limited outdoor lights to detract
from your view of the stars. If you are looking for a 5-star generic US hotel, I suggest you not visit, but if you are looking for an off-the-beaten path, place to explore, relax and experience something different - then Posada de las Flores Punta Chivato is highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location - Views are Amazing
  • Disliked — Poorly marked directions if driving
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consultor, OPERATIONS MANAGER at Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato, responded to this review, July 1, 2007
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.For us always is very important know what the guest feel in our resort.
For see our new suites and master suite visit our web site.

Warm regards

Kristhian Martinez Acosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

I wish I had written about our experience at Posada de las Flores right after our stay, but after reading a couple of the reviews, I just had to add mine, now 1.5 years later. My husband and I stayed there for 4 days of our 10 day honeymoon. It was definitely one of the most magical places I've ever experienced. Set in a quiet cove, right on the waters edge - this boutique hotel offers nothing but warmth. The staff were lovely (Juan always entertained us), the food was delicious (at one point we purchased scallops from local fisherman he had just caught and the chef made us scallop ceviche, delicious!!). We hiked, took the mountain bikes and kayaks that the hotel provided and explored the point, took a boat out to the see the marine life and seals, but mostly just sat in the sand and enjoyed this little oasis. The rooms are all furnished in Italian imports and are kept clean and beautifully detailed. I recommend Posada de las Flores at Punta Chivato, for those looking for a little R&R in Baja.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consultor, OPERATIONS MANAGER at Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato, responded to this review, July 1, 2007
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.For us always is very important know what the guest feel in our resort.
For see our new suites and master suite visit our web site.

Warm regards

Kristhian Martinez Acosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

It just cost a lot.
It's not desert at all, near the hotel there are villas and when I was there they were building new rooms.
Awful service, you have hours to respect for go to dinner and you have to choose what you want to eat in the morning.
Lunch is just a sandwich.
Electricity it's not on the whole day.
No clean towels, you can't change them.
Beach bar abandoned.
TV on room didn't work, no video recorder, no hairdryer.
Be aware! They steal you money! It's so expensive.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consultor, Operations Manager, Kristhian Martinez A. at Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato, responded to this review, November 3, 2006
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Did you at any time request to speak to a manager during your stay? I am sorry to hear that your experience at Punta Chivato was less than expected. the last 20 comments in our records are very good, actually we have a new chef and operations manager, all our menus was redesigned with several options, we change everyday our menu for dinner and we have options for lunch and our breakfast is enough. We recommend for all our future guest see our policies in our website about electricity we online turn of the light one hour per day, about towels we have enough towels and hairdryers and normally we solve any problem in 10 – 20 minutes, only you need to report in front desk. Please see more about us in tclub dot com and also in our website we have 8 years working in this area that is beautiful.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2004

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Posada de Las Flores in Punta Chivato and are so happy we discovered the place. Since the hotel is situated right on the coast with mostly desert all around it, it is a perfect place to getaway. There are some homes in the area, and one tiny store up the dirt road from it, but that is it. By no means is it a resort style hotel, but it is all-inclusive. The location is truly spectacular and the hotel is very well appointed with rustic yet elegant Mexican decor and art work. There are 10 ocean front jr. suites and also several standard rooms. We stayed in a suite and each suite opens to the terrace with an amazing view of the water.

The hotel provides all three meals as part of the daily rate and the food is plenty. There is complementary coffee service that is brought to your door and set up right on the terrace. There are no phones, coffee machine, or microwave in the rooms, but there is mini-bar with fridge. Each suite also has a TV that works only with the VCR and movies can be checked out from the front office. There is a TV in the restaurant with satelite service.

The hotel also provides, free of charge, use of several kayaks, snorkel gear, safety vests, as well as a chess set and other games. There is a ping pong table and a tennis court. A pool is part of the hotel, but we spent most of our time at the beach.

There is definitely a lot to do or nothing at all, depending upon your preference. If you want a big resort feel and lots of nightlife, this is not the place. But if you want to enjoy the beauty of the area, lots of down time and just be, we highly recommend it.

You can travel to the hotel either by flying into Loreto and taking the highway and a bumpy dirt road (2.5 to 3 hrs), or you can fly your own plane directly there. There is a dirt landing strip that has been used since the '60's when the hotel was first built. The current owner took over the place in 1997 and has renovated the place with plans of more work to come. The Italian hotelier also has two other Posada de Las Flores properties: one in Loreto (which is also beautiful) and one in La Paz.

There are a couple of towns within driving distance: Mulege to the south and Santa Rosalia to the north with shopping in each. A must see is the Bahia de Concepcion with its warm turquoise waters and good snorkeling.

Our stay was thorogughly enjoyable, very relaxing and well worth the drive from Loreto. It really is the jewel of the desert!!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato

Address: Domicilio Conocido, Punta Chivato 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Punta Chivato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chivato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the pristine waters of Santa Ines Bay, the legendary Hotel Punta Chivato reopened on August 1st 2000 under a new name: Posada de las Flores Punta Chivato. The property covers an extension of 7.5 acres in front of the Sea. Decoration blends the desert landscapes and deep blue sea with the Mexican - Colonial architecture of this resort. Punta Chivato is 56 km South Santa Rosalia, 42 km North Mulege and 182 km from Loreto's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Las Flores - Punta Chivato Hotel Punta Chivato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.